We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Forget about "resort", this is far from” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shunde Country Garden Holiday Resorts Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shunde Country Garden Holiday Resorts Hotel
Ranked #51 of 725 Hotels in Foshan
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Forget about "resort", this is far from”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

This review is relevant for western people only, since this is what I compare to.

First of all, this place is difficult to find and we had to take 2 taxi to get there. The room was large, but had a bad smell. The AC didn't work that well so it was very difficult to get a temperature below 25 degrees celcius, even during the night.

It sounds nice with all the facilities, but they are really below standard and we only used the pool that most of the time was overcrowded with chinese people from nearby homes. So we didn't want to stay by the pool to read books and relax as the noise was immense. The reading room only had litterature in chinese.

The people working at the hotel couldn't hardly speak any english. They tried their best, but it was difficult. The chinese restaurant was nice, but the western restaurant was horrible.

It was a "funny" experience but certainly not what we hoped. We wanted a nice place to relax after 2,5 weeks on the run, but got the opposite. We were quite disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DKkasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    42
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
5
3
1
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2009

This is a nice hotel and with good staff who speak good English but way way to far from the Airport or City centre of Guangzhou.

It took about 1:20minutes from the airport and over £40 for the taxi. No useful public transport to this hotel from the Airport and no hotel shuttle.

Our taxi driver couldnt find it, so i called the hotel who spoke very good English and gave directions to him and even with this he still found it difficult to locate. When we did get to the so called "resort" which is like a gated multi-acre complex with schools, houses, business' and banks, almost like a small town, it was still very difficult to locate the hotel. Badly sign posted.

Check in was okay and fast need to leave a deposit on your credit card. Room is big and nice and pleasant with free internet. Again its okay but nothing special and requires modernisation and some painting.

Breakfast and western style restaurant is okay and again nothing special but okay choice of food. Small supermarket offering all you could need, but closes early.

Gym is very basic and okay, same as for the pool indoor and outdoor. Not much to do except enjoy a walk and try out the library which is like a small cheap shop, full of books.

Overall the complex looks cheap. Its not easy to get in or out of this mini town, there is a free shuttle bus, but no details in English language, so youll struggle.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wigwag007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2008

I recently stayed at the Country Garden Resort and it was a most enjoyable stay.

The hotel section is about 200 rooms and is of recent construction.

The guest rooms are large and are very well fitted out. Very roomy and everything works. Free internet unlike other hotels in Shunde. Bathroom is roomy and has bath and separate shower.

Had a number of meals during my stay and they were all excellent. There is a choice of restaurants including Chinese and Western.

The resort has many sporting activities including and excellent gym,swimming pools,ten pin bowling alley and many more.

It is not located near business or shops so is great for relaxing.

Helpful?
1 Thank China150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2007

In Feb 2006 we visited with friends who owned a small condo in the Country Garden complex. Since we had three people in my family, we couldn't stay with the friend. The friends were able to book a room for us at $60/night. I was expecting a room with either two double beds or a queen and a foldout, but the room was large and had three twin beds. I was impressed that the doors were secured by cardkeys, and the western style bathroom was finished in marble and clear glass shower doors. Service was above average, but only a few of the staff spoke english and some spoke only Mandarin. My family speaks Cantonese and even we had challenging moments trying to communicate with the staff. There is a well stocked convenience store on site so if you need water, toothpaste, hairgel, soda, snacks, etc., you don;t have to go far. The rooms, the building and the surrounding grounds were very clean and well maintained. The location is situated far away from the main part of town, so you'll have to rely on taxi to get to around. We stayed four days and enjoyed the experience enormously.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Staff had lanuguage difficulty
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Atenant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Foshan hotels
8.0 mi away
New World Shunde Hotel
New World Shunde Hotel
#6 of 725 in Foshan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
11.3 mi away
Sheraton Shunde Hotel
Sheraton Shunde Hotel
#10 of 725 in Foshan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
7.9 mi away
Foshan Shunde Juntao International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hilton Foshan
Hilton Foshan
#2 of 725 in Foshan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
11.9 mi away
Marco Polo Lingnan Tiandi Foshan
2.3 mi away
Xin Jun Yue Hotel
Xin Jun Yue Hotel
#73 of 725 in Foshan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shunde Country Garden Holiday Resorts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shunde Country Garden Holiday Resorts Hotel

Property: Shunde Country Garden Holiday Resorts Hotel
Address: Bijiang Bridge, Beijiao Town, Panyu District, Foshan 528312, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Foshan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Foshan
#24 Luxury Hotel in Foshan
#25 Best Value Hotel in Foshan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shunde Country Garden Holiday Resorts Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Shunde Country Garden Holiday Resorts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Garden Resort Shunde Hotel Foshan
Country Garden Holiday Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing