We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“picture perfect!”
Review of Domaine Malika

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Domaine Malika
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ouirgane
Certificate of Excellence
Aus
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“picture perfect!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had an amazing time at Domanie Malika- we stayed 3 nights. Paul and his team could not have done anymore to ensure that we had a great stay. We were welcomed very warmly to the hotel by Khalid and shown to our room straight away (around noon). We had pre-booked lunch and a table was set and ready for us next to the pool.

The rooms are very well designed and it was nice having our on patio. We would sit on our patio and have a glass and watch the sun go down- we had the junior suite. We also loved the bath.

The food at Malika was very good. We did not mind only having one option for entree, main and dessert. There was also a good variety of wines.

The pool water in the morning is a little chilly, but we did not mind this as it was quite warm while we were there and a great option to cool down quickly. We also had a spa treatment while we were there- we both had a hamman- which was really nice.

Paul helped organise a 2 hour walk for us and provided us with a map. We did this alone (no guide). The walk was through the berber villages and took us through to chez momo. We had dinner at chez mono that night. The food at chez mono is not as good as Domaine Malika, but it was nice to see another part of the atlas mountains- very nice views.

Paul also helped us arrange a local taxi for our 9:50am flight back home.

We were very happy with our stay and will be recommending Domaine Malika to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieTraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    46
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
76
339
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed at the Domaine Malika last week for a few days after the hectic buzz of Marrakech. I think we stayed at the same time as the reviewer below but we had absolutely no problem at all. The junior suite (end) was bright and very spacious, no musty smells and the bath was of typical Morrocan design and very similiar to the one in our lovely riad in Marrakech. It was n't slippy and neither did I think it would be a problem for the elderly. The patio doors lock from the inside and yes, if you wanted to go straight down to the pool from your patio you would have to leave them open, however it is worth pointing out your room does have a safe so any valuables should be locked away. I guess you have to a certain amount of trust but it really wasnt a problem for us. Mattress was great. Bed nice and big and comfy.

The room was spotlessly clean as so is the rest of the hotel. The surroundings, pool and garden are lovely. Mountain scenery stunning. Very peaceful place.

Food was very good. We are both vegetarian and we ate 2 lunches and dinners at the hotel. They were very accommodating to our diet and Paul even came up and asked if our veggie options were okay. The staff all knew we were vegetarian and were very accommodating. The lemon cheesecake pie dessert on the second night was devine!

Taxi fare from Marrakech to the hotel was quoted by Paul before we went and the driver did not try or ask for more. We paid him direct but we knew this was the arrangement. He was very friendly even though my French was basic he showed us some sights on the way and was a lovely man.

We took a walk to the Salt mines which was a lovely way to spend a few hours. We arranged for a pack lunch from the hotel which was great. We met some locals on the way who said hello and were very friendly. On the last day we went to the village and into Mohammed and his father's shop with lots of rocks and crystals. It was pleasant speaking to him and after some negotiations over price I bought a few crystals (better than the ones I found myself in the Salt mines). They offered us tea but unfortunately we were leaving that day.

Paul's mum (sorry can't remember your name) was lovely. She spoke to us for about 20 mins when we were waiting for our taxi to the airport and walked with us up the drive. We managed to get by with my basic French and her English. She was friendly and very hospitable as so was Paul. He was very attentive to his guests.

Room Tip: Corner junior suite is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mojobh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Having read all the glowing reviews We booked this hotel with my sister, her for 5 night me for 4 as we could not find flight on the same day. My first impressions were very good, Paul is very friendly and the site is beautiful. They had had a lot of rain the week previous so there was a bit of a musty smell to the room, otherwise very clean and nice, We had a salad by the pool, again very nice and were looking forward to a pleasant few days to celebrate my birthday.

First the good points :
The setting is beautifully, the whole place is spotlessly clean, the outside spaces very nice, the pool is nice and cool, the personnel is very pleasant and smiles all the time, it is very quiet.
We were able to forego the desert included in the dinner menu after first night.
The girl in the hammam is a joy, the hammam service was very good if very noisy ( steam machine), and her massage ( draining) excellent and very graceful to watch ( my sister went with me and we both waited for each other).

The not so good :
The beds are very hard so I personally did not sleep well.
The bath is a funny shape and you slide in the middle if you sit or stand, so take a bath mat or put a towel in for children or elderly people who might fall.
There is no hair drier in the room in spite of the pool so do not forget to bring yours.
The French doors to the pool do not lock so if you do get out that way you have to leave your door open.
Coffee is cold in the mornings, the breads do get a bit hard as week goes by.
Paul's mother has no idea when it comes to excursions and commented on taxi fares pages instead.
Taxi fares indicated by hotel are not enforced so you are on your own even if they do call the taxi for you, know the driver will try it on and easily double the fare, the hotel should either pay the taxis direct or have you pay in front of them so that you do not get riped off.
The map you are given for trekking is very vague and will only get you to the second village, after that you either play it by ear and pick a road at random at crossroads or have to ask in which case you will either be sent the wrong way and then be "rescued" by same person who will ask for 100 dr when you get to your destination in spite of having said it would be free, or offered to be guided there directly at a price for the more honest " guides". No one will point you in right direction... I would rather pay for a guide from the hotel and not go through the hassle, not an option.
The food which was supposed to be excellent is very good when asked for unplanned (last minute lunch by pool), but otherwise cooked at 18.00 to be warmed up from 19.30 onwards. Not a massive problem when stews are concerned, although they did go a bit dry, but for a foodie warming up duck breasts is a nono as it dries up and becomes chewy, so in essence the food is not bad but because of the reheating policy not good either. Also romantic licence with the dishes, for example a pineapple carpaccio is for them not freshly thinly cut pineapple, but a commercial pastry tartlet base with a piece of canned pineapple and whipped cream. We went out quite a bit after the first two days and had delicious freshly cooked food at l'oliveraie which is just down the road, at chez momo which is quite a trek, and at a moroccan snack bar near the cascades.

The Bad : We had organised a day in 4x4 in the 3 valleys, just the 2 of us, and then met a charming couple who said they were going on the same trip. Rather than taking two cars we decided we would like to go together, so the night before once we had got talking, my sister went and asked Paul's mother if it was possible. We were aware it was late and it might not be possible to change, but were hopeful.
Unfortunately the response was not customer oriented at all, she received a blunt no with the excuse that it would be very inconvenient for Her to change and very disrespectful to the drivers !!!
My sister then quite firmly let her views be known, although she did go off and commented on the other stuff too. After a heated discussion, and the other couple's intervention telling her we would make the call ourselves if it helped and book this particular company for the transfer back to the airport, she finally relented and made the change. We were explained that it is very dificult to get good service and that they had to get rid of other companies who took people where they were not supposed to etc.... We did go together but the driver did not take us to the ski resort ( part of the 3 valley's experience), so we missed out on the cable car ride etc... And instead took us to a guided visit of an oil factory where prices are inflated to include driver's commission and then tried to dump us at the cascades with another guide ( at a price ) for 2 hours to go and see said cascades and lunch at a " recommended" restaurant. We did not play ball, got rid of the guide and went to a snack bar where the 4 of us ate for 100 dr, very fresh salads falafels and chips with mint tea, sharing the pick nick the other two had brought along.
The other couple was asked how it went and they did report back to the hotel, who made a show of saying that they were going to complain, and how unacceptable this was, but when we went to get the transfer we had booked directly with another company to Marrakesh (we saw the driver as he brought new clients to the hotel and booked him) we found out it had been cancelled and rebooked with the tour company that had behaved so badly, once we were on our way ( we asked as the car was falling to pieces a bit ).We had thought our offer of booking them to compensate had naturally ended once they blatantly cut a day's excursion short and tried to make extra money out of us, but no. Going behind a client's back and cancelling a good service ( company who got us from the airport had newer, cleaner cars and honest clean cut driver ) to replace it with a dodgy one is unforgivable.

The fact that my sister could not find a pair of ray ban glasses and a set or earplugs for her phone did leave a bitter taste too ( our friends were told she might have left them in the taxi, when they both were in her bag as back up pairs, she used others while there, and the hotel was notified of the fact before we left !).

All in all, lots of details let it down, as expectations were high and so was the price, but the worst thing was customer service, it would seem that the clients wishes come last and the " service providers " convenience is paramount, ie the dodgy tour company. My sister though Paul's mother was very aggressive and defensive ( and vice versa). Paul's mother did tell me my sister would amount to nothing with her attitude, which when you think about it is very rude !!!

Efforts were made towards damage limitation with the other couple ( long friendly chats, free massage), they obviously thought only they would go on to trip advisor as we booked direct ( only after having checked trip advisor first), thank god we had decided to split my birthday celebrations in two and went on to Marrakesh afterwards to a delightful riad with lovely hosts who could not do enough, and for which I will write another ( glowing) review with pleasure.

Room Tip: Ask for junior corner suite, we had the one in the middle and it was darker and had a smaller terrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nadinejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomaineMalika, Manager at Domaine Malika, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear future guests,
The whole team of Domaine Malika is truly sad that these people can say as many bad things about our house and inhabitants of our beautiful valley, while many others leave really happy about their stay here and offer us the friendship to share with you their nice experience.
It would be a bit long to refute each of the complaints of these ladies, so I hope you will make your opinion in reliance upon the many positive reviews !
Thank you to all those who continue to trust us and ... see you soon ;)
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Weather was great when we arrived and this added to the beauty and tranquility of the area. We had lunch the day we arrived and it was delicious as were all the meals we had. The local red wine we had with dinner was vey good. Our stay was short but we managed to fit in the walk to the Salt mines. Paul helped with directions with the walk to Ouirgane. It is possible to get confused on route once you hit the Berber villages, but with a bit of local assistance we got back on route in time for lunch at Chez Momo (food was very good here too, nice location).
If stay at Malika take a stroll around the "grounds" they a cactus area, veg plot, olive grove and fruit area, just lovely.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcelWave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

You are welcomed enthusiastically by Paul and his staff from the moment you arrive. The valley setting is superb, with mountains all around. Everywhere outside there are chairs and tables – far more than ever the maximum number of guests – and the pool and surrounding area are most attractive and meticulously maintained. The well-kept gardens provide a lot of fruit and vegetables for the kitchen.
The accommodation (junior suite, room no. 4) was large, very bright with windows to two aspects, and spotlessly clean. The room had its own small terrace as well as direct access up a flight of stairs to a large roof terrace shared only by 3 rooms. En suite facilities were also very good.
All food and meals were excellent and the dinners especially so. Each night there is a set 3-course menu, which is posted up in the morning; alternatives can be requested, but if you take what’s on offer, you won’t be disappointed.
There are plenty of walks and trips to be enjoyed in the area, and Paul is always on hand to give any assistance required.
Initial pick-up from a Marrakech riad and back to the airport at the end were well-organised. It's a matter of choice, but the Dhs600 option is generally more reliable.
We don’t normally revisit places, preferring always to try somewhere new, but the next time we want a week’s break in the sun and all the comforts that go with it, Domaine Malika may well prove to be the exception.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oaktreeSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Domaine Malika almost a year ago now, but we still have amazing memories of our time spent here. The setting, in the Atlas Mountains is absolutely stunning, as is Domaine Malika itself, and we had the most incredible views from the large window in our 'standard' room. Paul, the manager/owner, was very helpful in organizing us a guide for a trek into the mountains, which was a thoroughly enjoyable day, followed by use of the on-site hamman and masseur.
There is very little alternative other than to dine at Domaine Malika, due to location, however, Paul was accommodating for my fussy eating tastes, ensuring the in-house chef knew my requirements each evening. The food was really lovely, made with fresh ingredients, and the log fire each evening was a really nice touch. Indeed, the entire building is fully of nice touches, and feels luxurious, warm, and welcoming. I think the best way to some up Domaine Malika is 'unique'. We hope to return!

Room Tip: Even the 'standard' rooms are superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milnthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We booked the last night of our holiday here to relax after our trek in the Atlas Mountains. We had been staying at the Kasbah du Toubkal where we had experienced the wonderful and very genuine hospitality of the Berbers. What a contrast we found at this place. When I booked the hotel I advised them that we would need a taxi to the airport to catch our evening flight to the UK . I assumed it would be OK for us to stay around the hotel until 5pm when took our taxi as long as we vacated our room in the morning. The manager said this probably wouldn't be possible as the whole hotel had been booked for a cookery course from 3 pm and he couldn't have us sitting around ! He also said it wouldn't be possible for us to have any lunch the next day either. We were a bit upset by his attitude but thought we would do a walk the next day and go to the hotel next door for lunch. In the event the next day it was raining big time !! The manager came to us at breakfast and said what are you going to do I can't have you staying here. In the event we decided we had no option but to get the taxi to the airport 2 hours earlier and sit there !!! In between we went in the pouring rain to the hotel next door for an extended lunch. Other little things niggled- there was no hair dryer in the room- I went downstairs to borrow one. When we went down to dinner someone actually went into our room and took it back without even asking if I had finished with it ! The hinge on the ward robe door was broken and quite dangerous - the guy who showed us round spotted this when he opened the door but just shrugged his shoulders. Food not great either my steak was overcooked and had to sent it back.
I still feel upset by the way we were treated and think the manager Paul should try a night at the Kasbah du Toukbal and experience genuine Berber hospitality at first hand.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VickyYates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomaineMalika, Manager at Domaine Malika, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Is it because of 4 days of hiking in the rain?
Is it because unfortunately, due to exclusive rental of Domaine Malika, we have not been able to keep these customers to enjoy the house until their departure, as we usually do?
We have done our best to bring some smiles to these guests ... without success.
We welcome our guests to offer them happiness and beautiful memories. This is the first negative review about our house since our opening ... disappointment for all of us ... but we going to continu to offer you the better ;)
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ouirgane
1.5 mi away
Domaine de la Roseraie
Domaine de la Roseraie
#2 of 2 in Ouirgane
332 reviews
5.4 mi away
Kasbah Tamadot
Kasbah Tamadot
#1 of 4 in Asni
773 reviews
11.3 mi away
Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Kasbah Bab Ourika
Kasbah Bab Ourika
#1 of 3 in Ourika
575 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chez Momo II
Chez Momo II
#3 of 4 in Asni
123 reviews
11.1 mi away
Maroc Lodge
Maroc Lodge
#1 of 1 in Amizmiz
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine Malika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine Malika

Property: Domaine Malika
Address: Km59, Marigha, Taroudant Road | Route d'Amizmiz par Asni, Imlil, Ouirgane 42152, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Ouirgane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ouirgane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Domaine Malika 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Domaine Malika is a luxury boutique hotel located moroccan atlas mountains boasting a wonderful setting in a valley in Ouirgane surrounded by pine forests and olive groves. This atlas mountains hotel offers a refined and friendly atmosphere where guests on holiday in Morocco will spend enjoyable moments in a relaxing and luxurious ambiance in a natural setting next to the Toubkal national park with views over the High Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Domaine Malika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing