We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place - Shame about the Food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Domaine de la Roseraie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Domaine de la Roseraie
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ouirgane
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Place - Shame about the Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2007

Very pretty grounds with nice flowers. Shame the food is in direct contrast as being terrible! If you want a nice pool flowers and a taste of the Atlas I would still recommend this but take some pringles!

  • Stayed May 2007
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
1 Thank icewiththat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    60
    22
    15
    11
See reviews for
69
116
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2007

Fantastic place high in the mountains. An oasis of fragrant flowers, chirping birds and great food. Having read other comments about the similarity of the evening meals, they have a point, but it has to be remembered that this is 2hours up a mountain from Marrakesh and they do a fantastic job considering.

The pool was cold but I thought it pretty refreshing as it was very hot. The people that worked there were lovely and I would struggle to fault the place and will definately be going back.

Its a great place for the price. I went to the Branson place down the road which is 3 times the price with about half the atmosphere and beauty - though they did have chips on the menu!!!

  • Liked — Fragrent Smell
  • Disliked — Lounger hoggers!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CatNoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2007

Lovely position in the Atlas Mountains, very peaceful gorgeous gardens with roses everywhere, ideal time would be May/June to smell the fragrance of the roses. The room we had was OK and spacious, however a little dark and they were not cleaned as well as they should be. This we later learnt was because they were under staffed which they should not have been as it was Easter and the hotel was busy. The food on the whole was good, although after 5 nights of the evening buffet we grew a little fed up, I think different menus each night would have worked better for us. The outdoor pools were very cold for this time of the year and the indoor pool/spa needs a complete refurbish to bring it up to date as it wasn't very welcoming. Service on the whole was OK. We did enjoy our stay as we also met some lovely people. We are not sure if we would return as we feel it needs alittle TLC.

  • Liked — The gardens
  • Disliked — wasps at breakfast! Room not cleaned properly
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2007

The hotel is in a brilliant location - simply stunning (although the not yet completed reservoir will flood part of the valley). Indeed, I would suggest that the location is better than the valley leading up to Toukbal. Our room was a good size and the bathrooms were decent. In terms of facilities, the gardens are really superb, the bar with its log fires a good asset and it was really easy to arrange horse riding / walking.

However, there were some problems with the hotel. We weren't able to locate a heated pool and the service needed improvement (for example, they didn't make up the room unless we left the door unlocked all day because they didn't have a spare key). The main problem was the really dreadful food - quite a sophisticated French/Moroccan menu but seriously overcooked / badly cooked. We actually went to the Tamadot on the last day for a meal because we couldn't face dinner at the hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Britain
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2007

We telephoned with ten days notice, to be told that there was only one room left, a junior suite. DB&B 3000 Ds. As it was our last night in Morocco and we wanted a treat (renowned restaurant, pool etc) we booked. When we arrived the manager was quite snooty, asked us how much we'd been quoted etc. and it seemed as if he wasn't expecting us. The hotel seemed about a third full. The under manager was charming, which made up for the lack of hospitality. The suite was great, as it should have been at that price, but the bathroom had a rather 'drainy' smell and the loo 'filled' all night. Pool was freezing. Lunch was fabulous: imaginative, freshly baked breads etc, but dinner dire. Lukewarm soup, chicken tagine was just a piece of chicken, and a very indifferent creme caramel. The menu was very limited. Why a dining room so far from the kitchen! We had to leave early, so as breakfast was served from 7.30 a.m we got to the breakfast room (which could do with a good clean!) at 7.45. All we wanted was coffee and fresh bread. We got the coffee, but no bread! This place needs a makeover of management!! But it is beautiful if over-priced.

  • Liked — size of bed
  • Disliked — grumpy manager and rotten dinner
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MBGreatBritain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2007

After a couple of days in Marrakech - the Roseraie and the Atlas mountains were such a welcome change. My cousin and I arrived on the 22 December and stayed for three nights. It was exactly what we wanted - to unwind completely amongst amazing scenery- the hotel is absolutely gorgeous. The room was so luxurious with a massive bathroom - shame about the lack of channels on the TV though! It was quiet, there were only about 6 people there but was great as we could have massages when we wanted and we also did a horse riding trek around the mountains and villages which was the highlight of the trip. The weather was really sunny during the day but at night and first thing in the morning it was freezing - definitely bring your ski jacket if you are going in December. Food was good, however it is a bit expensive, be prepared as there is nowhere else to go for food. All in all - well worth it!

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucy1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2007

We stayed in one of the suites... very nice indeed. Not as lavishly decorated as some of the marrakech riads. Quite basic, but nice. the suite was huge, with a little lounge and fireplace.
We were there in winter (end december)... and one downside was that the rooms were very cold. The fire didn't seem to help much. (Although, the fireplace was gorgeous!)

i think it's a good thing to do for two days or so to give you a break from the madness of marrakech... (we went on a week's holiday... so a few days in marrakech and two days in the mountains was a good mix. I think it would get boring if you stayed longer.)

The food was great... lovely buffets sitting outside at the pool. I would definitely recommend this place for the warmer months however, as our room was cold and it was a bit too cold to swim.

The staff were very pleasant, however the service was very slow most of the time. It looked like they were slightly short-staffed, as it was the same staff members day and night.

there are nearby villages... we went for a walk and met a local family.

the hammam and spa is good also... very good value for money. Again, not as luxurious as some of the fancy riads... but excellent. Massage was excellent, hammam was great.

in conclusion, a great place to spend a day or 3. No more. I would recommend it.

  • Liked — the setting
  • Disliked — the service
  • Tips/Secrets — go in the summer ... and go for a walk up in the local villages
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PQOTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ouirgane
1.6 mi away
Domaine Malika
Domaine Malika
#1 of 2 in Ouirgane
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
6.7 mi away
Kasbah Tamadot
Kasbah Tamadot
#1 of 4 in Asni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chez Momo II
Chez Momo II
#3 of 4 in Asni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel
10.3 mi away
Maroc Lodge
Maroc Lodge
#1 of 1 in Amizmiz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kasbah Africa
Kasbah Africa
#1 of 9 in Ouirgane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de la Roseraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de la Roseraie

Property: Domaine de la Roseraie
Address: Km 60 Route de Taroudant Val d'Ouirgane | Par Marrakech ElHaouz, Ouirgane 42173, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Ouirgane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ouirgane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Domaine de la Roseraie 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Berber Mountains of the High Atlas, 60 km from Marrakech, you will discover La Roseraie. The altitude will offer the perfect climate. Cool in summer, mild in winter, its pure air will revitalize you. Secretly hidden in the middle of a 25 hectars of natural parkland, far away from stressful city life, it will be the ideal retreat for nature lovers. The rooms lead into rose gardens, lime and lemon groves, orchards, exotic plants and wild flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Domaine de la Roseraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine De La Roseraie Hotel Ouirgane
Domaine De La Roseraie Ouirgane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing