We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Golden Whip Brook
from $219.00
More Info
from $361.50
More Info
from $60.00
More Info
Reviews (261)
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveler rating
129
94
36
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
129
94
36
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golden whip relaxing walk beautiful stream resting areas wild monkeys plastic bag quiet spot follow the path karst mountains clear water the bus fresh air forest walk rock formations natural park few hours nature lovers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 261 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2018

This was a relaxing walk at the end of the day along a beautiful stream.

Just watch out for the monkeys

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank PeterBarras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2018

So I expected to walk along the valley bottom and be in awe of the towering karst mountains looming above me. To be clear, the mountains are pretty amazing but I found myself forgetting about the scenery above me and instead focused on what lay in front of me. Why?

First, I think it is human nature to always want to look and see where you are going. And the path (it's really not a trail in the North American sense) does take some attention. Sure, it's a paved flagstone path that is quite wide and certainly safe. However, there are some steps and small obstacles that one needs to be aware of. But the main reason and the main attraction are all the wild monkeys. Yes, they are wild but unfortunately, due to years of human intervention in the way of feeding the monkeys, they have learned that the best way to attain easy food is to get close to people and in some cases attack people to divest them of their snacks. Yes, the monkeys can get aggressive. And yes, there are signs in place telling people not to feed the monkeys but it is largely ignored and there are no park rangers or any staff to mete out any consequences. Hence, I fear this situation will get worse. As you walk up the river along the path the crowds start to thin out and by the time you cross the first bridge the human population has basically dissipated and so have the monkeys.

As for the river itself, it's pretty mundane. Small, trickling, tepid water. Did not see anyone in the river and certainly did not see anyone drinking from it. A far cry from the quality of rivers where I come from. Hence, a three star rating from this world traveler.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank WFfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2018 via mobile

It is a magical walk. We came late November and so there were almost no people, this walk by the river on mainly a flat area was very welcome after climbing the mountain for 2 days. Super nice resting areas and the park is really clean and neat. Toilets along the way. We also saw the wild monkey that mainly hang around the entrances as this are the places where they can find/get food. Most of the trail we were alone and it was amazing. It was more chill here as it is down in the walley.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank iristaletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2018

We just visited the main part of the park as per the tour guide's recommendation. The view of the rock formations after a drizzle was breathtaking. It was definitely a comfortable stroll along the stream, so calm and serene.

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank Raymond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2018

This was very pretty in autumn with many of the trees having turned yellow. The trail starts at the second bus stop from the main entrance. It is a flat, easy walk that can be completed in 1.5 hours if you walk briskly but I took my time and did it over 3-4 hours. There are some stops where you can get food. As others have mentioned, there are quite a lot of monkeys but I actually found them much less aggressive than monkeys I have encountered elsewhere. At the end of the walk was a park where there were a few red trees with maple-like leaves which made for great photos. After contending with the crowds at Tianmen and Zhangjiajie mountains, this was a lovely, tranquil experience. At both ends of the walk there are more people but the middle portion is very quiet.

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank anya77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews