We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why such high ratings?”
Review of Golden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Golden Hotel
Ranked #83 of 780 Hotels in Foshan
Reviewed October 21, 2013

OK,

I do admit, that among all the Chinese 5 stars hotels, this one has been more than clean. Really.
But apart from that - there is nothing special.

The good: Price for dinner buffet - among the cheapes ones in Foshan
The bad: Most of the food is Chinese.
Same applies for breakfast - for westerners - one kind of ham, sausage and toast. Everything else in just chinese.

Beds - I had to switch to Sheraton - beds in Golden are way too hard. I just could not sleep on that.
Taxi - it took time to get one

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ig0rk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 12 of 80 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2013

We went to Shunde to visit some friends while on route to Guangzhou.The hotel was recommended by our friends- so we had a very good rate. The room was located on a very high floor (I think it was the second highest). It had an excellent view of the city and the far away mountains.

The check in was speedy and within minutes we were in our room. It was one of the most luxurious rooms we ever stayed in recent years- study table, coffee area, couch, king size bed, shower, bathtub, and weighing machine! Unfortunately for us, we did not get to enjoy to room nor the hotel as we were scooted off immediately after check-in to be entertained by our extremely hospital hosts. We only went back to our room around 11pm and were told that we will be picked up at 9am for dim-sum. Immediately after breakfast we checked out and were further entertained till around 3pm where we headed off to Guangzhou.

I would really like to go back to this hotel at another time to enjoy the luxury that we had missed out due to the hectic schedule.

This is one hotel that I would strongly recommend to anyone visiting shunde.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gemsfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Came for business trip as the meeting area is nearby hotel. Do note that China is really a very vast country and hotel location really depends on what the individual traveller's needs.

This 5-star property is more famous domestically in their own country (though not known internationally).

- Staff can speak basic good English, attentive service,
- Normal rooms are large in size by standard (Nice King Bed)
- Breakfast spread is not bad
- Toilet and bathroom is clean
- Hotel lobby is big and well furnished
- Value for money (much cheaper and still get 5-star quality)!
- RMB600+ per room night
- Comes with free Internet access

Given above pointers, it is quite impressive given that this hotel is not very well-known to foreigners. There is a big nice greenery park just opposite the hotel. Great for doing morning walks and exercises.
Hotel is about 90 minutes away from GZ Airport by car.

When searching for Golden Hotel, I realized that it is very difficult to search for this particular hotel in the Internet. You must indicate the hotel name in full. This also applies the same to the taxi drivers to avoid confusion.

www.goldenhotelgd.com

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kpseah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Good impression started from the front desk. The check in was fast, and most improtant thing was the price was totally abargain.
The room more than those international 5 stars. Spacy and luxury. Everything in the room was perfect!
Check in late and check out very early in the morning, so did not see other area of the hotel, But I would denifately repeat staying at this hotel with any chance in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hiroshi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Still new and very spacious and well lighted room. Breakfast choice with coupon given is limited but can use redeem the coupon at 6th floor and any extra will be charge. Service are of average. Best part is that no smoke smell in the room and reasonably price. Good hotel for business stay.

Room Tip: Choose for stay on higher floor away from noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

This review is totally overdue. This hotel is truly of 5 star quality minus the price tag. It was a perfect jumping off point to all the furniture malls. Rooms were huuuuuge! And the staff very accommodating. We had to reschedule a domestic flight and it was quite overwhelming at first, but the staff came to our rescue. The breakfast was adequate.
Overall a surprisingly pleasant stay. Would definitely recommend it to any person visiting the area. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doctor84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

The price we got was thanks to a factory we were visiting. The hotel is well located and 2 out of 3 cab drivers know it. No smoke smell in the room, all amenities and soft bed. Now the bad parts were the breakfast, full chinese menu ordered breakfast with no english speaking staff, is is very hard to pick up what to eat if everything is in chinese, little pictures and like I said before, full chinese: no eggs, nor toast, nor orange juice, just tea and many surprises. The other bad thing was no english tv channel, but overall very good hotel for very good price

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gorocreep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Foshan hotels
0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Shunde
Ramada Plaza Shunde
#12 of 780 in Foshan
151 reviews
0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Foshan
Crowne Plaza Foshan
#9 of 780 in Foshan
535 reviews
0 mi away
Marco Polo Lingnan Tiandi Foshan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Fortuna Hotel
Fortuna Hotel
#11 of 780 in Foshan
292 reviews
0 mi away
Swissotel Foshan
Swissotel Foshan
#3 of 780 in Foshan
462 reviews
0 mi away
InterContinental Foshan
InterContinental Foshan
#8 of 780 in Foshan
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Hotel

Address: No.38 Ronggui Avenue Middle, Shunde District, Foshan 528305, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Foshan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 780 Hotels in Foshan
Price Range: $71 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Ctrip TA so you can book your Golden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing