We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Changsha City Centre
Ranked #7 of 1,408 Hotels in Changsha
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
“very good”
Reviewed December 27, 2009

restaurant,exellent,very confortable rooms and luxury environment

Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank RomeoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    393
    93
    13
    7
See reviews for
16
30
23
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2009

The hotel is located across from the shopping district of Changsha. The standard rooms are large and well maintained.
The breakfast buffet has both Chinese and Western food of good quality. The restaurant ambience is excellent.
We stayed there on our inbound and outbound tour of Zhangjiejia National Forest.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nacnud88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2009

First, let me say I am not sure if the previous Canadian reviewer and I stayed in the same hotel. The gym light switches were by the door, making the facilities well lighted. The treadmills gave me a great cardio workout except that the emergency stop went off too easily, making the statistics starts all over. I saw but did not use the free weights.

OK, with that out of the way, the service here was lackadaisical. The ladies simply were not well trained in any aspect of superior service on the 25th Floor, Executive Club lobby. They could not make travel arrangements. They did not remember names or for that matter greet guests, except for two men who came to breakfast every morning in flip flops and clothes which looked like their sleeping outfits. One of these men put his arm around one of the Executive Club ladies and hugged her intimately as he waited for his cooked-to-order meal. She smiled warmly at the close personal attention.

Sound a bit undisciplined? Sure was. The employees just seemed to not realize their responsibilities. And that was a shame for the physical facilities were excellent.

The 19th Floor (regular) room was oversized and smartly furnished. The bath was five-star as were the towels and amentities. Everything was in good repair and spotless.
As JPDeM noted, the hotel is in the midst of everything downtown. The river is a short walk away, and several restaurants within walking distance.

If you are a service "nut," give this hotel a pass. On the other hand, if you check in anticipating nothing in the way of Crowne Plaza service, then perhaps this place will suffice.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoBeSparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2009

Tonight is the last night of my 4-day trip to Changsha. My conclusion is NEVER to come back to this hotel.

Rooms are satisfactory in the Chinese standard. I have a suite with mosquitos humming alongside your ears while you sleep.

Gym is a joke. Two treadmills that will kill you if you are not careful. No weight lifting sections. Gym is dark and hot.

Went to the 25 executive floor for breakfast at 10:25 am only to be told that the buffet closes at 10:30 so they wouldn't want to start a new table.

Coming back from a long dinner tonight and went to the Fusion bar at 11:35 PM, was told that the bar closed at midnight and waitress were reluctant to serve you. In fact, they had all the cleaning stuff out ready for a quick clean up and go home.

Just called room service for a gin tonic and they don't have any, not even a glass of red wine. They asked you to use your mini-bar. Most of the time, you get a don't-bother-me attitude in this hotel.

Breakfast is ok. Lunch buffet is not worth it. I have not had dinner in this hotel so I can't comment on that.

This is NOT a 5-star hotel. For those who are accustomed to Ritz, Four Season, Shangrila, etc., you will find this hotel dissatisfactory. I went to check out Sheraton today and I think it will be my choice for next visit.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VancouverTenpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, MI
2 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2009

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza for 17 days visiting wife's family. Booked executive floor room and were treated exceptionally by staff on 25th floor. Annie and the other girls on the floor spoiled our 2 and 6 year old! Concierge service somewhat non-existent. Great breakfast buffet on the 8th floor.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwmccardle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
224 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2009

My tour stayed at this hotel on May 13th 2009 and everyone that had the carrot juice during breakfast buffet at the restaurant had a bad case of food poisoning. I only drank half my cup as I thought the carrot juice tasted "watered-down", but I also fell sick a couple of hours later. I guess they must have mixed tap water with their juices.

I would have expected more from a 5 star hotel.

  • Liked — room
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank melbgirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
814 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 454 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2008

This is a high quality hotel and is close to the action. The rooms are well decorated and the breakfast buffet was excellent. The bed is very comfortable.
The only small annoyances are that the elevators are slow and it was difficult to maintain a constant water temperature in the shower.
The staff is helpful but maybe due to its location, you have a wait a bit for a taxi.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JPDeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Changsha hotels
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Changsha Hotel
Sheraton Changsha Hotel
#2 of 1,408 in Changsha
1,010 reviews
3.1 mi away
InterContinental Changsha
InterContinental Changsha
#1 of 1,408 in Changsha
109 reviews
1.4 mi away
Huatian Hotel
Huatian Hotel
#10 of 1,408 in Changsha
1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Wanda Vista Changsha
Wanda Vista Changsha
#3 of 1,408 in Changsha
89 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Changsha
Kempinski Hotel Changsha
#6 of 1,408 in Changsha
64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vienna International Hotel Changsha Furong Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Changsha City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Changsha City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Changsha City Centre
Address: No.868 Wu Yi Avenue, Kaifu District, Changsha 410005, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hunan > Changsha > Downtown , Railway Station , Wuyi Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Changsha
#7 Luxury Hotel in Changsha
#7 Best Value Hotel in Changsha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Changsha City Centre 4.5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Changsha City Centre is a international five-star hotel under IHG group. Located in the heart of downtown, Crowne Plaza City Centre Changsha is a smooth 45-minute drive from Changsha Huanghua International Airport. We're on Wuyi Square, putting you within walking distance of major businesses and city shopping,Such as to the Changsha Local culture street - Taiping Street, Changsha Traditional Food street - Pozi Street, and Changsha century-old restaurant - Huo Gong Dian, only about 5 minutes walking. What's more, the especially opened branch of Huo Gong Dian is just located in the hotel building to provide wonderful foods & convenient service to you. It's 10 minutes by taxi to Changsha rail station and 45 minutes to Changsha South rail station, where you can connect to cities such as Guangzhou and Wuhan on high-speed trains.Our dedicated Crowne Meetings Director will see that every detail is taken care of when you host an event in one of the hotel's 16 meeting rooms and 3 ballrooms. The dark wood and plush seating in our lavish VIP banquet room set the scene for successful and intimate gatherings.Unwind with a dip beneath the skylights of our indoor pool or enjoy evening cocktails at Fusion Bar. Our in-the-know Concierge at Crowne Plaza City Centre Changsha will inspire you to discover Changsha's hidden gems, such as the scenic Qingfeng Gorge, flush with Ginkgo trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Changsha City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Changsha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing