We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so many choices in Roxas City”
Review of San Antonio Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Antonio Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Roxas City
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not so many choices in Roxas City”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed in this hotel last year for an overnight stay after a vacation in Boracay.
We arrived in the hotel at around 8PM and the staff did not even bother to help us with our bags even though they already saw us coming (the reception is a few minutes walk away from the entrance).
The hotel grounds is very big with a number of amenities, some are free and others are not.

The room we got was dirty. There were hair on our beds and even a piece of gum/sticky material on the wall with hair on it. It was really disgusting.
The room we were transferred to was not as dirty but definitely not clean either.
We opted to lay down our towels on the bed before sleeping.

The breakfast we had in the morning was good.
The swimming pool was small and was only around 4ft at its deepest side.
Another bad thing about the hotel is the seemingly lack of security for such a big place.
There are a number of entrances in the hotel premises and we saw a number of people who freely came in and out as there were no security at some entrances.
Unfortunately, there aren't many hotels in Roxas City but I would gladly try a different one.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chano-Tiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    45
    32
    6
    7
See reviews for
29
33
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The resort has nice amenities - an area to play bowling/billiards, swimming pool & man-made lake (though i was not able to personally try them as i was always outside exploring the rest of Capiz). I really liked the resort's ambiance, and the staff were all warm and friendly. It's actually ideal for family outings (the resort also has a kiddie playground). What I like most is its location: it's just about 20 minutes from the airport, it's near the city center, and most of all, it's just right across Baybay beach, where you can find stalls selling fresh seafood or just simply lounge by the sea. Oh, and I got a 10% discount on my second night when i settled my bill during check-out (i was too happy, i didn't get to ask why), which is another reason why i'll choose this place when I go back to Capiz. :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RamblingRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

To be honest, i didnt have high expectations of the resort. We had to book there because of a family reunion happening just after Christmas.
But I was pleasantly surprised. The resort was nicely located across from the beach. It was clean and the rooms were spacious. The pool was very nice and the view of the manmade lagoon was beautiful.
The food was ok. The staff were wonderful (we found this to be true everywhere we went in the Philippines).
So, overall, if I was to go to Roxas City again, I would certainly consider San Antonio again.
PS
we arranged pick-up with the hotel's shuttle from Catiklan. it was 4500php and it was worth the money not having to worry about taking public transportation with many luggages on one hand and a young child on the other.

Room Tip: the Lagoon rooms had the best views (though you may find yourself facing more mosquitos). The Garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heyzs13, Marketing & Research Officer at San Antonio Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Hello Mam Mary,
Thank you very much for your heartwarming reviews...its our pleasure to get back to you our service. We will see you again. Thank you also for your clan for having your reunion here in |San Antonio Resort.
We look forward for seeing you all again.
Thank you,
Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed there for a week with my sister. We had the lagoon room for the first two nights, but moved to their deluxe rooms because we were between two very noisy groups having parties until 4:00 a.m. The room was fine, but sink plumbing was leaking so badly that water leaked straight down the floor. It took three different "plumbers" three different times to fix it.We went to Ilo-Ilo city overnight, came back the next day to find out my sister's luggage was soaking wet, all of her clothes got wet because their A/C unit could not withstand the heavy rain the night before that caused the leak. Also, someone who works in the hotel slashed open my new carry-on luggage and stole my iPhone and charger. I say it's an inside job because workers have access to rooms and a small iPhone can be easily concealed. I will never go back to that hotel again nor will I recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kat s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iloilo City, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This resort is big, you have many room choices for accommodation. Cheapest is 800 pesos (equivalent to about $20) already airconditioned. Good service, from the lady guards to bellboys. Just outside are many restaurants that sells fresh seafoods, and u can have them cooked to your liking. Overall a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shagryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

staff needs more energy when greeting thier guest.. place is great but lacks in costumer service.. i wouldnt book here if it wasnt for the pool and the manmade lagoon.. rates to go kayaking 25-40-60php per hour. the pool is 5ft, 3ft and 1 ft.. infinity pool. the rooms are common.. theres too many mosquitoes at night.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neutrpassenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed there on a visit to Roxas City to attend a friend's wedding. Stayed in the Deluxe rooms, found it pretty basic. The beds were not that comfortable n the beach was across the main road. Food at the hotel was very poor. The pool was nice but the artificial lake was really a total let down. Wifi is only available at the lobby which can be very far from the rooms. Location of course was a distance from the city proper. Bottom line the hotel is a basic property that is overpriced for a small town like Roxas City

Room Tip: Stay closer to the lobby or be prepared to walk a fair distance to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Venot V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roxas City hotels
0.9 mi away
Baia Norte Beach Club
Baia Norte Beach Club
#6 of 7 in Roxas City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
2.1 mi away
Roxas President's Inn
Roxas President's Inn
#2 of 7 in Roxas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Veronica
Hotel Veronica
#1 of 34 in Roxas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Espacio Verde Resort
Espacio Verde Resort
#5 of 7 in Roxas City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
3.0 mi away
Urban Manor Hotel
Urban Manor Hotel
#2 of 34 in Roxas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lawaan Garden Inn Hotel
Lawaan Garden Inn Hotel
#9 of 34 in Roxas City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Antonio Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Antonio Resort

Property: San Antonio Resort
Address: Baybay Beach, Roxas City, Capiz Province 5800, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Capiz Province > Roxas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Roxas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Antonio Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business and Leisure by the Beach...... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your San Antonio Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Antonio Hotel Roxas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing