We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and suprising”

Millennium City Park
Ranked #1 of 43 things to do in Kaifeng
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful and suprising”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I came to Kaifeng with some chinese friends. I never heard about Kaifeng before and I was really surprised by this Park. It is truly beautiful and quite big.
I was there during the Chrysanthemum flowers festival. There were flowers evrywhere.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tangbaozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    88
    30
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“nice place to visit”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I visited the park with my fiance and tour guide. It was a nice way to spend the time in Kaifeng

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank lcsw2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Qing Ming Park”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

This theme park is a recreation of the buildings, merchant life and landscape in Kaifeng during the Song Dynasty based upon Zhang Zeduan's most famous artwork--a panaromic silk scroll titled "Tomb Sweeping Day by the River". In the beginning of the park is a large carved version of this scroll. The details supposedly painted from the artist's memory of the holiday are amazing. The other side of the park is based on "Games on the Jinming Pool" depicting the royal navy games as watched by the Emperor. It is believed that Kaifeng was the largest city in the world from 1013 to 1127.

The park has a very good exhibition about the Jews in China. There are puppet shows, camel rides, dances, and other activities throughout the park. Don't be put off by all the vendors and the zoo of people. It's just a modern update of the original painting which showed the hustle and bustle of everyday merchant life.

Personally, I liked this park better than the Tang Dynasty theme park in Xi'An. Unfortunately, I visited this park in the morning so didn't get a chance to see the evening show.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mmgalitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Giant theme park”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

It's a giant theme park - think colonial Williamsburg or any other town where people dress up like olden days, except here everything's selling cheap souvenirs. But there's a really cool exhibit about the Jews.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank lucyschmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Don't go in the afternoon”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

I don't mind these amusement/history parks as long as they're either entertaining or educational. This was neither. There are a bunch of imitation palaces and bridges and other structures that are none too impressive. There's a Kaifeng food market which pales in comparison to the real one in downtown Kaifeng. There were two shows in the afternoon, one concerning acrobatics and the other concerning wrestling, both of which were slapdash. I tried to find an exhibit about the Kaifeng Jews but the vendors said it moved to the front of the park and no one knew its new location.

The price tag for the park was 80 rmb which is not much in the States but is a lot in China. I expected a little more value for that expense.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank HoytSze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Millennium City Park also viewed

 

Been to Millennium City Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing