We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveler rating
31
68
11
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
31
68
11
1
3
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 114 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2018 via mobile

For a 5 star hotel, this is well below the average not definitely not worth the stars given. We checked in on April 29th and was given a room in Villa 16 room 2 on the ground floor. We walked in and the hotel room smelled mold and damp. The bed covers were damp. When they dropped us off with luggage, they advise that it was an exception because 1/2 the road to the Villa was taken up by construction. We will have to walk down the hill to the next road for any pick up.

Our friend who checked in the night before had worked with the hotel to get us better rooms. So the hotel manager came to show us an alternative room in Villa 11 Room 3. This room was even worse. The wallpaper was coming off the wall with mold. The carpet was dirtier with dark spots all over the place. So we opt to stay in Villa 16 Room 2.

We turned on the air one at full blast hoping to get rid of the dampness. After 6 hours, the room remained damp and moldy. Since we prepaid for the room, we did not get our money back. But we left it and move to the Howard Johnson Huachen, which was cheaper and soooooo much cleaner.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank cathrenew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2018

The Saint Tropez has seen its better days. Large villas, but old and need rehab. Missing modern electric connections such as grounded plugs. Air conditioning is so/so. Breakfast is included. Burns in carpet are a turnoff as are large bugs in the rooms.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rrogel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2017

As it was a business trip, we decided to stay at this hotel for the convenience and logistics. The rooms were large and clean and the shuttle service was efficient and made it easy despite the lay out of the villas spread around the hotel grounds. Good for business trips in Changsha.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LAVISH888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The rooms are in Villas surrounding the main complex. They transport you on golf cars. On a snowy day in February it was not deal but in more clement weather the complex is charming.

The hotel is owned by Hunan Broadcasting system (Golden Eagle) who are the second biggest broadcaster in China after CCTV. The adjacent broadcasting complex is vast. The hotel restaurants and indeed rooms are heavily used by staff and visitors the broadcast HQ.

The location is well out of Changsha and apart from the hotel/leisure complex there is not much close by. But it is very convenient for the airport and some large industrial units like the Sany factory. It is quite some distance from the High Speed rail at Changsha South.

Pros
Large clean well equipped rooms and bathrooms. Sony TV's and real Colgate toothpaste.
Very comfortable beds with high quality linens. The beds are not Chinese hard
Surprisingly good English spoken by many of the staff. - unusual for Changsha where even at The Sheraton English spoken is poor.
Usually much cheaper than the Western 5*'s in Changsha - The Sheraton here is insanely expensive and not as good as this hotel

Against
Location if you want to be downtown
Ridiculously bad - indeed funny English translations on the menus. Dishes with names such as Pig Meat & Donkey Skin!!!
Breakfast is pretty ordinary even for a Chinese hotel - no Tropical fruits and poor bakery products. Congee was dire.
Not the ideal layout of accommodation in inclement weather

Room tip: I have stayed at many hotels in Changsha. If you are a Westerner and you need to do business from your hotel location go for Sheraton Club Floor. Of the other Chinese hotels look at Jasmine and White Swan, both are good value but they are Chinese style.
Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carbine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed August 9, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews