We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat visits”
Review of Chez Momo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ouirgane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chez Momo
Ranked #4 of 9 Ouirgane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Repeat visits”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I always look forward to staying at Chez Momo.The setting is stuning and the gardens are beautiful. The pool looks enticing and is very clean and lovely to swim in.It is never very crowded which adds to the peace and serenity. The staff are always helpfull and friendly and the food is fine.Occassional shower malfunctions are made up for by the charm of the rooms and the environment. I look forward to my next visit !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    66
    24
    7
    4
See reviews for
53
107
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

This is a beautiful place with great views, the gardens are beautifully kept and the hotel has all that it needs to give its customers a really amazing time - but it doesn't. It's rarely that I've travelled and been so disappointed.

We arrived after a hectic day in Marrakech and looked forward to a shower before dinner. Having run the hot water for quite some time we asked at the hotel why it didn't seem to be working and were told to run it for longer and it would get hotter - it did - for about 60 seconds!! As the rooms are cold and draughty with only a small electric heater to heat a high ceilinged room it was a cold and miserable experience. The bathroom was also very grubby and the sink very stained(see photo's).

When we had a closer look around the room on the second day it was clear that it was really dirty (see photo's). The floor and particularly just under the bed was thick with dust and the mats were so dirty that when you lifted them the dust fell out. The windows and doors had gaps in them which meant it was very cold at night and may have been how the cockroaches found their way in to the bed on our second and last night (no photo's - too gruesome)!!

We booked this particular hotel for the pool but it looked a bit murky and we didn't want to chance it; no one else seemed to use the pool whilst we were there, a coincidence maybe?!!!

Dinner on the first night was fine but on the second night it was awful. Moroccan bean soup to start was completly flavourless, the beef Tajine we ordered was just pure lumps of fat and bone and if we had a square inch of actual meat between us I would be suprised. We overheard a party of French guests discussing their Tajine meals and I definately experienced food envy when one of them said he had a large piece of meat in his; just as well he said this after he had eaten it or there may have been a rush.

The following morning we had to leave very early and had been told that someone would arrange breakfast for us before we left which was a nice idea. Up we got, not having slept well after finding the roaches the night before, there was no hot water at all this time. When we went to the main reception no one was there. We woke the night watchman, who then had to call the receptionist to come from the village and arrange our bill. Twenty minutes later we left, sleepless and showerless but so happy to be leaving we didn't question the bill which was obviously wrong, infact, we may have paid them for the pleasure of leaving.

Having said all of this the staff at Chez Momo seemed very friendly and I left thinking that it could have all and so easily, been very different.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waterloosunsets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2012

This hotel is very beautiful and well kept. The hotel staff did not seem very concerned about our lack of hot water. We told them several times about there not being hot water in our rooms. We were told twice to let the water run and the hot water would come down the long pipe. After letting the shower run for half an hour, we gave up. The hot water was finally "turned on" ten minutes before our departure. We were given a $10 discount on our room by Momo.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I had heard great things about Chez Momo prior to arrival and was looking forward to it as the 'luxurious' three night part of a longer trekking holiday in the High Atlas mountains. We were travelling in January, the weather was gloriously sunny during the day but very cold at night - as was to be expected. We were the only guests staying here on two of the three nights.

What we liked about Chez Momo - The hotel looks beautiful and is very photogenic. The grounds were well looked after and it was lovely to see roses and bougainvillea in flower even in January. Our double room was very spacious, having two large double beds and a huge bathroom with enough room in the shower for a whole family. We had a secluded patio all to ourselves for sitting out which was delightful. The swimming pool looked lovely, but since it was winter we were not tempted to use it. The restaurant had a large roaring fire of an evening and the staff would light a fire in our room if we requested. The food was good, especially the Berber Omelette. The staff were friendly and on the whole helpful.

What we didn't like - Our bedroom was cold all the time, despite a fire being lit on request in the evening - all the heat went up the chimney. The large bathroom had no heating and was perishingly cold. The showers were cold more often than not, and despite mentioning this to the staff, the problem wasn't really solved - this guest book revealed that we were not the only people to have experienced this. The bedroom and the bathroom were not as clean as we would have liked.

Our biggest compliant would be with the charges, the exchange rate was not as advertised on the website, additional items appeared on our bill that we hadn't had, and we were over charged for the wine. When we questioned this the waiter/duty manager said that the menu price was wrong but could not show me an up to date price list with the amount he had charged.

We left Chez Momo feeling a little resentful. It is not a cheap place to stay, even out of season. We did not feel our complaints had been addressed, and instead of being made to feel like welcome out of season visitors we felt as though we were an encumbrance to the staff. It probably is the best place to stay in Ouirgane, but we didn't experience the more genuine hospitality that we found in some more humble accommodation in Morocco.

Room Tip: If I were to return at a time of year when the pool is likely to be in use I would definitely ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oska F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

My partner and I had a very good lunch at Chez Momo last week overlooking the pool and the mountains. Very tasty salads and tagines. Good service from the staff who all seemed to speak good English.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank historyboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Beautiful surrounding gardens and very authentic Moroccan rooms. The diner was also very tasty and made the room with diner a great value. We traveled in February and it was unfortunately a chilli night with little heat coming from the portable heater. We took a hike up the mountain and to the little villages on top which was absolutely spectacular. Definitely worth while. The plumbing in the room was not great and very little water pressure but that seems to be a general problem in Morocco! Definitely worth while stopping in but make sure that is is warm outside!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCMac7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This was a real find - lovely locally inspired Berber food majoring on Tagine meals in a fantastic setting. Good atmosphere and attentive multi lingual staff. Was a bit difficult to find but well worth the effort. If in the area, do not miss this!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speakout13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ouirgane
0.4 mi away
Domaine de la Roseraie
Domaine de la Roseraie
#2 of 2 in Ouirgane
332 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chez Momo II
Chez Momo II
#3 of 4 in Asni
123 reviews
1.9 mi away
Domaine Malika
Domaine Malika
#1 of 2 in Ouirgane
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Kasbah Tamadot
Kasbah Tamadot
#1 of 4 in Asni
772 reviews
10.1 mi away
Maroc Lodge
Maroc Lodge
#1 of 1 in Amizmiz
114 reviews
13.2 mi away
Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Momo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Momo

Property: Chez Momo
Address: Route de Taroudannt - km61, Ouirgane, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Ouirgane
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ouirgane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Chez Momo Hotel Ouirgane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing