We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crown Plaza Foshan Hotel charge me reserved days, not days stayed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Foshan
Ranked #8 of 741 Hotels in Foshan
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Crown Plaza Foshan Hotel charge me reserved days, not days stayed”
Reviewed February 25, 2009

Feb 19-21, 2009

Crown Plaza Foshan Hotel

We booked this hotel room, using the www.holidayinn.com web site, like we have done many times before. We booked the non-smoking single bed room for 3 days. But when I checked out on the second day, I was charged all 3 days. I was never told all 3 days charges were processed on my credit card when I checked in. I also was told I am charged all reserved days, regardless how many days I stay. I am sure the Holiday Inn web site NEVER indicated all reserved days are charged regardless the days of stays. The holiday manager insisted Holiday Inn booking agent made this requirement because this was a special deal, which I was never told.

Room 1217, rmb 588 / night +15% surcharge, breakfast not include. Breakfast costs rmb 118.

Hotel lobby is very well decorated with class. Rooms are tiny. Free internet services.

It is situated at prime location in the middle of the city of Fushan. Only transportation to and from the hotel is by taxi.

I asked for no-smoking room – yes, the 12th floor rooms has no-smoking markings at the door. But this room smelled cigarette smoke everywhere – the bed, the drapes, the carpeting, yuck.12th floor room 1201 to 1209 (odd numbers) faces the back, should be most quiet room. I also asked for quiet room. Well, I got the room facing the left side (front lobby turn left). This side, same with facing the front, has heavy traffic day and night, with incessant horn blowing continuously all the time. day and night, huge buses, cars, trucks, motorcycles, scooters, and everything possible noises, stop at the stop light below your window, even 12th floor high above. Most annoying is those car alarms which went off almost every minute.

There was thick blanket keeping you hot. Another thick blanket was in the closet. I had to turn up the air conditioner to cold down. Do Holiday Inn ever heard of sheets or “light” blankets?

I wonder who was the smart room design having several “Power” electrical switches turning everything off, I really mean everything OFF. So, if you have two persons in this small room, you shall not have partial lighting to move around the room, while the other person rest.

Neighborhoods: exit the front lobby, turn left and then turn left again, there is major super market and grocery store. If you never been to a real full size Chinese grocery market, you will see many food and strange items.

Outdoor full size swimming pool 5th floor on the left elevator, (which did not allow me to go to the 5th floor, after trying 3 different elevators) was not heated; too cold to take a dip. Actually, there is a canopy on top of the swimming pools, which kept the pool in the shade all day. Only one person was swimming when I was checking how cold the water was.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Young707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPfoshan, Account Manager at Crowne Plaza Foshan, responded to this review, March 9, 2009
Thank you for making us your home in Foshan, your comments were highly appreciated and input into our quality system to chase for instant improvement.

As to your reservation, it was made by using our IHG China 3 Days Super Sale Campaign, which was a super saving with payment fence statement under Room and Rate Information session: reservations require full prepayment for the entire stay at time of booking. Full prepayment is charged to your credit card between time of booking and day of arrival and is nonrefundable. No cancellation or modification to the stay period. We could understand this note might be overlooked by your booker, considering you are our PCR members we eventually refunded the last room night of your stay, and hope you would be pleased about it.

We are regretful for the unpleasant smell caused by some guests’ visitors occasionally smoking in non-smoking floor, to avoid such embarrassment now we go a further mile to double check and keep the air fresh.

For the noise, thick blanket and power switch issues, we have noted down and keep them well in your guest history, we ensure when you come back next time those preference will be looked after respectively. And may we suggest you to try our comprehensive fitness center again, besides swimming pool we provide a wide range of re-energizing workout including Gym, sauna and foot massage, beauty treatment, billiard and tennis court etc., all for your relaxation and rejuvenation needs.

Thanks for your valuable opinions again and looking forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Foshan, the Place To Meet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    270
    66
    9
    1
See reviews for
18
16
15
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2009

Stopped at the Foshan (now Crowne Plaza) for 14 nights in January 09. Location is central although Foshan is quiet in the evenings. The hotel and the service could not be faulted. The Bar opposite the hotel Jen's Cafe is great the food is ok but the staff are really friendly and speak good English. If you do visit Jen's Cafe say hello from Paul to them please

  • Liked — The service and food
  • Disliked — no seats in the foyer area
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pje39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2008

This is a 4 star hotel which I found extremely spectacular and clean. The breakfast buffet is a gourmet's paradise with too many Western and Chinese entrees to taste in one sitting, The lobby and reception areas were tastefully decorated; the sleeping rooms are spacious and supplied generously with amenities. Concierge services were attentive.

  • Liked — Spectacular ambience, cleanliness, scrumptious breakfast
  • Disliked — Limited access to center of town
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sccfsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2007

Great location - easy walk to ancestral temple and tourist sites. Huge room, friendly staff and relaxing lounge. Lightening fast internet - we uploaded a 14 meg video file with ease to face book. Modern facilities - safe in room, and shower. Good room service - turn down beds every night. Staff dont hit you for money..

Nice crowd - and good breakfast bar.

  • Liked — internet and friendly staff
  • Disliked — that we had to leave
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Dr_Mayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2006

As a westerner living in China I have come to expect very little from Chinese hotels that are not part of a recognised chain, however this hotel is actually pretty good and boy is it huge!

The staff at check-in may be a little cold but overall the service is decent, the rooms are nice (new wing) and the breakfast / coffee shop excellent value.

FoShan is fairly quiet by China standards and the Foshan hotel does its job pretty well.

However, lets see what happens when the new Swissotel opens its doors in late 2007/ early 2008 (just around the corner)!

  • Liked — breakfast / coffee shop
  • Disliked — reception
  • Tips/Secrets — get a room in new wing (not above lobby area)
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank noonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 21, 2006

we stayed for three nights. Got of to a bad start they put us in rooms above the lobby whitch was built some years ago and are no more than 3star.we had trouble explaining we wanted to move to the new wing (they dont speak much english and thats not there fault i dont speak much cantonese)any way soon got sauted.all the staff were more than willing. due to the fact we were visiting freinds we didnt get to use the hotel for nothing more than abed.we would use this hotel again and rate it 4star plus.one word of warning if you take awife or partner and you go walking in foshan be prepaired to be staired at they dont see many westen women. after three days it getsup your nose but dont be put of. the sea food in foshan is not to be missed and we were made to feel at home whare ever we visited. hope this helps.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
59 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 933 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2006

I travel a lot for business and my standards are pretty high. I was not disappointed with this hotel. The room I had was very nice with a separate alcove for the bed. Staff is very professional and many speak some English. The coffee shop is great. I was there at Christmas time and the staff were all wearing Santa hats.. cute.. The business centre is 5 star all the way, they were extremely helpful.

While in FS you should arrange a visit of one of the china factories, it's quite interesting.

Note: There are 2 wings in this hotel, one of which is older with lower rate rooms. I recommend you stay in the new wing.

  • Stayed December 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank World_Citizen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Foshan hotels
0.5 mi away
Marco Polo Lingnan Tiandi Foshan
0.2 mi away
Swissotel Foshan
Swissotel Foshan
#3 of 741 in Foshan
415 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilton Foshan
Hilton Foshan
#2 of 741 in Foshan
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
InterContinental Foshan
InterContinental Foshan
#7 of 741 in Foshan
355 reviews
5.1 mi away
Fortuna Hotel
Fortuna Hotel
#6 of 741 in Foshan
287 reviews
20.2 mi away
Sheraton Shunde Hotel
Sheraton Shunde Hotel
#4 of 741 in Foshan
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Foshan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Foshan

Property: Crowne Plaza Foshan
Address: No.118 Fenjiang Middle Road, Chancheng District, Foshan 528000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Foshan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Foshan
#6 Business Hotel in Foshan
#8 Luxury Hotel in Foshan
#9 Best Value Hotel in Foshan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Foshan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO CROWNE PLAZA FOSHANCrowne Plaza Foshan is conveniently located in the centre of the city, some 25 kilometers southwest of Guangzhou. The hotel is just 10 minutes drive from both Foshan train and bus stations, and 50 minutes drive from Guangzhou Baiyun International Airport. For guests traveling to Hong Kong and Macau, direct luxury coach services are available from the hotel. Our 412 spacious guest rooms, 7 restaurants, a bar, lobby lounge, 12 meeting rooms, business centre, swimming pool and gym truly make Crowne Plaza Foshan The Place To Meet . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Foshan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Foshan Hotel Foshan
Foshan Crowne Plaza
Foshan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing