We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous Facility, I intend to become a regular”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cape Hatteras KOA Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I’ve stayed at a number of campgrounds in the US and Canada, and this is easily one of the best.

Pros
Location, location, location the campsites are steps from the beach and you can hear the ocean and feel the breeze even while sitting under your awning.

Last year’s hurricane = brand new facilities this year.
Spotless bathrooms and magnificent pool

Wonderful friendly staff.

Family style bathrooms provide a much better experience than typical bathhouse (much more private).

Cons

VERY poor internet access. Even when the campground was empty, performance was painfully slow and unusable at many times. I can’t imagine that it is at all effective when there are more users logged in. Plan on checking your e-mails elsewhere.

Family style bathrooms are more prone to be dirty (guest 1 takes a shower and gets water on the floor; guest 2 walks in with sand on their feet/shoes; guest 3 gets a muddy floor). This isn’t a comment on how well the staff cleans/maintains the restrooms, because they do a great job – it literally can get ugly after a couple of guests, so shower early and be guest 1.

If you want a fire, get ready to fork over some bucks. You have to rent a fire ring at $9+ per day. One night’s fire ring and one bunch of wood was over $17. That makes for some expensive s’mores.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank delawaredan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 270 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2012

Our second Memorial Day stay. The campground is doing an amazing job of rebuilding after devastation of Hurricane Irene last year. All new plumbing and electric. Staff continues to be helpful and upbeat. They promptly address any issues that pop up. New pool is HUGE with fun slides for all ages. Long lines at one of the bath houses but that may lessen once last bathhouse rebuilt. Lots of new cabins. Ask for F.D. he makes you feel like you are part of the family for minute one.

Room Tip: Try to stay a few sites away from dumpsters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank merrydb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

The location is excellent for anyone wanting quiet, rest and relaxation. The campground offers direct beachfront access with washrooms directly behind the dunes. Restrooms and showers were spotless and campground is well managed and maintained. The staff was great; attentive, courteous and helpful. Views are great in the morning and evening, two fishing piers are close as well as a cafe and DQ.

Room Tip: Storms can be violent and quick , I recommend a cottage over tenting. Buy your groceries at the Foo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank therman17404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Our family stayed here mid july. The front staff was verry friendly and helpful. He stayed in a cabin which was very clean, a/c worked great, and they had enough room for 2 adults and 2 kids. The restrooms and showers were clean but sandy from the beach but it's expected. It had a great playground area for kids as well. You are walking distance to the beach. Our family will deffinetly return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

The KOA Campground in Cape Hatteras was relatively decent.

The cabins are pretty small and fit around 3-4 people.

Most of the activities in the campground cost additional fees to use, but the free activities included going to the beach (Outer Banks), the pool, the playground, and the trampoline-like bounce pad.

This campground isn't for the "forest/wilderness" type camping, there isn't much trees or wilderness.

The Outer Banks was beautiful, clear water and very nice waves. At night/morning it is very nice to look out in the Outer Banks.

One really big negative point about this campground is that the staff (the people riding around in the golf carts with the yellow uniforms) are very rude.

The campground staff talk down on the guests. A nearby guest set up their tent on the wrong camp site (his camp site was just a couple yards from the his mistaken spot) and one of the staff told him to move his tent in a very rude attitude saying remarks like "Do you think I'm stupid? I know you put your tent on the wrong spot!", it was as if he were belittling the guest.

Another incident, was when my cousin and I got on the bounce pad and right when I was about to start bouncing, a staff member yelled at me to get off. I asked if we weren't allowed to use the bounce pad at the moment and he shouted back "Get off or do you want me to throw you off?". I told him we were just asking a question and why he was being so rude to us. As we were leaving to go for a night stroll, the same staff member followed us and threatened us that he can call the sheriff on us (threatening us for no reason). As my cousin tried to tell him that we didn't do anything, he shot back at him saying "Quiet! I don't need any of your wise lip!". Afterwards he asked us "Are you all Filipino?", as if implying some possible racism.

For the rest of the stay, whenever we saw that same staff member, he would glare at us.

Despite the bad staff, our stay at the campground was pretty fun.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

One side of the campground is on the Atlantic and one side is on Pamlico Sound. The views are stunning! The staff was friendly and helpful, even following us to our site and helping us get backed in and situated. The staff also patrols the campground all day in golf carts providing customer service and a helping hand where needed and all night making the campground safe. We had a wonderful time here enjoying the campground and the ocean. My only complaint is that it was a little pricey, otherwise I would have given 5 stars.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This was our first KOA experience and we just loved it. The staff were very friendly. the camp store had everything you could possibly need. The bathhouse had central air and was wonderful. the showers were seperate making it very convenient. We had a pavilion over our picnic table that came in very handy during a storm that blew in.
We have a popcamper and a tent and the site fit it all very nicely. biggest spot we have ever camped on. the wind did make it challenging for setting up the tent but overall we didnt have much of a problem. Next year we plan to be closer to the beach and dog walk. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank froglover5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rodanthe
23.8 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,647 reviews
22.9 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
23.5 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging
22.8 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
316 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Sound Motel
Sea Sound Motel
#1 of 1 in Rodanthe
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Hatteras KOA Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Hatteras KOA Resort

Address: 25099 NC Hwy 12, Rodanthe, NC 27968
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Rodanthe
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Rodanthe
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beachfront campground, Cape Hatteras KOA is a resort unlike any other! With the Atlantic Ocean on one side and the Pamlico sound on the other, your beach vacation is right here! Enjoy our zero entry pool perfect for the little ones with lap lanes for the swimmers, a new double water slide for the kids, and a hot tub area for relaxing. The Guest House is complete with store, poolside cafe, Internet area with computers, and lounging room with wi-fi. During the summer months, we have a full roster of events. Everything from pool games to basketball tournaments, tie-dying, live skits, live music at the pool, and family movie nights out under the stars. If you're a beach person, no problem! We have beach access directly in the campground! Rent a bike, kayak, or paddle board for even more fun! Have an RV? Try one of our popular full hook-up, 50 amp, patio sites. Bringing a tent? Check out our many tent sites. Don't want to bring your tent, but want to stay with us? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cape Hatteras Koa Hotel Rodanthe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing