We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyll in the Atlas Mountains” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Domaine Malika

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Domaine Malika
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ouirgane
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyll in the Atlas Mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed for the first time at Domaine Malika for three days before transferring to Marrakech and it was only the hefty deposit on the hotel booking in the capital that prevented us from changing our reservation and staying the whole week in what is, without exaggeration, a hidden paradise.
Paul and his mother provide a wonderful, personalised service, providing advice on hiking as well as a warm and welcoming environment at the hotel which makes you feel as though you really are in your own home! The staff is so friendly and enthusiastic and very accommodating of sun worshippers (moving tables around to facilitate a private breakfast outside).
Lovely spacious rooms (including great hot tub size baths perfect for relaxation after a day hiking) with private terraces with stairs down to a shared but sizeable pool that looks out across sun drenched orchards and snow-capped mountains - quite a contrast! If you're looking for a place to relax, it couldn't get much more idyllic but if you're into hiking (which my family and I are!) the local hikes up mountains, dried river beds, through local villages and to what appear to be abandoned salt mines provide an abundance of spectacular views as well as an insight into traditional Moroccan life (somewhat more authentic than the Berber museums in Marrakech).
A definite recommendation - the days we spent there were not long enough!
Tip: Use sun cream - we didn't reckon with the higher altitudes and manage to burn on the first day!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    45
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
75
320
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed in the suite and enjoyed the private sunbathing terrace with a terrific view of the orchard and mountains beyond. Our room was spacious, immaculate, and the internet worked just fine. Paul and his mother were very warm and welcoming, and the wait staff were excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed the hamman experience. We stayed two nights on our way to Essaouira and highly recommend the hotel for a scenic stop on your travels around Morocco.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AcadiaHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

At the margin, small hotels generally succeed because of the stamp of their owners. With Domaine Malika, there's is no doubt you are 'chez nous' with Paul and his mother. And all the better for that. Paul's enthusiasm shines through in his attention to detail, the sense of occasion he creates around meal times and in his fondness for jazz. The main domaine is new but has the feel of a 30s villa and is eclectically furnished with battered armchairs, deco sideboards and, dig this, 60s lamps. It has a lived-in sophistication, however, the right side of wackiness. And it just happens to be where the Ouirgane valley opens out. The views are 360 and splendid. We hit a poor patch with the weather but it didn't matter: one can mooch around happily for a day or so indoors. A great place, then, to escape Marrakech or to stop en route for Taroudant.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PJJYPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

If you read the reviews for Domaine Malika, you might be tempted to think it can't possibly be as good as all that. However. The food really is fantastic. The staff really are charming. The decor really is like out of a 1960s James Bond movie (and I mean that in a good way). And Paul and his mother are every bit as great as people say.

We were there when it was unexpectedly cold and we were thrilled to have an extra heater brought to the room before we even asked for it. This was our first experience with Paul and he could not have been more charming and accommodating.

What we also came to appreciate about him is how very well he treats his staff. He goes out of his way for the customer however not at the expense of treating his staff with respect. I believe that his respect for the staff is reflected in their respect for the customer. It's a very happy circle all the way around. (And, interestingly, it wasn't just his staff, everyone we met in the valley seemed to know Paul and have only good things to say about him.)

Domaine Malika reflects an aesthetic and approach to hospitality that makes you really happy to support. We would highly recommend it anytime of year.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VPracht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed for a night here, the rooms are amazing, the pool is immaculate and the whole property in general is just stunning. It is so relaxing being here and the staff are SO nice and helpful! the food is incredible also!

I really recommend staying here to anyone visiting the Atlas mountains!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We had the fortune to stay here for two nights and only wish we could have stayed longer. Paul and his mother are great hosts throughout your stay and willing to help with all requests. We stayed in a junior suite and the rooms are incredible, with views looking out onto the mountains and your own private garden with steps leading down to the pool area. The pool area looks is wonderful, with enough space to ensure that it would stil feel private even if the hotel was full. Its just a shame that the wetaher for us wasnt warm enough to sunbath here. Although i can imagine when the sun comes out it would make it even better.
The food served at the hotel is of top quality and highly recommended. We will certainly come back to this hotel for a long weekend.

Room Tip: The junior suites are worth the little bit extra expense
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank camerongray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed for three nights at this great spot. Great hosts, staff, food and amazing location. View from room onto snow capped mountains in the sun takes some beating. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ouirgane
1.6 mi away
Domaine de la Roseraie
Domaine de la Roseraie
#2 of 2 in Ouirgane
4.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
5.3 mi away
Kasbah Tamadot
Kasbah Tamadot
#1 of 4 in Asni
4.5 of 5 stars 665 reviews
11.2 mi away
Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Chez Momo II
Chez Momo II
#3 of 4 in Asni
4.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
20.7 mi away
Kasbah Bab Ourika
Kasbah Bab Ourika
#1 of 2 in Ourika
4.5 of 5 stars 501 reviews
11.1 mi away
Maroc Lodge
Maroc Lodge
#1 of 1 in Amizmiz
5.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine Malika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine Malika

Property: Domaine Malika
Address: Km59, Marigha, Taroudant Road | Route d'Amizmiz par Asni, Imlil, Ouirgane 42152, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Ouirgane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ouirgane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Domaine Malika is a luxury boutique hotel located moroccan atlas mountains boasting a wonderful setting in a valley in Ouirgane surrounded by pine forests and olive groves. This atlas mountains hotel offers a refined and friendly atmosphere where guests on holiday in Morocco will spend enjoyable moments in a relaxing and luxurious ambiance in a natural setting next to the Toubkal national park with views over the High Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Domaine Malika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing