We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Piece of Paradise in the Tree Tops”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
L'Oliveraie de Marigha
Ranked #2 of 9 Ouirgane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2012

My husband and I recently had the good fortune to find a piece of paradise in the tree tops at the L'Oliveraie de Marigha. Each person who visits this beautiful place has a private bungalow with a covered patio with views of distant mountains above the tree tops that surround the bungalows, The rooms themselves are comfortable and clean, the bedding lovely and cozy. We felt like royalty sourrounded by the beauty of nature, privacy, and fabulous service. Tarik, our waiter, is a jewel, so kind, so alert to any need we might have, always with a smile and warm greetings. The managers are also gems; both Gaetan and his lovely wife Celine make guests feel welcome and like one of the family. We had already made reservations to visit this amazing place again, but before we left, we made another reservation. Hopefully, these two planned trips will lead to many many more.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoroccoChristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 232 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2012

I can understand why people rate this place highly - the surrounding gardens and pool are lovely and the bungalows are nicely decorated - BUT there are very, very many things wrong with this place... After 3 days here we were very happy to be leaving...

1) The food is a joke, we found it very poor. Breakfast consisted of reheated criossants and yesterday's stale bread re-toasted. Lunch and dinner menus are over-priced basic food cooked badly and often not fresh. The are very few alternative restautants in the area and they are a pain to get to if you don't have a car.

2) Privacy is poor - There were constantly people wandering around your bungalow (gardeners, cleaners, repair men.. etc) - you had to close all the curtains and blinds to get some privacy...The bathroom windows were not fully opaque but had a no blinds, so people could cleary see into the bathroom from the outside.

3)Nothing worked properly - Hot water didn't work. Garden lighting didn't work [which meant we had to navigate from our bungalow in complete darkness] The bathroom door didn't close propely. The tolilet didn't flush properly. The electiricty kept dropping out.

4) The bungalow was poorly equiped and loacted too far from reception... There was no tea/coffee making factility, no phone, no TV, no radio, no mini-bar, no information booklets.. etc... This meant that everytime you needed something you had to walk 5 minutes to the reception/bar area and more often that not, there was nobody there to help

5) The most annoying of all was terrible service and lack of managment - Our complaints were meet with excuses.... Terrbile partonisng manager - We left with the distinct feeling that they were far more interested in margins than the satisfaction of thier guests. Having being subject to 3 days of faulty equipment and cold showers she tried to overcharge us!! Ridiculous

This a beautiful hotel, but its very basic, impractical, over-priced and badly managed.... It has far too many defficiiences to be a relaxing, luxury retreat. Don't waste your money

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank dermot59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We enjoyed this hotel immensely.

In spite of language problems the staff was very eager to assist guests in any way.

Accommodation was in small yet roomy detached bungalows in regional style. These were located in an attractive and well-maintained garden.

Our dining experiences there were more than satisfatory.

It is possible to take very enjoyable walks, with or without a guide.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank addanegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Booked 2 bungalows about 2 months before our arrival. When I emailed the night before our arrival to confirm, I received a response that they had made a mistake and didn't have the two bungalows available for our group of 4, but that they could recommend another good guest house or put us up in a suite bungalow. We chose the suite as we didn't have the time to change our plans.

Due to inclement weather and poor timing on my part, we arrived after dark in a downpour. The place was relatively easy to find, due to signs they have posted. We were greeted warmly by Gaetan, who was quite cheery despite the dreary weather. He is quite a charming fellow and was a good host to us.

Our suite was very clean and worked fine to accommodate us, the only downside was that we never had hot water. Not sure if this was due to the bad weather which occassionally caused the electricity to go out, but when we mentioned it at check out, Gaetan said we should have told him and he could have seen about fixing it. Nonetheless he did provide a discount for it, so we would surmise that hot water is usually standard.

We did take dinner which was good and breakfast was good as well. Unfortunately we did not get to enjoy thier facilities due to the weather, but overall our experience was good and we would recommend going and would ourselves enjoy a return visit during more pleasurable weather.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rj9friend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Don't know where to start. Gaetan the owner couldn't do enough to make our stay perfect. We travelled with another couple and we were the only four staying there. A very quiet time of year apparently, also extremely cold but more on that later! The rooms are detached dwellings with a spacious bedroom and bathroom, modern and clean. The bed was so comfy we wanted to bring it home with us! Each room had a small terrace with fantastic views but to be honest everywhere you look in the Atlas Mountains is a fantastic view! A word of warning on the weather, the Atlas mountains are cold in January, especially at night. You will need pyjamas, even if you don't usually bother with them. The air conditioning unit does provide heat in the winter months but there is no heating in the bathroom so showers will be very short and to the point really! We ate here both nights and a fire was lit for us in the restaurant and the choice was excellent. We were concerned that given we were the only ones there then they might be reluctant to provide a full menu but we could not have been more wrong. Guetan is very knowledgeable and will answer any question you have. He provided us with a lift up the mountain to a starting point for a walk and could not have been more accommodating. We have never known service like it. We would go back in an instance. Atlas Mountains are breathtaking. Well worth a visit and well worth staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliH_JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Lovely gardens and little bungalows in the olive groves. A great bar next to the pool and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Squaxor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This hotel is run by a young French couple - Gaetan and Celine. It is a fantastic oasis of peace, comfort and hospitality. Nothing is too much trouble for them or their wonderful staff. We had a great stay and will be returning when the weather is a little warmer (we went for New Year). The location is beyond description - dreamlike. Excellent in every respect.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank speakout13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ouirgane
1.6 mi away
Domaine de la Roseraie
Domaine de la Roseraie
#2 of 2 in Ouirgane
349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Domaine Malika
Domaine Malika
#1 of 2 in Ouirgane
514 reviews
5.2 mi away
Kasbah Tamadot
Kasbah Tamadot
#1 of 4 in Asni
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Chez Momo II
Chez Momo II
#3 of 4 in Asni
132 reviews
20.5 mi away
Kasbah Bab Ourika
Kasbah Bab Ourika
#1 of 3 in Ourika
625 reviews
2 mi away
Kasbah Africa
Kasbah Africa
#1 of 9 in Ouirgane
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Oliveraie de Marigha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Oliveraie de Marigha

Address: Km 58, Route de Taroudant, Ouirgane 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Ouirgane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ouirgane
Price Range: $70 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — L'Oliveraie de Marigha 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'oliveraie de Marigha located in the countryside, 60 km south of Marrakesh.The hotel restaurant serves traditional cuisine, which can be enjoyed in the Marigha’s dining room of outdoors. There is also a helipad at the hotel for VIP access.Guests of L'oliveraie De Marigha can enjoy hiking in the countryside around the hotel and enjoy trips into the Atlas Mountains and Toubkal National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your L'Oliveraie de Marigha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing