We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good location and house”

Review of Ocean HI

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Rodanthe, Outer Banks, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Poor - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
3xreed
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location and house”
Reviewed May 12, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The house was in a good location. It was clean and received new furniture the day we arrived. The family enjoyed the entire house to include the game room which we played pool many nights. We also enjoyed the speakers throughout the house which we played music constantly.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn N
1 review
“Dirty floors and stained furniture. Pictures are from when cottage was new.”
Reviewed December 7, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Rented with family. Carpets stained and dirty. Furniture in same condition. Wonderful location, Called surf or sound staff and said I hope these reviews are not correct about mold and dirtiness. Answer was its not really black mold its just mildew from ocean high humidity. I understand that my family lives in Buxton.
But, to pay top dollar for a vacation home and have to put extra sheets on the furniture to sit on them. I put my review with surforsound but I never heard back from them. Rent from Midgette Realty, I never had to make one phone call about any cottage I have rented in 30 plus years.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thomasbru...
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Worn, moldy and in disrepair beach house”
Reviewed July 11, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We recently stayed in the property "Ocean HI - #712" in July 2017.

We were very disappointed with our rental. We felt in general the property was worn, moldy and in disrepair and that the pictures on the website were not representative of the property's current condition. We feel we did not get good value for the money that we spent on the rental. The location was great, however, we basically feel ripped off.

•No bed linens on Master Bed room bed. We did not find out until after the office was closed!
•Most plastic outdoor furniture dangerously cracked (due to weather exposure) Could not use most chairs and loungers
•Master bedroom fan unbalanced and makes noise
•General soil and disrepair.
•2 of us spent 3 hrs cleaning prior to living in.
•Black soil on white railings.
•Dust/dirt on dressers.
•Most knobs gone from twin bedroom dresser.
•Many drawers in many dressers not useable.
•Soil in kitchen
•Heavy dust on light fixtures
•Heavy dust on all decorative plastic flowers
•General moldy smell in house
•Very moldy smell in kitchen pantry closet (I wiped this black mold down with disinfectant wipes but it still smells ... like the mold that needs remediation!)
•Top floor powder room toilet NOT even brushed. Two soiled areas (but had "sanitized" ribbon on it!)
•Wet carpet near kitchen pantry
•Hole / leak in kitchen ceiling
•Outside trash cans completely full from previous guests
•The Surf or Sound instructions for the trash collection are vague. The "road" is highway 12, not the road in front of the house. It is half a mile away! The instructions do not say that. We figured it out while driving on highway 12. This could easily cause confusion.
•Trash on grass in front of house
• Many light bulbs out:

General Disrepair:
•Signs of Leaks
•Cracks
•Outside shower extremely rusted
•Most screens torn with holes
•The basketball hoop is not useable
•I spent an hour cleaning out oil and drippings from the gas grill to get it working
•Really worn & stained carpet on top floor
•A board had fallen off the deck
•Mini blinds broken in pyramid bunk bedroom
•A/C zone for top floor could not cool adequately on day # 6. The repair man stated he remembered the house from last year. Bad expansion valve. Really needs a new indoor unit. Was not repaired by owner. Unit cannot cool adequately on warm days. This was a problem that was known and not fixed!
•Also the condensate drain is improperly installed and could cause damage to whatever is in the master bedroom closet, like your clothes.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernie596...
petersburg, ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, house could use some work”
Reviewed September 13, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

First off, house was in the perfect location and had many nice amenities. However, pictures must have been taken when house was new. The house is minimally cleaned after each stay. Three of us spent 1.5 hours to clean after we arrived, Dust on TV was inch thick. Baseboards, doors, lampshades, behind dresser and bed had dust that was accumulated for possibly a year or more. Dishes dirty, microwave dirty, table Dirty. Everything needed wiped down. Contacted management company and they did send someone out to help. Also had an issue with main TV that was never fixed during our week stay though we made management aware of problem on day 2. Also grill was filthy and we had to clean. Just be prepared, if renting, what to expect. We did rebook for next year. Wouldn't recommend to anyone with allergies.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Not clean
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing