We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
QH Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Grainauer Hof(Grainau)(Great Value!)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$203
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Post(Grainau)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Nuss(Grainau)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveler rating
12
16
14
7
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
16
14
7
21
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 70 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We had a little difficultly finding it as Google maps were wrong. (It is near a level crossing if in doubt) We had a nice two room apartment. The Hotel has a small gym, European sauna and sensible sized pool. The view from the pool and the rooms at the front is fantastic.

Ate in the Hotel, evening meals and breakfast were good. The staff were helpful even though our German is next to useless. We hired bikes and had a great trip out. Would definitely go back

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul-UK-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Spent two nights at the Quellenhof Hotel. The room was huge and we had a living/dining/kitchen (fridge, sink, dishes - no cooking equipment) area as well. Also a large balcony with table and chairs with a gorgeous view of the Alps. Very close to Garmisch. Staff was helpful. Breakfast was additional, so we opted not to eat in, so can't review restaurant. Spotlessly clean. Big bathroom. Absolutely no complaints.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

The Quellenhof was easy to locate as it is just off the main drag when you drive through Garmisch. The location was beautiful and the room was large. We booked a family room which consisted of a king sized bed and a queen sized bed in a seperate room. The room also had a breakfast-nook style table and the windows had roladan shades for the bright summer nights and mornings. Our room had a balcany with a great view of the mountains. We were only able to stay the one night and had to leave early the next morning so we missed breakfast but upon check in when I informed them that we would miss breakfast they offered to make it earlier for us. We just were leaving a little earier than they would have it ready. We will stay here again next time we are in Garmisch and I am looking forward to eating breakfast here. Great room for the price even without breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelissaB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

I believe this may be an RCI timeshare property or was, so I was a bit hesitant to book, because you always hear horror stories about timeshares. When we checked in, I found we were upgraded to a family room, which was really an apartment (two bedrooms, hallway and bathroom w/small refrigerator). We had a wall of windows with an unobstructed view of the Zugspitze (just roll over in bed and look!!) w/a large balcony and view to the babbling brook on the other side. The indoor pool was fun, although either the water or the tiles were green, so hoping the water was balanced. Nice large sauna and Moorish tiled spa area w/tanning bed, Turkish steam bath and an extra large "bathtub" where you can put in a coin and get a hottub experience (saw a guy in it w/an ear-to-ear grin). Too bad it is only big enough for one person and you only get a 20 minute bubbling of jets and lights.

Beds were comfortable (pillows flat as a pancake though, so bring your own) and I only heard the train go by 3x (it makes a wooshing sound)...this is the train that takes folks up to the Zugspitze cablecar and goes directly by one side of the hotel. It was a non-issue for us but I thought I would mention it in case someone is super-sensitive.

Breakfast was EXCELLENT....lots of continental choices plus scrambled eggs, sausage and bacon...exceptionally friendly staff all throughout the hotel. Had dinner in their restaurant one night...fabulous trout and potatoes, one son had spaghetti carbonara (a bit runny) and the other a pizza (which he said was good)...we were tired after arriving and so glad to have tasty food before going to bed. All reasonably priced.

They have free wire-less internet...but myself, a British couple, an American and an Italian...none of us could figure out why our browsers were not working? We tried checking firewalls, security settings, etc. Two of us could access Skype (and call people and see them on screen) and our laptops showed we were connected to the internet...but neither IE or Firefox would show webpages, so I am assuming we were doing something wrong? Unfortunately, no one at the hotel could help. So if you don't know your way around computer-wise, google how to troubleshoot that! It was VERY frustrating! There was also no public computer in the lobby (like I think it was advertised), so no internet for us.

Loved the daily sheets put under your door every morning with a sightseeing or hiking suggestion, weather report, sayings of the day, etc...We plan to come again when the weather is nicer...in April, it's definitely wintercoat weather as it didn't get above the mid-30s Fahrenheit!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familytravelermostly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2010

Our 2 families of 4 stayed at this hotel over the Christmas holiday. The staff were welcoming and helpful. The rooms are no-frills, but perfectly comfortable. Ours had a small refrigerator and sink which was convenient. The pool/spa facility is great! Breakfast was tasty and offered something for everyone and the dining room at dinner time served wonderful meals at a reasonable price for the area. We loved the location as it's away from the crowds of Garmisch as well as close to the train station for the Zugspitze. All in all, a great stay! We would recommend this hotel and would go back if we ever have the opportunity. Thanks to the staff at the hotel for helping us to have a great holiday!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OutoftheUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews