We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smack in the middle of the City!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New World Shunde Hotel
Ranked #7 of 730 Hotels in Foshan
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Smack in the middle of the City!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

If you a heading to Shunde for a foodie trail, this is the hotel to stay. Super location in the middle of the city. Nearby to many attractions such as ancient garden, walking street, well-known dessert shops, shops selling local delicacies. The drawbacks are the mouldy smell when you walk along the corridor and as you enter the room plus rooms are not fully sound-proof, I can hear my neighbour chatting away till late at night.

Hotel is popular for tourists and avoid weekends or public holidays if you want a peaceful stay. Anyway, good value for the price I paid and convenient.

Room Tip: Higher floors and away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonelim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    88
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
12
10
11
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

The hotel is located right next to the river, next to Sheraton. Foreign tourist will have no difficulty popping by next door for a quick coffee fix at Starbucks@Sheraton or the KFC right across the river. There's also a pedestrian mall adjacent to the hotel. The rooms esp the bathroom is surprisingly clean; the shower is great. The beds are comfortable and suited for business travellers.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brotherbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Stayed two nights. Moved room after night one, toilet not working, light broken, almost incomprehensible in room safe. Second room better, but everything spoiled by hook up between concierge and taxi driver to next hotel. Took me miles out of my way, ( thanks iPhone Maps Ap) while on meter. I assume the spoils were to be split between them. In fairness to hotel, they rang me on hearing of the complaint and were very apologetic. Too late, I won't be staying here again, ever.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

I have been a regular visitor to china and have been staying in this hotel for last 6 years. Earlier it was with Marriot , but now it is stand alone. The Rates are very attractive and reception is warm and friendly.

Rooms are neat and housekeeping is prompt.

Food is delicious , i prefer vegetarian so still gets a good choices in breakfast .

Overall stay was nice and comfortable.

Room Tip: Deluxe room should be prefered
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RG898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel a lot over the past three years, usually 2 - 3 nights at a time. While it isnt the newest hotel around, I like the location and the fact that a lot of the staff can understand english. Having stayed at a hotel near by where nobody spoke english, this is the only pre-requisite for a hotel in China.
The rooms are old, fairly dated and need some attention, but they have a comfortable bed, a shower that works and plenty of space. The One Bedroom suite is very big and cheap at around AUD$100 per night which includes breakfast, in room broadband and club lounge. I spend all day visting suppliers, so am only at the hotel to sleep. The hotel breakfast is ok, a fairly extensive buffet selection.
There is a shopping centre next to the hotel and plenty of shopping across the road. A McDonalds a couple of minutes away for those that need their fix. I feel comfortable walking around the area at night as most people seem fairly friendly. You even get the odd 'hello' from the locals.
If you are visting factories in the Longjiang, Lecong or Leliu area I have found that this is a good base. The traffic can be horrendous so a 20 minute trip to Longjiang can turn into one hour. If you are travelling from Hong Kong, the 'Shunde' ferry from the China Ferry Terminal in Kowloon is the way to go. There is a free shuttle bus from the port at Shunde to the hotel.
Overall, a good basic and cheap hotel that has everything you need.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strongy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

i have been in this hotel twice. Stayed for at least 19days in each event. The hotel is good. Very near to stores and good food.

I wonder why the lounge food is so small with very minimum selections during happy hour.

The last thing that i dont like is that the hotel dont have a loyalty rewards points. No shave in the bathroom and no cotton buds.. :(

Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank markuz29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
206 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2011

We flew from Florida to China and this was our first stop. I found the staff very helpful and didn't notice any problems with communication in Southern American English. We had one dinner the first night and being tired from a long trip and the first experience with real Chinese food, I can't judge. We had the breakfast buffet every morning and really enjoyed that. It was part of our tour package. I found the staff very helpful. One comment that says more about my inexperience than the staff. At dinner I asked about coffee, I was brought a cup of bad instant coffee and charged 30RMB. All the hotels we stayed in during our trip had hot water in the rooms and I brought coffee singles, so for the rest of the trip, I made my own coffee. All the hotels did have drinkable coffee at breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gopherhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Foshan hotels
16.1 mi away
Marco Polo Lingnan Tiandi Foshan
4.2 mi away
Sheraton Shunde Hotel
Sheraton Shunde Hotel
#10 of 730 in Foshan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shunde Marriott Hotel
Shunde Marriott Hotel
#9 of 730 in Foshan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Xiang Yun Sha Garden Hotel
Xiang Yun Sha Garden Hotel
#52 of 730 in Foshan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hilton Foshan
Hilton Foshan
#2 of 730 in Foshan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
15.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Foshan
Crowne Plaza Foshan
#8 of 730 in Foshan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New World Shunde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New World Shunde Hotel

Property: New World Shunde Hotel
Address: No. 150 Qinghui Road, Daliang Town | Shunde District, Foshan 528300, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Foshan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Foshan
#3 Best Value Hotel in Foshan
#7 Luxury Hotel in Foshan
#8 Business Hotel in Foshan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — New World Shunde Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shunde is the place to be to build your business. New World Shunde Hotel is ideally located within the central business district of Daliang. Strategically set on Qinghui Road next to the Shunde New World Shopping Arcade Complex, you will experience first-class hospitality in the hotel’s 370 spacious and tastefully appointed rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your New World Shunde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Shunde
Courtyard Hotel Shunde
Foshan Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing