We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as advertised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Zhangjiajie International Hotel
Ranked #25 of 419 Hotels in Zhangjiajie
Byfield, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not as advertised”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Pretty disappointed especially after an overnight hard sleeper train trip.. arrived at hotel and it took several staff, our cab driver and another guest for our Agoda booking to be accepted. Was given the incorrect room at first and as none of the staff spoke English well it was difficult to get the correct one - our translator app was invaluable.

Room did not have washing machine ( as advertised ) staff told me there was no laundry service available and the pool (in real life) was dirty, empty and overgrown. Had been saving washing as we thought we would have a machine.. are Travelling for quite a distance so used the bathroom sink.

24 hour restaurant turned us away again really disappointing as we had not eaten since the night before on the train and could not locate a restaurant in walking distance. Ate chips. Following the first encounter however, the restaurant staff were great and shared a great sense of humor.

Several staff were wonderful but some were inexplicably rude which I found upsetting as I did not understand why. The hotel wasn't walking distance from / to any attractions and the tour desk did not have information in other languages.

We understand that Travelling in a foreign country means no familiar language the rudeness was the issue for us. Would have moved hotels but did not have time. Absolutely loved the Zhangjiajie national park and Tienmenshan Mountain, staff there and taxi drivers great. Will not go back to hotel.

Room Tip: do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripmelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    27
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
3
2
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level Contributor
91 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

It seems some people describe a different hotel since the Zhangjiajie International is about 7km from the Railway station away (taxi 20Y) at the edge of the city.

Pros:
- big rooms
- free high-speed LAN-access in the room (however most .com and .de adresses were blocked, so I had to use a VPN)

Cons:
- Bed mattress is VERY hard (feels you sleep on a rock)
- lots of mold on the walls
- AC a bit noisy, although we had only 10°C outside temperature the AC-Heating did not work
- Windows and Walls not soundproof (be prepared that the Chinese Tour Groups will wake you up latest 6 am, alternativly the construction work closeby).
- At the edge of the City (you always need a taxi if you want to go to a good restaurant or shopping)
- Food in the Restaurant was very greasy with tons of glutamate and pricey for chinese standards
Breakfast only chinese style (ricesoup, fried rice, curry)
- No english spoken at Reception

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerlinerTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
377 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

A clean, comfortable modern hotel with all the amenities you would expect. Bathroom includes a bathtub as well as a shower and good amenities. The breakfast offered excellent choices particularly the freshly cooked noodles. Staff were friendly and helpful. Only stayed one night but would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatielouAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Based on a Hong Kong travel agent's recommendation, we booked this hotel for 2 nights while visiting Zhang Jia Jie National Park. Convenient location within walking distance from the train station. Although we chose to hire a taxi because of all the luggage we had. The room is comfortable and clean. Modern bathroom but a bit small. The hotel staff was polite. Bell boy was very helpful with our luggage and getting the taxi. We also had dinner at the restaurant the first night and found the food quite good. Buffet breakfast was plentiful, many selections to choose from and of good quality as well. If we ever return to Zhang Jia Jie we definitely will stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelwonders1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Hotel is modern, clean, huge. The breakfast buffet in lobby is not bad. This new hotel has nice, big rooms with modern bathrooms (separate tub and shower). Very generous bathroom amenities. Had a nice dinner at a restaurant across the street. Several minutes walk behind hotel takes you into a shopping area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank going_there_now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zhangjiajie hotels
15.8 mi away
Qinghe Jinjiang International Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel Zhangjiajie
1.5 mi away
Pipaxi Hotel
Pipaxi Hotel
#117 of 419 in Zhangjiajie
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Dacheng Shanshui International Hotel
0.4 mi away
Huatian Hotel
Huatian Hotel
#34 of 419 in Zhangjiajie
6 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yichen International Hotel
Yichen International Hotel
#26 of 419 in Zhangjiajie
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zhangjiajie International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zhangjiajie International Hotel

Property: Zhangjiajie International Hotel
Address: No.42 Sanjiaoping, Yongding District, Zhangjiajie 427000, China
Location: China > Hunan > Zhangjiajie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 419 Hotels in Zhangjiajie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Zhangjiajie International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Zhangjiajie International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing