We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value 4-star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jinyaun Sunshine Hotel
Ranked #44 of 1,442 Hotels in Changsha
Reviewed October 24, 2013

It is a very nice hotel. I had no complaints. Room and carpets were clean. (I was on the no smoking floor.) Buffet breakfast was very good, and they have an espresso machine so you can get real coffee. Some staff persons speak good English.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aardvigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 11 of 215 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed on the 27th floor and even that high up at about 7:30 am every morning any where from fifty
to eighty couple's are dancing to lound music in front of big sports stadium which has shopping under it. One thing to remember when going to china very humid. Very good food in there daily buffets.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mahlmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Good location downtown, far from the airport.
Good room, nice amenities, housekeeping staff outstanding. I was on the 21st floor and Mary went so far as to write a note asking if i needed anything. Did some laundry and scattered it about to dry, returned to my room to find a roll in clothing hanger assembly with all my clothes hung up in the corner. Wow.
Hotel is nice but smoking is allowed almost everywhere and they only have the 27th floor for non smoking, so get used to it or do as i did and leave a window open to air it out
Downside? no WI-fi in the rooms, just LAN cables for laptops. That and price tags on everything from condoms on the toilet to Evian water by the bed.
Breakfast was good but not a lot of variety from day to day.

Room Tip: if your looking for extra stuff there is a car fore market across the street, just use the undergro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liamjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Very good location to visit the city center and surrounding attractions. The hotel is pleasantly quiet (me room on the 26th floor), nice, clean room, PC with Internet, not too expensive for 4stars standart, pleasant staff but speaks limited English, but they are very helpful. Near (50m) is Carrefour shopping center. The first plan to stayed for one night but I stayed one more in same room. Good choice this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Room: We stayed at one of the two floors are non smoking rooms. The 3 adults were given a queen sized bed and a foldable bed. There is not much space after putting these as this hotel is primarily for 2 occupants in each room. There is a free desktop computer with free internet which is slow at nights. It has a large LCD TV with international channels eg. CNN, HBO, Discovery and the like. There is an electric kettle, tea and coffee. In-room mini bar is well stocked.

Bath-toilet: bath tub is provided. The shower head is provided inside/above the bath tub. Hot water is reliable. There are hair dryers and weighing scale.

Cleanliness: room and toilet is clean. The carpet looks fresh and the room does not look tired.

Breakfast: hotel provides a wide selection of international and local food. Daily available: salads, breads, noodles, egg station, porridge/congee, hot foods, drinks, yogurt, cereals.

Facilities: hotel's sports centre is at the 4th floor. It has exercise machines, thread mill, snooker tables, table tennis and bowling. We used these at nights and enjoyed ourselves. There is also spa, hairdressing and other shops within the hotel. We did not use these as there are just too many shops around the hotel vicinity which we feel would be cheaper.
Noise: our room faced the main road and the stadium. Some traffic noise and noise/music from the sports square can be heard by light sleepers.

Location: the lane behind the hotel, and the row of shops to the left of hotel entrance (as you face the main road) have cheap eateries with nice food. There is even a western style bakery - for those who are used to bread and cakes. Opposite the hotel, tucked underground below the stadium and square is a shopping mall. It comprises boutique shops and a supermarket run by a famous western chain. This supermarket is very well stocked, and if Changsha is your departure point, you can buy most Hunan packed food/tea/local produce here to bring home.

Should you stay in this hotel and/or Changsha? From the tourist point of view, Changsha city by itself is congested, traffic jams and noisy. We stayed briefly because it was our arrival/departure points. The Hunan Provincial Museum, which houses a very preserved 2,000 female corpse, is closed for refurbishing until further notice. Places to visit in Changsha are: Mt Yuelu (read: hill), Yuelu Confucious Academy, Aiwan pavillion and parts of old fortress walls. Visit these because you happen to be in Changsha. Don't come to Changsha just to see these.
From Changsha, you could take a day trip (2 hours one way) to Shaoshan, which is Mao Tse Dung's birthplace. See his ancestral home, his bedroom, primary school, pond he swims in, memorial and museum. And his large statue. Most shops and restaurants are called 'Mao xxx'.

Room Tip: Must request for non smoking rooms as all floors are smoking except for 2. Also, smoking is carried...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrsflorencegoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I was disappointed with the Gold Source Hotel. As an international business hotel it was difficult to find a member of staff who spoke English. On arrival, even though we had already paid in advance, we were asked for an 800 yuan deposit (£80) which I think was excessive. Almost everything in the hotel room was extra even including the coffee sachets. On check out I was told that I had to pay 10 yuan (£1) for a flimsy paper map I had used to get myself around the city.
The landings smelt of cigarette and incinerator smoke, worrying when staying on the 27th floor.
The hotel would not change travellers' cheques although most guidebooks stated that large hotels in China would give this service.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the 27th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chachani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Stayed here a little while ago twice and found it very good.

Good location, breakfast excellent and service very good.
Limited English spoken by staff but no problem.
very clean, very busy.
Staff were very helpful and gave great advice.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACA44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Changsha hotels
Downtown
Crowne Plaza Changsha City Centre
Empark Grand Hotel Changsha
#13 of 1,442 in Changsha
99 reviews
Huatian Hotel
#11 of 1,442 in Changsha
1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Modena by Fraser Changsha
#7 of 1,442 in Changsha
25 reviews
InterContinental Changsha
#3 of 1,442 in Changsha
244 reviews
Sheraton Changsha Hotel
#2 of 1,442 in Changsha
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jinyaun Sunshine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinyaun Sunshine Hotel

Address: No.279 2nd Section, Furong Middle Road, Furong District, Changsha 410007, China (Formerly Gold Source Hotel)
Location: China > Hunan > Changsha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 1,442 Hotels in Changsha
Price Range: $46 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jinyaun Sunshine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 495
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Jinyaun Sunshine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing