We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot for family water sports!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rodanthe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rodanthe Watersports and Campground
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
163 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great spot for family water sports!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

We took our kids here to rent wave runners while staying in Nags Head. It was a bit of a drive but well worth it. Very reasonably priced and the owner is extremely friendly and accommodating. I highly recommend this place. Will return here next year!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ChgoJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    20
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
11
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perkasie, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

First off, I spent about a solid month or so looking for a bad review on this place and all I found was that it was small and there is a very small graveyard next to two sites. When we pulled in, first impression was that I confirmed that it was small but it had a comfortable environment to it.
The good:
-sites big enough for a tent or two or a smaller RV/pop up.
-fairly clean bathrooms
-extremely friendly and outgoing staff and owner.
-the resident ducks Donald, Hewy, Dewy, and Lewy patrolling the small shore along the sound waters on the campground
-calm and right up close to the water
-hot showers
-watersports rental equipment at a good price (discounted for anybody staying at the campground)
the bad:
-the high winds sometimes makes bonfires a bit difficult
-bring bug spray and anything to keep the bugs away
overall?
Being broke college students, the affordable pricing was attractive with an experience that didn't disappoint at all. I go camping a good bit and this place is quite competitive with the bigger name campgrounds. It may not have as many luxuries as them but it still provides a positive experience with one of the friendliest staff a campground could have. if you plan on stocking up on food though, stop in Nags Head before heading down to Rodanthe since it's a little drive to get to the nearest Food Lion or other grocery store.

Room Tip: Book for a waterfront site rather than any other site
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elliott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

This sound-side campground has about 30 sites, which can accommodate tents, trailers and small motorhomes. They also rent watersports stuff (at a discount to campers), including kiteboards, jet skis, sailboats, surfboards and beach equipment.

Some of the sites directly face the sound; others are set back from the water or border a small cemetery (part of the neighboring property). An unfortunate few sites are close to the road and/or dumpsters, but most of those "bad" sites have a couple of trees for shade (the rest of the sites don't offer much relief from the heat).

All sites are flat, which is good for camping, but tiny, about three car lengths deep and 2-3 cars wide. Each site has its own (cold) water faucet, electric hookup, and a picnic table. Our site wasn't very clean: small litter and cigarette butts were visible. Also, what grass could grow was shin high.

I'd heard flying insects were problematic in the campground and thoughout the island, but they weren't bad on my trip. Then again, we had 20-mph sustained winds and gusts up to 30/35. Bring bug spray.

About 8 sites have fire pits - get one of those if you can. Otherwise, bring your own grill or eat at one of the nearby restaurants (one is next door; a few more are within walking distance). And there are places to get bags of ice, too.

Speaking of walking, it's about a 10-minute walk to the Atlantic Ocean and another 5-10 to a massive fishing pier. The whole beach appeared to be public in this area. Not many shells, seafoam, weeds or litter on the beach, which makes it excellent. There are, however, lots of mostly harmless jellyfish (one did sting me) and the occasional shark, though those animals obviously are not the campground's fault :-)

If you want to avoid the aquatic wildlife, rent some of the campground's watersports equipment (mentioned above) and play in the sound. There also was a small swimming area and an even smaller "beach." Both were empty.

When you're done in the water, the campground offers private outdoor showers to clean off the sand. There are indoor hot showers and regular toilet stalls, all of which are small and showing their age, but are reasonably clean.

Prices here were about the same as other locally-run campgrounds (the KOA nearby is much more expensive, but offers a pool and many other amenities). I was a little miffed to learn of a 3-night minimum required during the July 4 holiday weekend. It's still WAY cheaper than one night in a hotel or a weekend at the big-name campgrounds.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anawas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

OK that's two words...but you get what I mean...

You need good tent pegs as the wind off the Pamlico sound is very strong and teh tent takes a beating...

The GOOD - Clean Bathrooms
The BAD - Very Cramped...felt like we were camping with next doors campers and we could here everyting they said
The UGLY - They have one a camping space that is set RIGHT NEXT TO THE DUMPSTER and ROAD Hope you don't get that one :(

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachlvr57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

Camping literally by a body of water, but not the beach. The beach is about a quarter mile the other way, but easy to walk. Camp area is clean, there are hot showers, and friendly staff. The downside is that everyone is real close to one another. Also, if someone poops in their RV, it stinks up the entire campground with sewage. That's what happens when you convert a parking lot into a campsite though. However, you can't complain about the price for the location.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Incorporeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

So me and my girl friend made plans for the fourth to go camping. When we got here the first thing we wanted to do was shower. When we showered in both showers ( men room and womans room) there was no hot water in the mens shower there was dead bugs and very un clean. The parking is tight we had to make a 20great point turn to get my gfs edge out of the hole we had to park in. The first night was breezy nothing to bad the next night it was so windy my tent swayed every which way all night causing us to get no sleep. Needless to say we will not be returning!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdmtom06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinity, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

My husband and I camped here for 3 nights and wished we could have stayed longer! The sunsets were beautiful and our tent site was right next to the water. The owner was really nice and helpful. We loved the out door showers and will be going back again and hopefully we can stay longer.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NCSunflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rodanthe
23.1 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
24.1 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
23.2 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
22.5 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
22.4 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 6 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodanthe Watersports and Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodanthe Watersports and Campground

Property: Rodanthe Watersports and Campground
Address: 24170 Highway 12, Hatteras Island, Rodanthe, NC 27968
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Rodanthe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Rodanthe
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Rodanthe Watersports And Campground Hotel Rodanthe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing