We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and food”
Review of The Old Brewery

The Old Brewery
Ranked #74 of 255 Restaurants in Yangzhou
Cuisines: Bar
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food”
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

We ate here the other night and really enjoyed it.

The managers name is Robert, he is Taiwanese who spent 12 years in Canada and speaks fluent English. The food is excellent, it is well presented and prepared and a steak comes out thick. I have never seen that in china before.lol.

But you do pay for it. The prices are the same as what I pay in Melbourne Australia. About $35 AUD for a fat steak with chips, so I am fine with that especially since it is the only western place in town.

You can get around the high price by ordering off the snacks / drinks menu. It has pasta and pizzas at affordable prices. The waitresses will try to avoid you purchasing from that menu, but you can. The locals know that.

The decor is relaxing and groovy. The band is entertaining but they mimic a lot of it. Still I am sure it would get rocking on a Friday or Saturday night.
The view over the river is excellent in the evenings, that makes it worth the experience alone.

My advise is that if you are a westerner in town wanting excellent food and a great atmosphere give this place a try .

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Globalcrtique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“East meets West”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Rocking Filipino band who take requests and rarely don't know a song
Boutique brewery beer worth a try but not to everyone taste (try another type until you find your soul mate)
Good but not great western food at foreigner prices
Snappy service
Excellent atmosphere on the canal, outside tables in summer

so go at night!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Instantcalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Beautiful View at Night”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We were greeted by the owner, who was very charming. The service was quick. I could have done without the karaoke singers, but the ambiance was good so I didn't really mind.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheMadOrbiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Expensive for what you get, but what else in Yangzhou?”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The place is good enough, but prices are too high. It has some outdoor seatings near the canal which is nice when the weather allows it. Pay attention that there's a minimum charge per table.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Damien L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
1 review
“Very bad impresion”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Prices are really to high, i got cesar salad: little bit fish taste, it was almost plane lettuce after i got chesburger: meat cold, roll cold as well taste not so good. Beer look's nice but also have some weird taste. My friend puked after this dinner, i also did't feel comfortable. Inside is very nice, service is also very nice. Any way i won't go there any more, this place is good for chinese people who want to try something else. It's pitty that they will get wrong bad impresion after dinner in Old Brewery about our culture.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Brewery also viewed

 
Yangzhou, Jiangsu
 

Been to The Old Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing