We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent chillout....”
Review of Dar Tassa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar Tassa
Ranked #6 of 9 Ouirgane B&B and Inns
UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent chillout....”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The location says it all - beautiful! There are plenty of places to utterly relax and breathe in the fresh mountain air. Mohamed and the 2 Fatimas could not have been any more helpful; they were cheerful and friendly all the time, even though Said hadn't arrived one day and the Riad had a lot of visitors and Mohamed was juggling enquiries and outings with clients....
Rooms: large and airy though the windows were high so the view of the mountains were obstructed; one could sit in the lounge, or the terraces or the berber tent for clarity so this was not a big issue.
Food: passable; the tagine was burnt and the pasta over cooked. BUT the homemade vanilla yogurt & freshly squeezed (I think) orange juice were divine...
Sleep: the local 'wild life' is not the silent type - dogs bark, cockerels crow, cows moo and, not to be outdone, the donkeys wail tunelessly and moanfully at the top of their big heads...and yes, this happens in the middle of the night!!!
Wine: we had Morroccon wine which was tasty but expensive at £15/bottle - take your own
Wi-Fi: doesn't exist though the brochure tells you it does.
Telescope: again, brochure says there is one but Mohamed told us it had been taken to Riad Africa in Marrakech - disappointing
Pool: is a very large paddling pool but this was being cleaned so out of service - again disappointing
Treks: though he had already taken a group out, Mohamed still took us for an hour's walk to the river and back and it was a lovely walk too.
Berber bread making: great to see and even better to eat!!
Mohamed and the Fatimas work very hard and we are grateful to them for having made our stay so peaceful....

Room Tip: The room with the balcony (opposite the kitchen) has the best views of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarTassa, Owner at Dar Tassa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write and we are all delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and really appreciated the fabulous views that Dar Tassa offers. We have two new suites opening soon with large panoramic windows that will offer the best views. I checked the food you were served with Mohamed, our local manager - he doesn't recollect the tagine being burnt but will make a point of mentioning it to our cooks. Being on the edge of a typical Berber village offers many benefits - from cultural interaction to availability of fresh local produce in our meals. The noise from the local animals is all part of the experience of a stay in our rural retreat - and is something that guests either find enjoyable or not. For me, the donkeys are great fun - and after a few nights and maybe a few glasses of wine - I never usually hear them! We do enjoy our wine at Dar Tassa - soaking up the views with a chilled bottle of Sahari Reserve is a must on my list. Our wine is carefully chosen - always Moroccan - and priced no differently to any hotel in the High Atlas (or in Marrakech). We do have to build in a margin that ensures we cover our costs which include transport and delivery, electricity for chilling, disposal, service and taxes. For any guests who choose to bring their own wine please note we have a consume-your-own 'corkage' charge of 50 dirhams per bottle for bottles consumed in our public areas. Dar Tassa does have internet access available through a radio signal - this is generally very reliable and speedy enough to access the web. Mohamed was correct about the telescope - it was at Riad Africa having just been returned from repairs. The pool we have is seasonal and almost 16 metres square in size and waist deep - a decent size for chilling off in on a hot day or after a long walk. At the time of your brief stay the pool was awaiting a delivery of chlorine from Marrakech. Overall we are delighted that your enjoyed our key attractions of location, views and walks plus the service from our staff. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    39
    16
    8
    7
See reviews for
40
99
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2013

If you are looking for a place where you can relax and unwind Dar Tassa is the best choice in all of Morocco. In the midst of an already amazing country filled with life is this quiet place overlooking the mountains, it is very hard to take in the immensity of the view from Dar Tassa, while we were there I spent a lot of time just sitting and looking around me, for it is a view that you could never get tired of. Aside from the magnificent untouched land around you; you will also come across some of the best hosts and cooks that you could ask for, always willing to help and always friendly.. and of course most of all, interesting to talk to. I consider myself very lucky to have had such a wonderful and memorable experience and I will certainly be coming back!

Room Tip: choose the top room with the balcony!..it has the best bath EVER!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roseanna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

As we only had limited time in Marrakech we wanted to make the most of our stay and visit the mountains. We booked a day trip through a website called Marrakech tours run by the Specialist Africa company. The trip we booked was called 'A Day with the Berbers'.

When arriving at the retreat we was greeted by the friendly manager, Mohamed, who was our tour guid for the day, with a warm welcomed hand shake and our names as if we was already his best friends. He showed us around and bought us mint tea on the rooftops before venturing out into the village and orchards.

His hospitality alone made our trip 100 times more amazing then anything from what we was expecting. The place is lovely and well decorated with an authentic stylish Moroccan taste.

The whole place is very relaxing and quiet with just the sound of wild birds to tickle your ear drums. After our first walk of the day we sat down to lunch under a cosy and vibrant tent where they bought us enough food to feed the 5,000! (all inclusive with the day trip) The food was very tasty and without a doubt the best we had eaten in our time in morocco. They don't leave you hungry! :)

The whole village was very interesting to walk through and the reserve is beautiful. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a relaxing time away in the mountains or who wants to go on long walks in lovely weather. You can even cool off in the natural valley pools.

Well recommended and we will most certainly be back. Next time for longer as a day isn't long enough to enjoy the most perfect and refreshing hospitality and the warm mountain views and walks.

Thank you so very much Mohamed. You treated us like royalty. This really is heaven. I wish I could stay forever!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had an excellent stay here, combined with a few nights in a Riad in Marrakech. The staff were very friendly and very accommodating. The food was excellent. The location is stunning and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 040413NatTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagora, Morocco
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My name is Mohamed and you'll definitely meet me in case you plan to visit this place "My heaven"! there is no doubt that this would become one of the best places you've visited, and the place you would love to visit again and again. I came first time on February 2012 and since then i just fell in love with this magical place, it has the charm of simplicity and closeness to nature. The food is simply mouthwatering, no problem if you are vegetarian. The views are stunning and at night.. the best thing to do is to sit on the roof terrace and gaze at the impossibly freckly starry sky!!! soO Lovely!!!

Ps: Just to let you know, as a person who spend time at Dar during two different management systems. Since the 1st of March 2013, Dar Tassa become similar to none! offering the best stay to all visitors..
Looking forward to meet many of you here!
All the best..
Realberber

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mohamed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Hikes, tea ceremony, beautiful rooms and terraces... Dar tassa was our best stay outside of Fez in the whole country. Great service and friendly staff. Food was Delish. Would stay again and again! Learned how to make cous-cous too!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I absolutely loved my stay at Dar Tassa. Nothing but peace, tranquility, culture, and adventure. As a New Yorker, I wanted a peaceful getaway, and Mohammed, the bungalow host, assured me of it. Mohammed and the staff were very pleasant and friendly. I felt very welcomed and our needs were always met. I couldn't think of a better getaway in the beautiful country of Morocco. I still keep in touch with Mohammed to this day. I went there as a guest, and left with new friends. I 100% endorse Dar Tassa for anyone who travels to Morocco.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OscarNYUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ouirgane
0.0 mi away
Domaine Malika
Domaine Malika
#1 of 2 in Ouirgane
503 reviews
0.0 mi away
Domaine de la Roseraie
Domaine de la Roseraie
#2 of 2 in Ouirgane
335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Africa
Riad Africa
#82 of 499 in Marrakech
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chez Momo II
Chez Momo II
#3 of 4 in Asni
123 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kasbah Africa
Kasbah Africa
#1 of 9 in Ouirgane
233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ksar Shama
Ksar Shama
#9 of 9 in Ouirgane
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Tassa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Tassa

Property: Dar Tassa
Address: Marigha, Ouirgane | Al Houze, Ouirgane AC 42150, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Ouirgane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ouirgane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dar Tassa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Tassa is a wonderful property in a dramatic location. It is completely off the beaten track in a hidden corner of the High Atlas Mountains yet offers superb walking for all levels of ability; from gentle strolls along the valley to more challenging treks from the front door all the way to Mount Toubkal, the highest mountain in North Africa. An eco-friendly mountain lodge tucked away in a superb location on the edge of Toubkal National Park, and just 1 hour 20 minutes' drive from Marrakech, the lodge sleeps a total of 24 people in 10 rooms, each furnished in a rustic Berber country style. Relax, unwind, eat and sleep well and enjoy the wonderful views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dar Tassa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Tassa Hotel Ouirgane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing