We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous gardens and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Domaine de la Roseraie
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ouirgane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2007

Lovely position in the Atlas Mountains, very peaceful gorgeous gardens with roses everywhere, ideal time would be May/June to smell the fragrance of the roses. The room we had was OK and spacious, however a little dark and they were not cleaned as well as they should be. This we later learnt was because they were under staffed which they should not have been as it was Easter and the hotel was busy. The food on the whole was good, although after 5 nights of the evening buffet we grew a little fed up, I think different menus each night would have worked better for us. The outdoor pools were very cold for this time of the year and the indoor pool/spa needs a complete refurbish to bring it up to date as it wasn't very welcoming. Service on the whole was OK. We did enjoy our stay as we also met some lovely people. We are not sure if we would return as we feel it needs alittle TLC.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 341 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2007

The hotel is in a brilliant location - simply stunning (although the not yet completed reservoir will flood part of the valley). Indeed, I would suggest that the location is better than the valley leading up to Toukbal. Our room was a good size and the bathrooms were decent. In terms of facilities, the gardens are really superb, the bar with its log fires a good asset and it was really easy to arrange horse riding / walking.

However, there were some problems with the hotel. We weren't able to locate a heated pool and the service needed improvement (for example, they didn't make up the room unless we left the door unlocked all day because they didn't have a spare key). The main problem was the really dreadful food - quite a sophisticated French/Moroccan menu but seriously overcooked / badly cooked. We actually went to the Tamadot on the last day for a meal because we couldn't face dinner at the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Victoria101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2007

We telephoned with ten days notice, to be told that there was only one room left, a junior suite. DB&B 3000 Ds. As it was our last night in Morocco and we wanted a treat (renowned restaurant, pool etc) we booked. When we arrived the manager was quite snooty, asked us how much we'd been quoted etc. and it seemed as if he wasn't expecting us. The hotel seemed about a third full. The under manager was charming, which made up for the lack of hospitality. The suite was great, as it should have been at that price, but the bathroom had a rather 'drainy' smell and the loo 'filled' all night. Pool was freezing. Lunch was fabulous: imaginative, freshly baked breads etc, but dinner dire. Lukewarm soup, chicken tagine was just a piece of chicken, and a very indifferent creme caramel. The menu was very limited. Why a dining room so far from the kitchen! We had to leave early, so as breakfast was served from 7.30 a.m we got to the breakfast room (which could do with a good clean!) at 7.45. All we wanted was coffee and fresh bread. We got the coffee, but no bread! This place needs a makeover of management!! But it is beautiful if over-priced.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBGreatBritain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2007

After a couple of days in Marrakech - the Roseraie and the Atlas mountains were such a welcome change. My cousin and I arrived on the 22 December and stayed for three nights. It was exactly what we wanted - to unwind completely amongst amazing scenery- the hotel is absolutely gorgeous. The room was so luxurious with a massive bathroom - shame about the lack of channels on the TV though! It was quiet, there were only about 6 people there but was great as we could have massages when we wanted and we also did a horse riding trek around the mountains and villages which was the highlight of the trip. The weather was really sunny during the day but at night and first thing in the morning it was freezing - definitely bring your ski jacket if you are going in December. Food was good, however it is a bit expensive, be prepared as there is nowhere else to go for food. All in all - well worth it!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Lucy1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2007

We stayed in one of the suites... very nice indeed. Not as lavishly decorated as some of the marrakech riads. Quite basic, but nice. the suite was huge, with a little lounge and fireplace.
We were there in winter (end december)... and one downside was that the rooms were very cold. The fire didn't seem to help much. (Although, the fireplace was gorgeous!)

i think it's a good thing to do for two days or so to give you a break from the madness of marrakech... (we went on a week's holiday... so a few days in marrakech and two days in the mountains was a good mix. I think it would get boring if you stayed longer.)

The food was great... lovely buffets sitting outside at the pool. I would definitely recommend this place for the warmer months however, as our room was cold and it was a bit too cold to swim.

The staff were very pleasant, however the service was very slow most of the time. It looked like they were slightly short-staffed, as it was the same staff members day and night.

there are nearby villages... we went for a walk and met a local family.

the hammam and spa is good also... very good value for money. Again, not as luxurious as some of the fancy riads... but excellent. Massage was excellent, hammam was great.

in conclusion, a great place to spend a day or 3. No more. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank PQOTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2007

We went on the 26th December. We had been told by the hotel that they only had junior suites available at 3000Dh (circa £200) DB&B, which we booked, but of the 40 odd rooms, only 4 were occupied. Lovely setting, nice (but rather cool) room, mediocre food, good-ish service. Real gripe on paying in that use of the spa facilities was charged at 150Dh per head, which was only clear if you read the hotel notice board in the foyer, and the sauna was very cool at 70C. If the price was halved, it would be an excellent place to stay.

Stayed: December 2006
1  Thank Flitterbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2007

A hidden secret. La Domaine de la Roserarie appears suddenly as you drive around a bend in the Atlas Mountains, only an hour away from Marrakech. Flags in the turning announce with style the hotel, from when it just gets better and better.
Down through the gardens, with a trickling stream to one side, you come across the reception hall where the welcome is genuine. Out the other side into more gardens with views of snow topped peaks, yet T shirt warmth at Christmas.
The luxurious rooms - all different - are set within the gardens. Christmas Eve afternoon sitting on a patio looking down into a fast flowing mountain river, apart from which one hears only the birds. As the sun drops, time to relax in the lounge around the roaring log fire until we go to refresh ourselves for dinner.
Again, to reach the evening dining room, a walk through the gardens, part of which are designed on the style of the Alhambra in Granada, reflecting some of the owner's heritage. A large log fire burns at the entrance and either end of the traditional dining room. A Noel dinner has been prepared in the French style for Christmas Eve. Eight courses and each one a delight - where are the Michelin guide stars, each course qualified.
After a very comfortable night and a most satisfying breakfast, the morning was spent exploring the equestrian centre, housing not only horses, but a very large, very white camel. Everything so well kept, we started to walk and enjoy the breathtaking views, conversing with the Guardian of the Gardens, sheep and goat herders and villagers harvesting olives.
We then retured to one of the swimming pools around which we enjoyed a light lunch prior to a suna, swim in a warm conservatory enclosed pool, concluded by a massage.
That evening we chose the succulent lamb as our main course from the genrous menu, where the chef proved the Noel dinner was not a "one off", as all the food was excellent.
Christmas was recognised with subtlety by the naturally enhanced decorations and lights not only indoors, but throughout the gardens as well.
This was our fourth visit to Marocco. There will be a fifth and La Domaine de la Roseraie will definitely be on our itinerary.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Judithainge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ouirgane
1.5 mi away
Domaine Malika
Domaine Malika
#1 of 2 in Ouirgane
507 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chez Momo II
Chez Momo II
#3 of 4 in Asni
126 reviews
6.8 mi away
Kasbah Tamadot
Kasbah Tamadot
#1 of 4 in Asni
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel
22.2 mi away
Kasbah Bab Ourika
Kasbah Bab Ourika
#1 of 3 in Ourika
595 reviews
12.1 mi away
Le Flouka Auberge et Restaurant du Lac
Le Flouka Auberge et Restaurant ...
#1 of 3 in Lalla Takerkoust
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de la Roseraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de la Roseraie

Address: Km 60 Route de Taroudant Val d'Ouirgane | Par Marrakech ElHaouz, Ouirgane 42173, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Ouirgane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ouirgane
Price Range: $115 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Domaine de la Roseraie 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Berber Mountains of the High Atlas, 60 km from Marrakech, you will discover La Roseraie. The altitude will offer the perfect climate. Cool in summer, mild in winter, its pure air will revitalize you. Secretly hidden in the middle of a 25 hectars of natural parkland, far away from stressful city life, it will be the ideal retreat for nature lovers. The rooms lead into rose gardens, lime and lemon groves, orchards, exotic plants and wild flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Domaine de la Roseraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine De La Roseraie Hotel Ouirgane
Domaine De La Roseraie Ouirgane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing