We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricey, but gorgeous” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waves Village Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rodanthe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waves Village Resort
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pricey, but gorgeous”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We chose to stay at Waves Village because it was waterfront, pet-friendly, and did online reservations for stays shorter than 1 week. We stayed in the Life is Good unit, and were thrilled to discover that it looks exactly as it does in the pictures. The furniture and furnishings were beautiful, and the view couldn't be beat. We had never been to Rodanthe before, but found it to be the perfect place for a nice, quiet getaway. A few downsides: the hot tub had not been heated up before our arrival, and it took about 24 hours to heat, so we weren't able to use it upon arrival (and we were only staying 3 nights, so that was very disappointing). Also, the elevator is VERY slow; and actually broke down completely on the day we were checking out. My mother is handicapped and my brother has severe asthma, so that was another reason we had chosen Waves- we could have a room with a view and not have to worry about them having to navigate the stairs. This was a major inconvenience when we were checking out as my husband and I had to schlep all of our belongings down three flights of stairs. Finally, on our last morning (checkout was advertised as 10am) at 9AM, while we were having breakfast the housekeeper pounded on our door, "just to see" if we were ready to leave yet. This really put a sour note on the end of our vacation- we thought that the 10am checkout was a bit excessive as it was, and then we felt rushed as we were trying to pack up and get out (the housekeeper stood outside the door watching as my husband and I made countless trips up and down the stairs due to the broken elevator). For the hefty price tag, an earlier check in and later check out would have been appreciated. All that said, though, it was a really nice destination, and we would probably stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobinH81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WavesVillage, Public Relations Manager at Waves Village Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the views and your overall stay at the resort. We have read your concerns about the elevator and the cleaners. We want to apologize for these inconveniences and assure you that we have addressed these concerns with our cleaners and the elevator has since been maintenanced for better service in the future. We have also noted the hot tub issue and are working to come up with better solutions for those who stay at our resort. We hope to see you at Waves Village again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    7
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
22
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Based on the pictures of the website and the location, it's a perfect place to stay at Rodanthe. And I'd have to say the property does look like what you see on the pictures. But...why did I give this "Resort" an average rating? It's because I'm quite put off by what they provide as in all the basics.

For 8 days of rental, they only provide you with 1 roll of toilet paper? No soap, no hair dryer, no extra garbage bags. For the premium price they charge, these items are very basic! When I asked for extra garbage bags and toilet paper, they said this is the guests responsibility to get their own supplies and wouldn't bring me an extra one. C'mon! I'm not a newbie in vacation properties here. These basic items are always provided in plenty for guests. You just can't be that cheap when you're charging premium! So, travellers, if you want to stay there, don't forget to buy extra toilet paper, garbage bags, soap, shampoo and hair dryer!

Maybe management doesn't care about garbage all over the floor. For hygiene's sake, when your guests need just ONE extra garbage bag, just give it to them!!!

Room Tip: If you want to stay there, don't forget to buy extra toilet paper, garbage bags, soap, shampoo a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank muncherama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WavesVillage, Public Relations Manager at Waves Village Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Hello,

We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the basics provided to you at the condo you stayed in. In most cases extra garbage bags and dish soap are provided under the sink in our condos. We have spoken to our cleaning crew to make sure these stay stocked up. Also, we usually provide at least one full roll of toilet paper in each bathroom. We apologize if your bathrooms did not come stocked up. Unfortunately, we do not provide soap, shampoo or hair dryers in our condos. We have noted your concerns here and apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you. Typically our guests who stay in our condos treat the condos much like they would when they stay in their own private beach house. We try very hard to communicate this during the time of booking and we are sorry if this was not communicated with you before you arrived. We completely understand that this was a miscommunication and we hope you stay with us again in the future despite your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Nights in Rodanthe unit (top floor, middle unit) on our anniversary weekend. I wish we could have moved in permanently! It was VERY clean and what a view! It was beautifully decorated and so comfortable. The kitchen has great appliances, the bathrooms have great showers and the view of the sound was amazing. The master bedroom (with memory foam mattress) has access to the soundfront deck with hot tub and great veiws! The employees at Kitty Hawk Kites next door were so friendly and helpful. I don't see how this trip could have been any better. This was our second stay and we cannot wait to return!!!

Room Tip: The units in the middle have the best sound views from the master bedroom with access to the soundfr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STACEY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ridge, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

This is our second stay in the Life is Good unit at Waves Village and we've loved every day of our vacation! The sunsets are spectacular and watching the kiteboarders is thrilling. My boyfriend had a blast with Mike during his kiteboarding lesson earlier this week! Thanks, Mike!

The condo is beautifully appointed - the bedrooms are spacious and comfortable - everything was immaculate when we arrived. I loved being able to cook dinner while watching the sunsets. The gas grill and the hot tub on the balcony were used often - so much fun! The pool is gorgeous - a great respite from the sun!

Although it's an easy walk to the beach, we chose to hop in the car and drive six miles south to the public beach. Each day there were no more than five or six people there - so, essentially we had the beach to ourselves. What a treat!

We cooked most of the time - try Austin's Seafood Market (a mile or two south of Waves) for wonderful, fresh seafood. If you don't feel like cooking, walk over to Good Winds - fabulous food, great service and of course, the sunsets. (Their crab cakes are THE BEST!)

We've had a wonderful, relaxing week in the Life is Good condo - we'll be back next year!

Room Tip: The Life is Good condo is on the third floor, north side of the building. The balcony on this unit l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Va.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We have always stayed in oceanfront houses, but we only had 3 in our family this year, so the Villages in Waves were perfect. Nice condo, well appointed, and superb interior decorating. Colored tiles in bathrooms were amazing. Loved the sound side. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank appetizergal73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swedesboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed at Waves Village Resort from May 11-18th. This is our 3rd time at this resort and 2nd time in the same unit - Surf Shack - middle unit on 2nd floor.Previous to this visit, we booked directly with Waves Village. This year, we needed to book through a rental company - First Flight Rentals.

We checked in at the Kitty Hawk Kite store right next door to the condo. The Assistant Manager showed us to our unit. He could not get the key to open the doors. After about 10 minutes, he finallly went and got the Manager who got the door opened.

Unit is well appointed with spectacular views of the sound. There is a hot tub
There is a large pool right outside. However, we were told the pool was opened and was not opened at all during our visit. They were "waiting for an inspection" to take place. This was one of the reasons we liked this resort was for the pool. We noticed quite a bit of sand on the floor and found a broom to sweep it up. I used a paper towel on one of the spots on the floor and after one swipe, it was black. We swept up 2 full dustpans full of sand that were all over the floor of the living area. Between sweeping with a broom, then vacuuming, we finally felt the floor wasn't full of sand. However, I don't plan to spend well over an hour cleaning a condo that is supposed to be cleaned prior to arrival. One of the lights in the bedroom was burnt out and almost all of the lamps in the dining chandelier were burnt out. We told the assistant manager about this and he said he would bring replacements - but we never received them. The toilet seat in the master bathroom was also cracked through (ouch). Also told the assistant manager about this - but never saw him again. The frying pans were horrible. They were so scratched and half of the finish was peeling off - we were afraid to use them. Some of the dishes that were in the cabinets were definitely not clean. There were only a few small bowls provided - nothing large enough to even make a salad. We enjoy cooking on vacation, but ate out a lot this time since there weren't enough pans to cook with. There is a gas grill on the deck, but that would have taken another hour or two of cleaning to make it usable.

The past two times we rented at this resort - everything was spotless and the units were well-equipped and maintained. When we had a minor problem with the unit, the manager was there right away to fix it. I don't think the new management company checks these units periodically for wear and tear and cleanliness. I sent an email to them about all of our problems and received no response. That just affirms the fact that they really don't care about their customers. I really didn't expect any kind of compensation, just would have appreciated an acknowledgement of my email.

These condos are in a great location - close to a lot of restaurants, right on the sound, short walk to the beach and spectacular sunsets. There is so much potential - but, obviously, poor management. We were so disappointed this time that I doubt that we will return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank JAD48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle pa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

I will start with the positive then move to reality of this rental. The views are spetacular and the finishes are beautiful. It's about 3 blocks to beach. Go to rodanthe pier for chair drop off parking. Nice wide beaches. We are staying week of 6/9/2012. Now reality. When we arrived, the previous tenants had left disgustung Item under sink, dishes in washer were dirty, and coffee maker was dirty. I swept floor then went on to mop it but mop in unit was not usable and no vacuum was provided. IMHO the owner/realty company is penny wise and pound foolish. The kitchen is not fully equipped. We have 6 forks, 2 serving bowls. The first day when i went to make breakfast the frying pans were not usable - burnt and scaped up to unhealthy level. it took a day to have new ones delivered by the owner and I had to have cleaning crew return to mop floor. The wood blinds are dusty. When I suggested they need to clean better I was told owner did not authorize spring cleaning(#foolish) . bedroom fan not working- was told they need to get maintenance and were aware. Well do it while we r here. If only owner would fully equip the kitchen, have spring cleaning done and address items in this review, this would be a top destination. Day 2 go to make dinner and can opener does not work, freezer stuck shut, and hot tub not heating. So on my 5th call to maintenance, they tell me to flip hot tub breaker- works great. Can opener is delivered with new pans. Need to have them look at freezer but in interim my husband manages to get it open. The run down abandoned motel next door and dilapidated water park are eye sores and should be removed. A touch of landscaping around building would really spruce area up. I get that the people before are part of issue but that is cleaning crew comes in to fix all that. The crew for this resort should be fired. Also it would have been nice if the owner would leave instructions on hot tub, etc in the unit and would have offered apology or some minor compensation for our trouble. I love the finishes in the place and would love to come back to this location with my extended family if I felt confident the owner would address these issues. We love to cook gourmet meals on vacation and it is impossible with this kitchen. With less than $50 on kitchen supplies and repairs this place would be great. Now it is just mediocre.

Room Tip: Look everything over when u arrive and get list to mgr to resolve any issues so it gets fixed while...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank P W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rodanthe
23.0 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
24.4 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
23.4 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
22.1 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 6 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
22.1 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves Village Resort

Property: Waves Village Resort
Address: 24502 Highway 12, Rodanthe, NC 27968
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Rodanthe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Rodanthe
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Waves Village Hotel Rodanthe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing