We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Dar Tassa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dar Tassa
Ranked #6 of 9 Ouirgane B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Thanks to Mohammed and Said and the cooks Fatima and Fatima we had a fantastic stay .
The lads are very kind and good with our young kids .....they enjoyed it very much .
The guided walk to Berber village was very interesting and should not be missed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
Thank AndyHsailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 198 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

We spent two days here and it was so calm and peaceful I would have happily stayed longer. The staff here are some of the friendliest and most helpful I have met. Said took us on a walk around the river and some waterfalls on the first day, and told us all about the village. He also gave us demonstrations about how to make Berber bread and mint tea. Sitting under the Berber tent in candleight for dinner was a unique experience and the views were stunning during the daytime.

Unfortunately both of us fell ill whilst we were there, but the staff were so so helpful and brought me a range of teas and herbs which genunely did help. They all checked up on us all day and gave us our brekfast when we were ready for it at 1pm.

The dinners were tasty, but I would say slightly overpriced at 150D for a 2 course dinner. However, I appreciate that it must be difficult to source food and drink, being so remote.

Other reviews have complained about various animals keeping people awake during the night. Although there were a few noises, it was not at all a big deal and on the second night there was virtually no noise at all.

Would definitely recommend Dar Tassa for a few days to relax after Marrakech. It is very remote and feels properly authentic- not at all populated by loads of hikers and western travellers.

Room Tip: We booked a 'Standard Room' through some third party website (can't remember which). It...
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lizzie_g18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Dar Tassa is a lovely, remote, little hotel in beautiful surroundings and with fantasies views. Mohamed, the host, was welcoming and friendly. We enjoyed spending time with him and learning about the berber tribes. My favourite spot was under the berber tent with some mint tea, watching the clouds roll over the mountaints. I can definitely recommend Dar Tassa.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Burkington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Me and my boyfriend travelled to Riad Africa & Dar Tassa as part of a deal with KGB. After leaving the hustle and bustle of Marrakech, Dar Tassa was the perfect retreat. On arrival we were told to leave our bags, phones and all technology in the room, only to head up towards the terrace and take in all its beauty.
The perfectly situated eco lodge is hidden amongst the atlas mountains and gives the most ideal view, both overlooking the neighbouring Berber community and endless cascading hills. You can never tire of this view, and can simply spend hours staring aimless into the mountains.
During our stay in Dar Tassa, Mohammed and both Fatima's went above and beyond all expectations. We were made to feel like a local, provided with mint tea at the click of a finger and the food was exceptional. The service they both provided was extraordinary, and Mohammed spent a lot of his time with us playing games, talking and telling us about Berber life and his upbringing.
Our stay in Dar Tassa was more than just a simple lodge, it gave us a real insight into the Berber life and gave us more to take away with than we left. I would 100% recommend this to everyone I meet, and am already looking on my return trip back there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avena d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The location says it all - beautiful! There are plenty of places to utterly relax and breathe in the fresh mountain air. Mohamed and the 2 Fatimas could not have been any more helpful; they were cheerful and friendly all the time, even though Said hadn't arrived one day and the Riad had a lot of visitors and Mohamed was juggling enquiries and outings with clients....
Rooms: large and airy though the windows were high so the view of the mountains were obstructed; one could sit in the lounge, or the terraces or the berber tent for clarity so this was not a big issue.
Food: passable; the tagine was burnt and the pasta over cooked. BUT the homemade vanilla yogurt & freshly squeezed (I think) orange juice were divine...
Sleep: the local 'wild life' is not the silent type - dogs bark, cockerels crow, cows moo and, not to be outdone, the donkeys wail tunelessly and moanfully at the top of their big heads...and yes, this happens in the middle of the night!!!
Wine: we had Morroccon wine which was tasty but expensive at £15/bottle - take your own
Wi-Fi: doesn't exist though the brochure tells you it does.
Telescope: again, brochure says there is one but Mohamed told us it had been taken to Riad Africa in Marrakech - disappointing
Pool: is a very large paddling pool but this was being cleaned so out of service - again disappointing
Treks: though he had already taken a group out, Mohamed still took us for an hour's walk to the river and back and it was a lovely walk too.
Berber bread making: great to see and even better to eat!!
Mohamed and the Fatimas work very hard and we are grateful to them for having made our stay so peaceful....

Room Tip: The room with the balcony (opposite the kitchen) has the best views of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarTassa, Owner at Dar Tassa, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write and we are all delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and really appreciated the fabulous views that Dar Tassa offers. We have two new suites opening soon with large panoramic windows that will offer the best views. I checked the food you were served with Mohamed, our local manager - he doesn't recollect the tagine being burnt but will make a point of mentioning it to our cooks. Being on the edge of a typical Berber village offers many benefits - from cultural interaction to availability of fresh local produce in our meals. The noise from the local animals is all part of the experience of a stay in our rural retreat - and is something that guests either find enjoyable or not. For me, the donkeys are great fun - and after a few nights and maybe a few glasses of wine - I never usually hear them! We do enjoy our wine at Dar Tassa - soaking up the views with a chilled bottle of Sahari Reserve is a must on my list. Our wine is carefully chosen - always Moroccan - and priced no differently to any hotel in the High Atlas (or in Marrakech). We do have to build in a margin that ensures we cover our costs which include transport and delivery, electricity for chilling, disposal, service and taxes. For any guests who choose to bring their own wine please note we have a consume-your-own 'corkage' charge of 50 dirhams per bottle for bottles consumed in our public areas. Dar Tassa does have internet access available through a radio signal - this is generally very reliable and speedy enough to access the web. Mohamed was correct about the telescope - it was at Riad Africa having just been returned from repairs. The pool we have is seasonal and almost 16 metres square in size and waist deep - a decent size for chilling off in on a hot day or after a long walk. At the time of your brief stay the pool was awaiting a delivery of chlorine from Marrakech. Overall we are delighted that your enjoyed our key attractions of location, views and walks plus the service from our staff. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

If you are looking for a place where you can relax and unwind Dar Tassa is the best choice in all of Morocco. In the midst of an already amazing country filled with life is this quiet place overlooking the mountains, it is very hard to take in the immensity of the view from Dar Tassa, while we were there I spent a lot of time just sitting and looking around me, for it is a view that you could never get tired of. Aside from the magnificent untouched land around you; you will also come across some of the best hosts and cooks that you could ask for, always willing to help and always friendly.. and of course most of all, interesting to talk to. I consider myself very lucky to have had such a wonderful and memorable experience and I will certainly be coming back!

Room Tip: choose the top room with the balcony!..it has the best bath EVER!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roseanna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

As we only had limited time in Marrakech we wanted to make the most of our stay and visit the mountains. We booked a day trip through a website called Marrakech tours run by the Specialist Africa company. The trip we booked was called 'A Day with the Berbers'.

When arriving at the retreat we was greeted by the friendly manager, Mohamed, who was our tour guid for the day, with a warm welcomed hand shake and our names as if we was already his best friends. He showed us around and bought us mint tea on the rooftops before venturing out into the village and orchards.

His hospitality alone made our trip 100 times more amazing then anything from what we was expecting. The place is lovely and well decorated with an authentic stylish Moroccan taste.

The whole place is very relaxing and quiet with just the sound of wild birds to tickle your ear drums. After our first walk of the day we sat down to lunch under a cosy and vibrant tent where they bought us enough food to feed the 5,000! (all inclusive with the day trip) The food was very tasty and without a doubt the best we had eaten in our time in morocco. They don't leave you hungry! :)

The whole village was very interesting to walk through and the reserve is beautiful. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a relaxing time away in the mountains or who wants to go on long walks in lovely weather. You can even cool off in the natural valley pools.

Well recommended and we will most certainly be back. Next time for longer as a day isn't long enough to enjoy the most perfect and refreshing hospitality and the warm mountain views and walks.

Thank you so very much Mohamed. You treated us like royalty. This really is heaven. I wish I could stay forever!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naomi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouirgane hotels
2.0 mi away
Kasbah Africa
Kasbah Africa
#1 of 9 in Ouirgane
258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ouirgane Ecolodge
Ouirgane Ecolodge
#3 of 9 in Ouirgane
38 reviews
1.7 mi away
Domaine de la Roseraie
Domaine de la Roseraie
#2 of 2 in Ouirgane
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Domaine Malika
Domaine Malika
#1 of 2 in Ouirgane
510 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ksar Shama
Ksar Shama
#9 of 9 in Ouirgane
158 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Oliveraie de Marigha
L'Oliveraie de Marigha
#2 of 9 in Ouirgane
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Tassa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Tassa

Address: Marigha, Ouirgane | Al Houze, Ouirgane AC 42150, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Ouirgane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ouirgane
Price Range: $47 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dar Tassa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Tassa is a wonderful property in a dramatic location. It is completely off the beaten track in a hidden corner of the High Atlas Mountains yet offers superb walking for all levels of ability; from gentle strolls along the valley to more challenging treks from the front door all the way to Mount Toubkal, the highest mountain in North Africa. An eco-friendly mountain lodge tucked away in a superb location on the edge of Toubkal National Park, and just 1 hour 20 minutes' drive from Marrakech, the lodge sleeps a total of 24 people in 10 rooms, each furnished in a rustic Berber country style. Relax, unwind, eat and sleep well and enjoy the wonderful views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Dar Tassa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Tassa Hotel Ouirgane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing