We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AUTHENTIC BERBER CUISINE”
Review of Chez Momo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ouirgane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chez Momo
Ranked #4 of 9 Ouirgane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This was a real find - lovely locally inspired Berber food majoring on Tagine meals in a fantastic setting. Good atmosphere and attentive multi lingual staff. Was a bit difficult to find but well worth the effort. If in the area, do not miss this!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank speakout13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 250 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2011

Arrived at the end of Eid just in time for the fesitivites. Entertained by a troupe of "Goats" and their "Herdsman" just as we arrived at Momo! What a fun welcome. Delightful auberge with lovely gardens hidden in the hillside. All the staff were welcoming and the rooms, albeit a bit basic with rather hard pillows, more than adequate. Plentiful food. Extremely good value for money. Wonderful warm fire burning in the bar in the evenings. Would certainly stay again and recommend it.

Room Tip: Upgrade room if possible. Lot's of steep steps leading to the rooms, so if a little infirm ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyC890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Just returned from 18 days flashpacking around Morocco. Stayed just one night at Chez Momo on route from Taradant to Morocco......and what a find. Beautiful buildings in beautiful gardens, terrific guest rooms. The evening meal was very good.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petersclan241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Great location and for the price the accommodation is great! Lovely pool and setting with friendly staff and good, basic food. Perfect place to relax for a couple of days and escape. I would definitely recommend trekking with Abdul who was recommended to us through the hotel. He was a pleasure and took us on some great routes we wouldn't have uncovered on our own - and the packed lunch he brought us was simple but delicious!

Room Tip: Make sure you're in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We arrived by taxi for our two night stay up the long gravel track from the road and were greeted by a very pleasant member of staff, who made us feel very welcome.
This is the second Chez Momo, the first was lost when the valley was flooded to create the barrage.
The room was a cottage next to the pool and was large and spacious, with a wonderful open fire. The furniture, furnishings and fixtures were traditional. The bathroom was nice with an open shower cublcle and towels that were changed daily. There was plenty of hanging space for clothes. There was a small private terrace with table and chairs. The only small thing it lacked was a full length mirror.
The gardens are mature and the pool is lovely, with tables and chairs scattered around with a few sunbeds for those who don't want to don their walking boots!
Breakfast was good, with pancakes and bread with honey, jam and fresh orange juice.. We had booked half board, both meals we had were very nice with a choice of starter, main and pud. The service was great and the waiter spoke perfect english, he could easily have been at home in any London restaurant. This hotel is very clean and charming with wonderful veiws of the mountains and the barrage. All the staff were curtious and attentive. Simply lovely, we wished we had booked for longer than two nights.
We stayed here so we could trek in the Atlas mountains, the hotel had offered to arrange a guide for us but we decided to do so ourselves before leaving the Uk. We managed to contact Abdou who was amazing, he was full of very interesting facts about the Moroccan way of life and the area and his knowledge of the uk was outstanding! We walked about 15k from Chez Momo to Richard Branson's Moroccan retreat .......very posh! Walking through river beds and small Berber villages. Abdou brought along a wonderful picnic lunch, which we sat and ate on the mountain with wonderful views. Even when I found the walk tough, he was very patient and encouraged me to rest when I needed. he is well known at Chez Momo and they will be able to get in touch with him if you need a guide.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alliper65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

This hotel and restaurant is a lovely place to spend some time. Either for a couple of nights with a bit of walking during the day or just as part of a day trip to Ouirgane and a drive back over the Plateau de Kik. It's setting is beautiful, just a few minutes from the aquamarine waters of one of the reservoirs which surround Marrakech in the mountains. They have several small chalets for guests, a pool and lovely gardens. Lunch can be inside the restaurant or on the terrace. A good wine list compliments the offerings. You could even just pop in for a drink if you wanted. The place is owned by a young Moroccan which is nice to see. Mustapha, the head waiter, is charming and speaks really good English (albeit with a strange sort of Cockney accent) and he and the other staff go out of their way to make sure you have a realxing time.

If you are spending a day in this part of the mounatins I couldn't recommend any place more. My old Ma loved everything about it!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shimmin2robertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We have just returned from a superb holiday in Morocco. We started at Chez Momo and received and wonderful welcome. The staff were very friendly, easy to talk to and happy to take the time and trouble to answer our questions. The position of the hotel is breathtaking, it has a lovely swimming pool and sunbeds and food available pretty much all the time. They used a lot of local ingredients and the food good. We would love to go back.

Room Tip: we thought the room on top of the main building had the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaandMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ouirgane
0 mi away
Chez Momo II
Chez Momo II
#3 of 4 in Asni
131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Domaine de la Roseraie
Domaine de la Roseraie
#2 of 2 in Ouirgane
348 reviews
1.9 mi away
Domaine Malika
Domaine Malika
#1 of 2 in Ouirgane
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kasbah Africa
Kasbah Africa
#1 of 9 in Ouirgane
260 reviews
2.1 mi away
L'Oliveraie de Marigha
L'Oliveraie de Marigha
#2 of 9 in Ouirgane
229 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ouirgane Ecolodge
Ouirgane Ecolodge
#3 of 9 in Ouirgane
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Momo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Momo

Address: Route de Taroudannt - km61, Ouirgane, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Ouirgane
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ouirgane
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Chez Momo Hotel Ouirgane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing