We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in the Atlas Mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Domaine de la Roseraie
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ouirgane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We stayed at la Roseraie for the first 2 nights of a 10 day stay in Morocco in early October. The weather was fantastic! 32 degrees everyday. The hotel is in the most beautiful setting, surrounded by the mountains with birds and butterflies in the beautiful garden. It is the most relaxing place in earth! The staff are super friendly, breakfast is served in the garden or on the terrace - you feel at peace there. The veal tagine cooked with honey and cinnamon was a real highlight. Horse riding is also highly recommended! the guide is very knowledgeable and speaks good English, the horses are fit and healthy and your ride through the mountains on short or long treks depending on what you feel like. I left feeling like a new person, refreshed relaxed and very happy. Thank You!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pearl v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
There are newer reviews for Domaine de la Roseraie
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 338 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2011

Something born out by the fact that we were the only people staying there! The food was particularly poor and very expensive. There were no vegetarian options so we ended up paying 300Dh (£25) for an omelette! The place was run down in need of some serious maintenance. When we stayed they were building a second floor on the restaurant - just what you want when you've gone there for some peace and quiet. Other things included: Live snakes were found in the swimming pool and the filters, which clearly had not been cleaned recently. Air-conditioning was not working in the bedrooms. The gardens were untidy; weeds everywhere, grass not cut until we were leaving etc. Luckily we only stayed for 3 nights. The only good thing to say was that the staff (3 of them) were very good and you couldn't fault their service. Maybe if there had been a few more people there it would have been different. I've written twice complaining and trying to get some money back but they haven't even had the decency to reply. Chez Momo round the corner looks better and much better value!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichardM53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

La Roseraie is a calm haven where you can recharge the batteries. The staff are super friendly, the location is devine and this hotel was the highlight of our trip around Morocco.

The extensive property and surrounding hills have some stunning walks. The room was very comfortable and the food excellent. In February it is just too cold to swim in the outside pools, but this didn't detract. We came for one night and stayed for four.

And the stars......WOW.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TagineSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2010

Hey, it is Morocco. There is not a glut of super fancy places to stay. The Domaine de la Roseraie is remote from a large city. We were on a bike tour and the stay here was for two days. I don't know the price of this individual hotel, but overall we loved it. Yep, there were ants in the bathroom, alot of ants, and the shower kept going from hot to cold but the grounds are beautiful, the pool is lovely and the surrounding Atlas mountains are stunning. If you want to go to the Ritz, please do, but if you would like to go to a very nice place in the middle of rural Morocco this place is very nice and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2dogsAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

La Roseraie is in a stunning location at the foot of the highest peaks in the Atlas with huge grounds providing a very relaxing and peaceful setting. However we were very disappointed with many aspects of the service. There was no information on facilities in the hotel and an almost indiscernable map of the area and when we asked for more advice from reception this was very unhelpful. Basically we got the impression they wanted you in the hands of local guides and paying way over the top for it.

After expecting lots of hassle in Marrakech we actually found it worse here. As the most expensive hotel in the village there is usually a load of hawkers at the entrance and we couldnt walk around the village without some one following us all the way. If you want to buy something from them you need to divide by about 20 from their asking price - they know how much the hotel costs and start from there.

Food was OK but very expensive and we were charged £8 for a glass of wine. Overall the hotel is grossly overrated given the quality of service and overall experience, with the main objective seeming to get you to part with cash. Stay somewhere cheaper and visit this as part of a day trip if you are interested to see it.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2009

Our room had no hot water when we arrived. It was promptly fixed. We awoke in the mroning to bathroom floor crawling with ants. The tub filled with dead insects during the nite. The grounds are more than beautiful but the food was marginal.
The business center computer was non functioning and the staff were the least accomodating we encountered in Morocco. If you are planning on a visit to this area the KasbahTamdot is your best bet.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcoaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2009

We were slightly alarmed to read recent reviews of La Roseraie before travelling and had decided that we would move on if they were true.

However, we were given an incredibly warm welcome by Mohammed, who had arranged a transfer from the airport with Rachid - who is an absolutely lovely and extremely safe local driver.

The hotel grounds are beautifully maintained - there is the most amazing collection of roses I have seen, which are constantly watered and pruned by a team of people. The room we were given was also beautiful with a brand new bathroom, and lovely traditional Moroccan decor, as well as a vase of gorgeous roses on arrival. There was also a mini bar in the room, which was large enough to put large bottles of mineral water inside.

Two of the swimming pools were in operation - but we discovered a bit of a peril in hanging out at the poolsides in terms of biting insects, so it would be sensible to take insect repellant.

We took a walk along one of the marked trails - ensuring that we took the hotel phone number with us in case we got lost, but it was easy to find our way around and the views were stunning. In addition, we ended up going for two amazing horse treks with Abdul in the stables.

Our only criticism is that the food situation really needs to be sorted out. We made this comment to Mohammed when we left. In the evenings, there is only a set menu costing 300 Dirham, which we considered to be overpriced for not particularly exciting food - and the waiter did not offer us any drinks menu but assumed that we would only want a bottle of mineral water. In addition, it would have been really nice to have an ice lolly after returning from our walks, but the hotel does not sell ice cream!!! We found a hotel which is about a 20 minute walk from La Roseraie called Au Sanglier Qui Fume which has extremely good food and wine at half the price. We made this comment to the hotel, and hope that any further guests will do the same, as it's a shame to ruin such a nice hotel by serving poor food.

One last note - if you can speak French, you will find it a lot easier to have a nice time as many people are bilingual in French but are not quite so fluent in English as it's apparently only been taught in schools since very recently.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmachisit2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ouirgane
1.5 mi away
Domaine Malika
Domaine Malika
#1 of 2 in Ouirgane
505 reviews
6.8 mi away
Kasbah Tamadot
Kasbah Tamadot
#1 of 4 in Asni
793 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chez Momo II
Chez Momo II
#3 of 4 in Asni
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel
22.2 mi away
Kasbah Bab Ourika
Kasbah Bab Ourika
#1 of 3 in Ourika
588 reviews
12.1 mi away
Le Flouka Auberge et Restaurant du Lac
Le Flouka Auberge et Restaurant ...
#1 of 3 in Lalla Takerkoust
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de la Roseraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de la Roseraie

Address: Km 60 Route de Taroudant Val d'Ouirgane | Par Marrakech ElHaouz, Ouirgane 42173, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Ouirgane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ouirgane
Price Range: $86 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Domaine de la Roseraie 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Berber Mountains of the High Atlas, 60 km from Marrakech, you will discover La Roseraie. The altitude will offer the perfect climate. Cool in summer, mild in winter, its pure air will revitalize you. Secretly hidden in the middle of a 25 hectars of natural parkland, far away from stressful city life, it will be the ideal retreat for nature lovers. The rooms lead into rose gardens, lime and lemon groves, orchards, exotic plants and wild flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Domaine de la Roseraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine De La Roseraie Hotel Ouirgane
Domaine De La Roseraie Ouirgane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing