We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View on the Sound”

Good Winds Seafood & Wine Bar
Ranked #4 of 12 Restaurants in Rodanthe
Price range: $7 - $24
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Good Winds Restaurant is located on the sound front in Rodanthe, NC and has something for everyone in the family for lunch or dinner and now Sunday brunch! One of the best spots on Hatteras Island to catch a sunset while enjoying a glass of wine or tantalizing appetizer. Take a look at our menu below and then come in for a visit and enjoy the breathtaking views paired with exceptionally great food.
Pennsylvania, USA
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great View on the Sound”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is pretty much the only real restaurant in the area unless you travel another 25 minutes either north or south, The food was average but not horrible, the service was slow but it didn't really matter because we were enjoying the sunset and celebrating my sons birthday. The special for the day was prime rib but we all had seafood. I had fish and chips with a seafood bisque. The have Landshark advertising pieces as soon as you walk in but don't try ordering one because they don't serve it (bummer). They gave my son a free piece of cheesecake for his birthday which was a nice and generous offer. We tipped our waitress generously for this gesture.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanyus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    98
    60
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stuart, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Local Seafood with a local sea view”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

First, it's not that hard to find as long as you realize that Good Winds is located above Kitty Hawk Kites.

Food was great. We went in the afternoon. I had the fish and chips while my wife had the fried shrimp platter. Now there are those that say you can fry anything but that doesn't mean that you can't fry badly. My fried grouper was perfect. The panco crust encased the fish rather than adhering to it, leaving the fish nice and flaky. The shrimp was fried with the tail removed, which is always a nice touch. And the coleslaw was well done with an extra zing of vinegar. Finally the fries were the lightly seasoned ones that seem to be the trend along the OBX. With a nice wine and beer list we settled on a North Carolina beer and a NC wine.

What really made this place a great stop was the scenery. Your at what really should be the 3rd floor. We sat outside watching the kite boarders and wind surfers. We also had the extra added bonus of "over-hearing" a lesson. We both thought, kite boarding may be fun to try next year. My advice to Kitty Hawk Kite, would be to have a little about the kite boarding classes on the menus. All in all we had a nice relaxing afternoon after a long drive.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Part-Time_Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOUNT LAUREL
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly and Fabulous!”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Our realtor recommended this restaurant, and it definitely gets 5 stars! The staff were all so friendly and attentive, and informative. We were very pleased with our salads and meals. The grilled crab cakes were delicious! And of course the view. Next time we'll go earlier to see the kite boarders, or later for the sunset. It was a great dining experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara-Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Relaxing atmosphere”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful views of the sound while dining. Food well presented and interesting flavors. Very accommodating and friendly staff. The restaurant was a bit difficult to find as there was no sign along the road, but well worth the search. Would definitely recommend the restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank msfwvu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food, great view!”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Went here with friends while in Salvo for the week. The meals we all had were delicious. The shrimp basket was good, the shrimp, spinach & pasta was good. Great seafood bisque soup. Wait staff were very friendly. The views are fabulous. Great view of the wind surfers on the sound. Will definitely go again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bubby2six
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Good Winds Seafood & Wine Bar also viewed

 
Rodanthe, Outer Banks
 
Rodanthe, Outer Banks
Waves, Hatteras Island
 

Been to Good Winds Seafood & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing