We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“first rate hotel, but a little pricy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Changsha Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sheraton Changsha Hotel
Ranked #2 of 1,407 Hotels in Changsha
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“first rate hotel, but a little pricy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

The hotel is very good, service is excellent. The rooms are what you would expect, very nice. Good selection of channels on TV (and in the fitness center). The fitness center is very good, best I have experienced in any hotel. I did not try the breakfasts. Some people say this is the best hotel in Changsha, and it is a fine hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aardvigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnie_Ding, Manager at Sheraton Changsha Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear reviewer aardvigator,
Very honorable that rooms of Sheraton Changsha Hotel meet your expectation and provided an environment where you can feel comfortable while you are away from home. Many thanks for choosing our hotel and your taking time and share with your experience.Look forward to your next visit with a pleasant staying experience with our warm smile as always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    561
    59
    4
    6
See reviews for
8
18
15
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Room was nice, well maintained and clean, if a bit flashy. Bar lounge was pleasant though the smokers were a nuisance. Breakfast buffet was okay...good noodles, but the fruit was subpar and there wasn't much fruit selection. Attached to a mall if you'd like to walk around but don't want to brave the dirty, somewhat unpleasant streets. Staff was friendly, with passable English skills. My Chinese colleagues say this is the best place in Changsha, as far as western tastes are concerned. I think the local influence is charming!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank HK-squared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnie_Ding, Manager at Sheraton Changsha Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear reviewer HK-squared,
Thanks so much for your positive reviews and experience sharing for your stay in Sheraton Changsha Hotel.We are appreciated for your kindly remind the lobby lounge issue and we will try our best to do better.We are very glad that our noodles met your taste.And your comments will assist us in providing a better stay for our guest in the future. Hope to see you next time with our warm service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I'll preface this review with.

1. I live most of the year in Macau and travel in China extensively, visiting Changsha regularly.
2. I have reasonably high Sheraton status and have close family members working for the Starwood Group.

For

1. Central location in CBD
2. Western and modern
3. Standard Sheraton quality rooms.
4. Very long swimming pool and clean sports facility.

Against

1. Ridiculously over priced. There is no competition in Changsha. There are some great Chinese hotels that I regularly stay at, but for the average Westerner they are going to be a tough learning experience.
2. The English and general standard of service even on the Club Floor is poor - Changsha speaks Hunanese and not much else.

I'm told by locals that this is the place for senior government people to be seen and entertain so there is hope that pricing will become more normal for the City as the new governments initiatives to rein in lavish spending take effect. The city itself is actually in a beautiful location but it really is a dirty dusty construction site at the moment, with parts of the center ripped apart to install a subway system.

I find the food and beverage offering on the club floor slightly bizarre. In the evenings it seems to serve American style western food which guests use as their dinner. Breakfast though is very Chinese, and they manage to serve the worst Yoghurt I have ever tasted.

Personally I don't like this hotel, my least favourite Sheraton outside of The USA and it takes some to be less appealing than the Singapore Sheraton.

Room Tip: It is usually so smoggy/misty in Changsha that it makes little difference how high you are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carbine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnie_Ding, Manager at Sheraton Changsha Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear reviewer Carbine,
Many thanks for your very taking the time to write of your experience while staying with us. I sincerely apologize for the lack of services you have received in our Club Lounge. Being that we have a mix of Asian and Western clientele, we do our outmost to meet both tastes however it seems that we fail your expectations. As aim to please all our Guests, we would be happy to provide you with better and more personal service on your next visit. Your comments have been shared with our Associates and will help to better ourselves.
On your next visit, do let us know and we will ensure that we extend a “Hunan warm hospitality”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I've been staying at the Sheraton Changsha since it opened a few years ago, and this is by far and away my favorite hotel in Changsha. Rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. Hotel staff try very hard to please.

There is also a good array of facilities ranging from a decent health club and spa to a number of good restaurants and lounges. The breakfast buffet is extensive, although on occasion it can get very crowded. The Italian restaurant is the best (ok, maybe the only one!) in the city. And finally, a business hotel that gets it right with complimentary Internet access in the rooms!

While new competition from international chains is apparently on the way (including a Marriott, I hear), for now, this hotel sets the standard in Changsha.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klavier_mann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnie_Ding, Manager at Sheraton Changsha Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear reviewer Klavier,
Many thanks for your very kind words and most positive review. We aim to please our guests while they stay in Changsha by providing comfort and excellence in service. I am pleased that you appreciate our complimentary Wi-Fi which we recently installed following the many requests from our esteemed clientele. It is with your comments and sometimes those negative one that we better ourselves.
Looking forward to see you again in your “Changsha Home away from Home?”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

If you speak Chinese fluently or if money is not a major concern, this is a great option. The hotel is very nice, well laid out, spacious rooms, nice fitness center with separate aerobics room (always a plus for me), great breakfast buffet, and seemingly nice location. You don't need to read further.

If you don't speak Chinese or are paying, beware of staff who "conveniently" do not speak good English when disputing charges you are not expecting (esp check-in/check-out). (Though overall, English skills of the staff are not great.) When I checked in with a Chinese colleague, we tried to give our SPG # to add, but they told us both that the room was taken care of by our travel agent so we would not get credit for our stay. After a nice quick one night stay, upon check-out, my Chinese colleague checked out with no problems and no payment, but I had a huge bill and could not communicate with the staff. I called him over and found out they were charging me for both of our rooms. After argument, we said we would pay separately and magically the rate I had to pay was 50% higher than the nightly room rate they tried to charge the first time, (also 50% higher than the rate our travel agent gets). We pointed to other invoices on their desk that showed people checking out at a 50% lower rate. We even showed them an invoice from a Luxury Collection hotel we stayed at in Shanghai that was 50% cheaper! 20 minutes of arguing in Chinese later (thanks to several Chinese colleagues), the manager joined and said he could not provide us with the agent rate but gave us a 20% "discount" off the 50% higher price. Finally, when leaving the property with a driver, they tried to charge us a parking fee, and again Chinese colleagues had to jump in and argue then provide a room # to get out for free. Funnily enough, with my e-mail invoice, I got an apology in perfect English about the poor check-out experience.... if you were really sorry, you would have treated us fairly in the first place. It is unfortunate that we will no longer return to what could be a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank distractinwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nemo_zhang, Manager at Sheraton Changsha Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear guest,
Firstly thanks so much for taking the time to share your comments.Please accept my most sincere apology for your negative experience you had during your stay. I reviewed your comments and passed to our managment and related associates. And apology mail actually showed that all of us cared very much for your feeling. We are committed to provide good and attentive services for our guests all the time. Of course your comments will assist us in providing a better stay for our guest in the future. Sincere regrets and hope that we can serve you in the future with our warm service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
160 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stay at a lot of Sheraton properties, and I was very pleased with this property, its staff, and the accommodations. The staff is very pleasant and attentive, as one expects at a Sheraton property. My room was good sized, freshly cleaned and everything in good condition.

The hotel is located in a business area, but there are places for shopping and dining within walking distance.

At the hotel, you have several dining options. The included buffet breakfast is excellent with a wide variety of food options. Be patient around the prime breakfast time as the crowd can be quite large.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nemo_zhang, Manager at Sheraton Changsha Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thanks very much for choosing Sheraton Changsha Hotel and very honorable that our hotel meet your expectation as a Sheraton Hotel. We are very gald to to know you are satisfied with our service, associates and facilities.Look forward to your next visit with a pleasant staying experience with our warm smile as always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Provided everything as expected of a Sheraton hotel. Located in a prime area and this makes travelling around easy. The only drawback was that the lobby lounge allows smoking. Hence, many local noisy chinese tourists, esepecially those in tour groups, would congregate in the lounge and smoking heavily while waiting for their buses or check-in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HollandVBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nemo_zhang, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Changsha Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to review us and share your memory at here. Very honorable that we meet your expectation as a Sheraton Hotel.
Also we are appreciated for your kindly remind the lobby issue and left your suggestion. Our property will make effort to provide an comfortable place for every guest and that still need some improvement.
Your comments is very important to us and hope we will stay with you again in your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Changsha hotels
InterContinental Changsha
#1 of 1,407 in Changsha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Downtown
Crowne Plaza Changsha City Centre
Kempinski Hotel Changsha
#5 of 1,407 in Changsha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wanda Vista Changsha
#3 of 1,407 in Changsha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Huatian Hotel
#6 of 1,407 in Changsha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Changsha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Changsha Hotel

Property: Sheraton Changsha Hotel
Address: No.478 Furong Middle Road, Section 1, Yunda International Plaza, Kaifu District, Changsha 410005, China
Location: China > Hunan > Changsha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Changsha
#2 Luxury Hotel in Changsha
#11 Best Value Hotel in Changsha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Changsha Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Sheraton Changsha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Changsha
Changsha Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing