We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel. Relaxing.”
Review of Pipaxi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pipaxi Hotel
Ranked #117 of 419 Hotels in Zhangjiajie
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
116 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Good hotel. Relaxing.”
Reviewed January 22, 2011

This is a good government hotel and everything says so. Rooms are in good condition, the place is well spread out and has a good feel about it.

Breakfast is Chinese but it's very good. You do get coffee. We were there in January and just wanted a warm place but the aircon just can't handle it. Look elsewhere if you want to stay warm.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woaishanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    17
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
6
28
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2011

The hotel is quite dreary, and very basic considering the price of RMB 480/ night. It is not a place to lounge or sleep-in. I guess it must still be one of the better places to stay, as they have a long list of famous people who overnighted here, including a Thai princess and various Polit bureau members. Staff were unable to help us with a car service to the airport, which is about a 45 minute ride away.

The Pipaxi hotel is a 15 minute walk from the Western entrance which is separated from the main part of the park by a mountain (that you have to climb to get to the others side, or circumvent by following the stream). Walking paths are very unclearly marked so ask instead of guess.

The Eastern entrance to the park leads to many more interesting walking routes and is serviced by a tourist boom town. It is also easy to access other top attractions in this area from the Eastern entrance (such as the Baofeng mountain lake and the Huanglong Cave).

Summing up: The hotels at the East gate are more idyllically situated, but lead to a secluded part of the park with longer travel times to other area attractions. While staying close to the West Gate means you're basically staying in a city hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arjen-shanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Zhangjiajie hotels

Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

Positive:
+ Hot water and AC available at any time unlike other smaller hotels in that area.
+ Room was very clean.
+ Service very good.
+ Big breakfast in the morning.
+ In walking distance to the Park entrance.

Nothing negative.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoysamgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, Netherlands
Level Contributor
170 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2009

The hotel is big. And when we arrived at 10pm it looked desolated. The lights were not on (that was only on our last night of 4 nights, because it was the national holiday start). And it was hard to find the room. There are no elevators, but there are only 3 floors. The staff doesn't speak English. Only the manager does, but he was very helpfull.
The food (they have an english menu) was very good in the hotel. We didn't use breakfast, because it was only available till 9.00 o' clock and that was not on our schedule.
The entrance is a 15 minute walk through the town. And the town itself is small and don't expect big shops.
We also went to the eastern entrance (Wulingyuan entrance). The town there is bigger and a lot of resorts and hotels are being build and a few of them are already finished. It is also a better starting point to explore the park.
From the Zhangjiajie national park Entrance (west) you can only go by bus to the western cable car. The only connection the the other calble-car and/or Bailong elevator and sightseeing minitrain is a 6 km walking trail (Golden Whip stream). And those three (2nd cable car, elevator, train) can be reached from the eastern entrance by free buses in the park.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dekpau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2009

I stayed in Pipaxi with a friend for three nights. The hotel is not bad but the staff bothered us many times calling to offer trips or massage. They even called us in the early in the morning to ask if we were going to have breakfast!!! Room was good, they forgot to put toilet paper but when we asked they immediately provided.
In general hotel is not bad and location is convenient.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairylotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2009

The National Park in Zhangjiajie is truly magnificent and it is absolutely worth visiting. The number of hotels close to the park is very limited and international tourism has not been developed yet. The location of the Pipaxi Hotel is great, everything else is average or below.

The rooms are chinese average, not too small, some dirt under the beds and near the curtains, 1/4 roll of toilet paper, some broken appliances and at least two holes in the bed sheets. Overall, acceptable. The Western part in "Chinese / Western Breakfast" is a joke. I didn't expect more than the usual toasted bread and fried egg, but even this was difficult to get.

Overall it is an okay choice as long as you do not expect any service or help from the personnel. Even some Mandarin won't help you. 420 RMB per night for a Deluxe Standard Room is a rip-off - not worth more than 160 RMB - 200 RMB a night.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nealz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2008

The Pipaxi Hotel served as a perfect gateway to the Wulingyuan Scenic Area. Located in Zhangjiajie Village (not Zhangjiajie City – the location of the airport), it is about 40 minutes away from the airport. The village is small and personal (a few hotels, shops, and restaurants), and is just outside the national park (Wulingyuan Forest Area). The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the entrance (or 30 second taxi ride). I highly recommend staying in Zhangjiajie Village – the temperature was significantly cooler than down below in Zhangjiajie City. Plus, you can avoid having to ride up to the park and back. Additionally, it’s much more quiet and charming in the village. There are hotels near other areas of the scenic area, e.g., Tianzi Mountain Entrance (about 30 minutes away), but that was more built up and crowded. The tightness of the valley restricts land available for building, creating a beautiful scene and limiting the development and building (yeah).

The hotel itself was quite charming – lots of rooms, but empty when we came (midweek in the week before the national holiday). Big lobby with shops and a business center (internet on site). More upscale shops in the adjacent bldg. We arranged pickup through the hotel. Compared to the other drivers in China, the hotel driver drove quite safely and the van had seat belts! He was waiting for us at the airport with a sigh (by the way, the Zhangjiajie Airport had the worst bathroom sanitation of the 5 airports we visited in China). Another aside, the drive up from the city is very pretty with some impressively long tunnels. When we arrived, the staff telephoned a young woman whose English name was Vivian. She spoke fluent English and was one of the most helpful and sweetest people you could ever meet. She asked if we’d eaten and offered to fix us dinner at 11 pm (we declined having snacked on the plane – another aside, airlines in China still give meals even on short flights!). The staff helped us with the bags to our rooms in the upstairs courtyard of bldg 1.

The rooms were very clean and were modernized. Although modest, everything functioned well (good shower, western toilets, hot water readily available), TV in room with 2-3 English stations, hair dryers, tea pot, etc. Two beds – mattresses were hard like everywhere else in China. Plenty of extra linens. Rooms were well-cleaned daily. Balconies with nice views of the karst formations and beautiful scenery of Wulingyuan. The grounds were impressive with nice gardens and Olympic-themed designs in stone in the walkways. Breakfast was included – very impressive meals, different every morning. Food was served table-style (a nice change from the mundane buffets in the city) and was very tasty and well-prepared. Once we communicated (through Vivian) that we were vegetarian, they were very accommodating! We went for dinner as well – again, excellent food and service!

There is tons to do in the area. We only had 3 nights and could have spent several weeks. The Wulingyuan forest area in the nearby village is a good starting point – there’s a cable car to some impressive views and some great forest walks. The crowds are large, but it’s fantastic scenery – you can see why people come. It’s a part of China less frequented by westerners than Guilin/Yangshou or Beijing. However, people are extremely nice (as they were throughout China) - I’ve never had so many people want my picture with them (being ~6ft with fair hair, I guess I’m an anomaly in NW Hunan). We saw tons of moneys up close just inside the park. The next day, Vivian arranged a ride to another section of the park, the Tianzi peak area. The van ride was about 30 minutes. She even accompanied us on the ride and to the entrance! Here we took a series of cable cars, free park buses, trails, and the Balong Elevator to another bus entrance. Vivian even gave us her cell phone # to call when we were finished for a ride back to the hotel!! On the third day, we went to Tianmen Mountain and Cave from Zhangjiajie City (via a 7+ km cable car into the clouds) before returning to the airport – cool experience!

Again, I can’t say enough about our hostess, Vivian. Besides helping us plan our days, she even arranged to extend our park pass beyond the two days paid (she had a photographer come to the hotel to take our pictures then took the pictures and our information, walked down to the park gate, dropped off the information, then returned to pick up the pass extensions – all at no cost, insisting we stay and eat our breakfast while she took care of it! Unbelievable how much she went out of her way to make it a great experience.

Overall, the Zhangjiajie National Forest Area was one of the two biggest highlights of our China trip and the staff of Pipaxi really accentuated it! I am very thankful for their help and highly recommend a visit if you are planning to be in China.

  • Liked — Staff were so helpful, wonderful location, beautiful scenery, great food
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank adamgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zhangjiajie hotels
0.1 mi away
Dacheng Shanshui International Hotel
0.5 mi away
Gezihua International Hotel
Gezihua International Hotel
#66 of 419 in Zhangjiajie
57 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wind And Cloud Holiday Hotel
Wind And Cloud Holiday Hotel
#64 of 419 in Zhangjiajie
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Zhangjiajie Pullman Hotel
Zhangjiajie Pullman Hotel
#1 of 419 in Zhangjiajie
597 reviews
1.7 mi away
Home Inn Zhangjiajie Dayongfucheng
16.5 mi away
Guobin Hotel Zhangjiajie
Guobin Hotel Zhangjiajie
#17 of 419 in Zhangjiajie
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pipaxi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pipaxi Hotel

Property: Pipaxi Hotel
Address: Zhangjiajie National Forest Park | Near Zhangjiajie National Forest Park, Zhangjiajie 427401, China
Location: China > Hunan > Zhangjiajie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 419 Hotels in Zhangjiajie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pipaxi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pipaxi Hotel Built in 1990, Hunan Pipaxi Hotel Zhangjiajie is a distinct addition to Zhangjiajie and a smart choice for travelers. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations. Hunan Pipaxi Hotel Zhangjiajie offers impeccable service and all the essential amenities to invigorate travelers. For the comfort and convenience of guests, the hotel offers 24-hour front desk, express check-ineck-out, luggage storage, Wi-Fi in public areas, car park. Hotel accommodations have been carefully appointed to the highest degree of comfort and convenience. In all of the rooms, guests can find internet access – wireless (complimentary), internet access – wireless, non smoking rooms, air conditioning, balcony/terrace. The hotel offers an excellent variety of recreational facilities, Superb facilities and an excellent location make the Hunan Pipaxi Hotel Zhangjiajie the perfect base from which to enjoy your stay in Zhangjiajie. Warm Welcome to Pipaxi Hotel! Address:Zhangjiajie National Forest Park, Zhangjiajie City, Hunan ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Pipaxi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pipaxi Hotel Zhangjiajie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing