We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good base for exploring Atlas Mountains”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Domaine Malika

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Domaine Malika
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ouirgane
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good base for exploring Atlas Mountains”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

My wife and I spent a lovely 3 days at Domaine Malika. Paul is an excellent host, and other reviews attest to his friendliness and enthusiasm. His mother welcomed us warmly on our arrival, though her English needed some help from my French! When we had settled in, we were given a tasty light lunch (110 MAD each), before Paul advised us on a short afternoon walk to nearby salt mines (more interesting and pretty than they sound).
We had dinner each night of our stay, and the food was interesting (putting things together I'd never have thought of) and delicious. It was no hardship to be catered for every evening, with the (fixed) menu being very different each evening, and a reasonable 280 MAD each.
One criticism for us was that the bed was a little hard - you can't cater for everyone in that respect, and after each day, we'd done enough walking to sleep pretty well anyway.
After our simple but satisfying breakfast, Paul advised us on a longer walk on our second day, giving us a map, though I'd recommend getting your own before you travel if you can - the scale of the map was such that even in our 5 hour round trip, we only covered a tiny square of the map! This meant it was difficult to get our bearings (and we did get a bit lost), but friendly locals put us straight on one occasion, and on the other, we just found a road and followed it till things became familiar.
It was a little cool for us to enjoy the swimming pool, but it is a lovely setting.
We went on to Kasbah Tamadot after our stay in Domaine Malika. It's not fair to compare them really, but there were certain respects in which the cheaper, smaller hotel won, principally (as you might expect) in terms of friendliness and helpfulness of staff, and the atmosphere resulting as guests were far more inclined to chat with one another, rather giving a convivial spirit, once again aided by Paul, who (as others have said) spoke to us like friends (which some people might not want - rest assured, the Branson employees aren't like that).
Overall, we had a really good stay and were very grateful to Paul and his team. If you are after a base to explore the Atlas Mountains, this would be a very good place to consider.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    46
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
76
334
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

What a refreshing place to stay, away from the busy souks and hustle of the Medina.
If you are after friendly, attentive service; a quite location to Rest & Relax and an amazing pool set within the foothills of the Atlas Mountains... this is the place!
The rooms and amenities are superb and the food is fantastic. It comes across limited in what is available but if you relay your specific dietary requirements, the kitchen can cook up some excellent alternatives.
Transport between airports or the Medina is acceptable and the view on the way is one not to be missed. The hotel staff have pre-mapped treks and walks for you also, no need for a guide so cost saving there.
I would go back to this place in a heartbeat... thanks Paul for a fantastic stay!

Room Tip: Go for the suite, its a little more but worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

We recently had the most wonderful experience at Domaine Malika. All the staff, especially the owner Paul, were extremely professional and friendly from the word go.
The staff seemed to have time for all the guests as individuals with a wonderful personal touch.
The food was outstanding (most of the produce is grown on site) and the room extremely comfortable, we will most certainly be returning in the future.
Our aim was to relax somewhere after the hustle of Marrakech, this place ticked all the boxes.
Peter & Lucy
London, UK

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pggviolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

My wife and I spent 6 nights at Domaine Malika towards the end of May. The hotel is in a lovely peaceful location with plenty of hiking options in addition to an attractive poolside for chilling. Paul is a very gregarious and charming host. Behind the scenes his mother compliments him to make an excellent team. Our room (No. 1) was large with a comfortable bed and excellent bathroom with a large sunken bath. Despite the heat outside we did not require the a/c. Breakfasts were simple but enjoyable, with an offering of an omelette in addition to bread, pancakes, toasts and yoghurt or fruit. We had our main meal every night at the hotel and were pleased with the quality. The style was of 'french home cooking' and most nights we ate by the pool. There was no choice, but the menu was posted in the morning and items could be changed at that time if required. Paul was happy to advise on walks (supplying maps) and arrange local guides. The hotel is still a 'work in progress'. The pool could do with heating and we understand this is being considered, and some of the poolside furniture needs upgrading to something more comfortable, which seems also to be in hand. A few more umbrella options for each of the sunbeds would also be helpful rather than having to move chairs frequently. However, these are small points and the overall feeling we had was that this was one of the best places in the area to stay at a competitive price. On top of this, Paul's personality is a great plus and we wish him every success for the future and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jxpontig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

This is a fantastic small hotel. Very friendly and helpful with great service. The food is really excellent. Beautiful surroundings and gardens where all the vegetables & salad are grown. The furniture is very "Elle Decoration", with vintage lighting and art deco furniture throughout the hotel. We were originally planning to stay at the Kashbah Tramadot, but were put off by the price of the rooms and chose this hotel instead which is close by. We went to the Kasbah for some meals. The food at Domaine Malika is better and it is a much smaller more intimate hotel. We made the right choice.

Room Tip: All are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimfromPednor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

I cannot rave enough about this hotel. On arriving at Domaine Malika (with an early check in agreed by owner Paul) we were greeted by Paul and his mother like old friends. We were shown around every inch of this gorgeous haven which has a cool stylish interior and a beautifully designed pool and garden. Our room was spacious and tastefully decorated with a huge en suite bath and strong shower. The view over the pool and garden (not to mention the surrounding foothills) was magnificent. We had lunch on our first day which was delicious fresh salmon, freshly baked bread and selection of salads; fish is a real rare treat in this part of the world. We spent sometime lounging near the pool which was incredibly relaxing before taking a walk to the nearby saltmines which Paul was able to provide a map and good directions for; this was only one of a number of activities on offer including other walks and a beautiful hammam. Upon our return another dip in the pool was called for accompanied by cold beers and wine by the pool. Dinner was commenced by aperitifs on the terrace where Paul took the time to come and speak to every guest. The meal was simply the last word-beetroot gazpacho soup, quail and berry tart all done in a French fusion style....amazing. The bed was comfy and very much needed after long walks in previous days in the Atlas. Breakfast the next morning was again excellent with Paul again taking time to see that we had everything we needed for our departure. He could not have been more accommodating or helpful. Our only regret is that we didn't stay any longer. An absolute belter of a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonUlster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

We spent 3 nights here. It was a perfect stay. The rooms are impeccable, the pool area is magnificent and all of the people at the hotel are very friendly. The chef, Fouzia, cooks amazing food. We ate there all 3 nights and enjoyed it immensely. I also had a hamman and massage treatment that I really enjoyed. Frankly, I cannot think of a single thing to improve! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel or to return for another stay. By the way, there are lots of wide open roads with nice scenery for those of you who are also runners!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tunali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ouirgane
1.5 mi away
Domaine de la Roseraie
Domaine de la Roseraie
#2 of 2 in Ouirgane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
5.4 mi away
Kasbah Tamadot
Kasbah Tamadot
#1 of 4 in Asni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
11.3 mi away
Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Chez Momo II
Chez Momo II
#3 of 4 in Asni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
11.1 mi away
Maroc Lodge
Maroc Lodge
#1 of 1 in Amizmiz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kasbah Africa
Kasbah Africa
#1 of 9 in Ouirgane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine Malika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine Malika

Property: Domaine Malika
Address: Km59, Marigha, Taroudant Road | Route d'Amizmiz par Asni, Imlil, Ouirgane 42152, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Ouirgane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ouirgane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Domaine Malika 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Domaine Malika is a luxury boutique hotel located moroccan atlas mountains boasting a wonderful setting in a valley in Ouirgane surrounded by pine forests and olive groves. This atlas mountains hotel offers a refined and friendly atmosphere where guests on holiday in Morocco will spend enjoyable moments in a relaxing and luxurious ambiance in a natural setting next to the Toubkal national park with views over the High Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Domaine Malika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing