We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chicamacomico Life-Saving Station Historic Site & Museum
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Unexpected History Lesson

A waitress at the Cafe Pamlico in Hatteras insisted this was a must see attraction. She was so... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
P7455EPthomasw
,
Matthews, North Carolina
via mobile
Very interesting

Honestly, I wasn’t expecting too much, but it turned out to be one of my favorite stops. There’s a... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Tim R
,
Hurricane, West Virginia
Read all 359 reviews
  
Reviews (359)
Filter reviews
358 results
Traveler rating
289
67
0
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
289
67
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coast guard self guided tour several buildings the outer banks their lives hatteras island these men informative video fascinating history gift shop early days on display observation tower american history well worth the stop main building original station
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 358 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A waitress at the Cafe Pamlico in Hatteras insisted this was a must see attraction. She was so right. The volunteer staff is enthusiastic and knowledgeable. The history of the lifesaving service is little-known but fascinating and once vital to the area. There were multiple well maintained out buildings with exhibits and an overview movie. It is great for kids and adults. You could possibly see everything in less than an hour but will be tempted to stay longer. The members of the lifesaving service were true hero’s and this attraction does a great job detailing that. I recommend putting it on your must see list.

Thank P7455EPthomasw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Honestly, I wasn’t expecting too much, but it turned out to be one of my favorite stops. There’s a $8 fee but worth it. The life saving stations were the precursor to the Coast Gaurd. You can watch an about 30 minute film that’s explains the station. Tough work. Exhibits were good as were the station it’s self. Has a gift shop. Very pleasant people and knowledgeable. You can tell they love their work and the station

Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our visitation was limited due to the flooding from hurricane Michael but it was so worth it. The history of the lifesaving stations is a rich one and the stories are very interesting. I will be going back to see the rest of the station next year.

Thank RandJAsheville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018

We heard this was a great place to visit, and it proved to be a wealth of information. Very interesting story, and exhibits.

Thank Kathryn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018

This was a very nice place to go to see some of the history of the Life Saving crews that were part of the Outer Banks history. We started out with a nicely done video that gave the background to what would later become the Coast Guard. I would suggest going on a Thursday when they do a demonstration. We missed this on Saturday, but wish I had a change to see it. Geared for older children & teens as well as adults. Didn't take long to do the whole site - approximately 1 - 1.5 hours.

Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2018 via mobile

While there are many lighthouses one can visit, the number of restored life-saving stations is limited. This is a prime example of one which is first rate. The thought of surfmen walking the shore in all kinds of weather looking for boats in distress doesn’t cross many minds in the day of Coast Guard swift boats and helicopters. But seeing long boats carried across the sand and rescue gear fired from shore makes their heroism clear. Not only can you see their work environment and gear at this site, demonstrations of their prowess are regularly scheduled during the summer. As you travel on the highway through the dunes be sure to stop here.

1  Thank Larry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2018 via mobile

We did not know about life saving stations, which later became the Coast Guard so this place was quite interesting. Very knowledgeable people work there.

Thank claudiaaI2246HP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2018 via mobile

Rainy day and looking for something indoors. We spotted a sign for a museum and we pulled in. This was such a pleasant surprise. Although we had to walk through ankle deep water because it had been raining all week it was worth it! The coast guard story and the buildings where they lived and rescued ships that were wrecked along the shore was well done. We enjoyed this very much.

Thank Erica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018

While this is a great look back for the history minded, it is not going to keep young kids interested. There is a 20-30 minute video that was interesting for what I saw of it. We had to pass on the life saving demo they were doing that day too, due mostly to the kids and heat, but the people were very friendly as they prepped for it. The staff is very knowledgeable. It does get hot, so going on a cooler day will help you enjoy it more, but there is outside travel between buildings, so an umbrella is a must for a rainy day activity.

1  Thank Netlava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2018 via mobile

We arrived at the station and were immediately greeted before stepping on the porch by Elaine, a super friendly and knowledgeable volunteer. Admission is $8 for adults, $7 for students and seniors, and $6 for children. The family pass is good for 5 individuals and is $25. Elaine was very detailed in explaining the history behind the name and the layout of the grounds. The self-guided tour begins and takes you back to a time when shipping was the primary means of transportation in our country and the men who went down to sea in boats had somebody they could depend on. The museum demonstrates life of the surfmen, who were members of the livesaving service, the forerunner of the modern day US Coast Guard. The boathouse is the original building used, and houses the last remaining surfboat used during the livesaving times. The tour takes you through the actual station, keeper residence, boat and beach apparatus storage rooms, the cook houses, and the museum, where you can climb a ladder to the top of the watch house and search for ships in trouble on the ocean. Displayed and demonstrated live action rescue drill (every Thursday in the summer at 2pm), which depicted how hapless survivors of shipwrecks were pulled to safety, despite being hundreds of yards from dry land. The drill showed precisely what the brave and selfless rescuers went through in weather ranging from bright sunny days to nights filled with the dangers presented by storms and hurricanes. The life station itself is 3 floors and is somewhat cramped and requires some step and ladder climbing, but it is well worth it! The station takes you back to a time when brave men fearlessly and devotedly who responded to the call for help in all times and in all weather conditions, and lived at the motto "you have to go out, you don't have to come back."

Thank Chrisb1342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews