We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“security issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shunde Grandview Hotel
Ranked #58 of 767 Hotels in Foshan
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I was at this hotel last month and I am not sure if I lost my money and expensive watch from my room, but the hotel did not get back to me when I asked them to review the video and let me know if someone entered my room. So watch out what you leave behind in the room.
Srini

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srini_iyer_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 12 of 66 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2011

One of the many business hotels in the Foshan district of Shunde, the Grandview makes its presence felt due to its height. At 28 floors it seemed to be one of the taller buildings around on Rongqidadaozhong Rd, which is a main thoroughfare. The hotel is a typical Chinese business hotel with a clientele to match. The occupancy rate apparently is very high and in spite of its size, it is safe to book ahead.

The main asset of the hotel is the rooms and the bathrooms. The rooms are large with huge double beds, clean and well serviced, with good linen that are well laundered. The bathrooms are especially nice (large, clean and well appointed) that leave no scope for any criticism. Some of the rooms facing the main road (higher level) come with nice views, with the Desheng river as a backdrop. The views from the other rooms over various sections of the town are not that appealing, however.

The staff is very friendly and approachable, but their poor English prevents them from being as helpful as they would like to be. Ultimately, the hotel does come out as a no frills place; beyond the rooms, the common spaces are a bit cramped, there is no gym or swimming pool, etc. However, there are the standard KTV and massage services that are much favored by the Chinese business class. There is a Chinese restaurant that appeared to be very popular with the local citizenry as well, so the fare must be good. On the other hand, the food at the “Western Restaurant” on the 2nd floor is below average, and also involves long waits. The breakfast is again biased towards local food, but is passable with fruits, yoghurt, an egg station and such for those wanting something different.

Shunde Grandview Hotel is basically a business hotel, and is more than adequate for that purpose. The quality of the rooms and the bathrooms make up for other deficiencies during a business stay, but one should not contemplate on staying there with family or for holidays.

Room Tip: The higher floor rooms overlooking the river have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nafis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Nice Hotel with big rooms and huge bathrooms.....only thing missing was the free wifi. The Buffet Breakfast was good but the cooks were not enough when the morning rush came in!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PkWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Stay here up to 5 times a year for the past 6 years. Have always found staff helpful and courteous.Superclean spacious rooms and bathrooms.Great breakfast buffet with western and chinese fare.Great all round service and value for money.Centrally located in quiet part of city.Surprised at other travellers bad experiences.Could there be another similarly named hotel? TIM. South Africa

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tim312595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2011

I am a seafood lover, and so i traveled to Shunde particularly because they are known for their specialty in steamed fish. I needed a place to stay before i explored the city and this grand view hotel was located near pretty much everything.

There are malls within walking distance, and the bigger Sky city mall was only 5 minutes away. A good thing too because my wife hated carrying all those bags of fake shoes and bags around.

The food at the restaurant on the lobby floor was spectacular, the best dim sum i have tasted on my 3 week trip.

Last, the rooms were very clean, and also well maintained, granted grammatical errors here and there in the English, but feel was like any other modern luxury hotel. My favorite part however, was that the hotel has the BEST view of all of Shunde!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mnkeyprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

The furniture was old and not in good condition. The breakfast was very poor, basically nothing a foreigner could eat. The worst was the fact that there was no heating in the rooms, they gave us only one small radiator that was not enough to warm the room.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phoebe23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Stayed in this hotel for a weekend. First booking was made via Ctrip.com and, even though system showed that special rate was available, booking was refused by hotel but accepted after 5 mins of rebooking for higher (and more expensive) category. Need to point out that there were lots of rooms available at booking time.

Pluses:
1) More or less spacious room with automatic light in the bathroom.
2) Central location and near Shunde Bridge
3) Lobby staff speaks English (some of them)

Minuses:
1) First 5 minutes we arrived one of the bellboys brought something to our room by opening it with his key without any nock to the door. It was already evening and we could be preparing to go to sleep. When we approached him about this impolite behavior there were 1000 excuses and during the next days it never repeated.
2) No bottled water in the rooms for three consecutive days. Its less then 20 cents per bottle, but is it really so hard introduce this feature to hotel? Even 2 and 3 star hotels in China all do have it.
3) No division for smoking and non-smoking rooms. Its obvious that many Chinese men are smokers, but for a 4 star hotel they could reserve at least 5-10% of guest rooms as non-smoking
4) Breakfast, where only suitable food to eat was plain toasts with jam and black tea. Chinese guests though seemed to satisfied with selection.
5) Minibar was locked during all our stay and during checkout their phrase "did you use the minibar?" sounded like a bad joke.
6) Towels were gray and in several places were frayed! It can never happen in real 4star hotel.
7) Hotel in-room introduction materials are telling that you can change money at the lobby. This is invalid information for a long time already. Still you can go out of the main entrance, cross the road and walk right for 5 minutes and you will reach Bank of China office, where we after waiting in a que were changing 200 dollars for 50 minutes because no bank officers were trained to do this service! It was funny to observe how bank clerk was checking and rechecking amount of USD to change having only 2 banknotes in her hand :)

My notes look critical, but Shunde is not used to host many foreigners so some things are not worth paying attention, while others are basic for any hotel service and have to be introduced in every property regardless of its location. Real rating for this hotel is 3 stars, not more.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ticaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Foshan hotels
17.6 mi away
Hilton Foshan
Hilton Foshan
#2 of 767 in Foshan
270 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shunde Jiaxin Conifer Garden Hotel
4.4 mi away
New World Shunde Hotel
New World Shunde Hotel
#11 of 767 in Foshan
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Shunde Hotel
Sheraton Shunde Hotel
#5 of 767 in Foshan
329 reviews
20.5 mi away
Marco Polo Lingnan Tiandi Foshan
16.9 mi away
Fortuna Hotel
Fortuna Hotel
#9 of 767 in Foshan
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shunde Grandview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shunde Grandview Hotel

Address: No.24 Rongqi Avenue Middle, Ronggui, Shunde District, Foshan 528303, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Foshan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 767 Hotels in Foshan
Price Range: $47 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shunde Grandview Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Shunde Grandview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing