We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Rocky Mount
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Rocky Mount
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Bathroom noticeably dirty.
Toilet questionably stained.
Bathroom sink drains extremely slow.
Dirty floors - crumbs, dust, etc.
Found an empty water bottle under my bed - NOT from us. I didn't even have the stomach to look under the other bed.
Worst of all - for $160/night - NO continental breakfast.
The only good thing I can say is they have friendly customer service.
We only stayed at this hotel because the one we wanted was booked and we are here because of a death in the family. Not something we needed to add onto the stress.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnlyTryingToHelp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Rocky Mount, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and bringing these issues to my attention. This is not the standard we strive for at our hotel, I apologize for all inconveniences you encountered and for any added stress they may have caused.
Thank you for staying with us and for your loyalty to Hilton family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,077)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

963 - 969 of 1,077 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed for three nights. Front desk staff were pleasant and helpful. Room was clean except the short bed spreads were stained. Very good flat screen TV with HD. In-room cooling unit was noisy. No complimentary breakfast which was a disappointment especially considering the moderately high price. Staff responded promptly to request for coffee that was not left in the room by cleaning staff. Need lamps on both sides of bed for two to be able to read in bed. Would be nice to have an additional easy chair so one person of a couple doesn't have to sit on the bed to watch TV.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CvilleExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Rocky Mount, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to make so many positive points in your review, I apologize for any inconveniences you experienced while at our hotel.
Thank you for staying with us and for your loyalty to our Hilton family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stopped here on our way to the Outer Banks. We recieved a warm welcome from the staff and were made to feel at home even though we arrived at 11:00 PM at night. There were even hot cookies at that time of night. Our room was comfortable and cheery. We went to Texas Steakhouse in the morning and had a great breakfast for a resonable price. We would certainly stop at this hotel the next time we are in Rocky Mount.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klrw536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Rocky Mount, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and bringing these issues to my attention. This is not the standard we strive for at our hotel, I apologize for all inconveniences you encountered and for any added stress they may have caused.
Thank you for staying with us and for your loyalty to Hilton family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This trip was a spur of the moment type trip so we had no hotel arrangements or anything. We just got on the road and headed to NC to see my grandad. We stopp off at the exit where we could see the hotel from the highway. My aunt went in and was able to get us a room for the night for a really good price which was a plus. The hotel itself was very nice but there were a few things I thought would be standard at a hotel like the doubletree. Such as, coffe, tea, water, soda in the lobby along with like cookies or popcorn or something. They had none of this not even like a continental breakfast. However we did go to the restaraunt that was attached and had breakfast....and let me say that that was the worst breakfast i had ever had in the country. The food was cold and not cooked well, the waitress was not the nicest and it was just all around disappointing.
The room was nice but please note the pictures attached. I usually like styaing at the doubletree but this one in rockt mount I dont see me staying at again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tazlady98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Rocky Mount, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and bringing these issues to my attention. This is not the standard we strive for at our hotel, I apologize for all inconveniences you encountered and for any added stress they may have caused.
Thank you for staying with us and for your loyalty to Hilton family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Our family stopped here on our way from NJ to SC. The hotel was clean and nice. The room was a little small and had 2 doubles that make it tough for a couple to share a bed, but otherwise fine. The pool was nice. We'll probably return as we travel for years to come but nothing more than just an overnight stop.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michellef16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Thank you for your positive feedback and comments. I appreciate the fact that you chose our hotel as I know you have many choices when travelling through to your final destination. Have an Excellent day and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed 2 days for business trip and while rooms were nice, pool actually heated, nice whirlpool and Texas Steakhouse has good food, the hotel is badly in need of some cosmetic help. Peeling wallpaper in hallways, dirty grout in elevator, doors that need cleaned due to dirt buildup on them. Not typical Doubletree standards. Also checked in on Sunday night and only 1 front desk person so took awhile to check in even with Hilton Honors packet.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for rooms not on highway/road. Alot quieter on pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reliabilityguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Rocky Mount, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and bringing these issues to my attention. This is not the standard we strive for at our hotel, I apologize for all inconveniences you encountered and for any added stress they may have caused.
Thank you for staying with us and for your loyalty to Hilton family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

For the past 5 years my family and I have stayed at the Rocky Mount, NC Double Tree Hotel by Hilton. We travel from CT to Surfside Beach, SC and this hotel is a great stopping point for us rather than traveling straight through. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, the staff is very friendly and welcoming and they have a great pool for everyone to relax in after a long days travel. As a HHonor reward member we are welcomed with a gift bag full of goodies and bottled water and warm cookies are given on arrival (my kids favorite part of this stop). The restaraunt attached has decent food so we usually eat dinner and breakfast right there. We will continue to make this our annual overnight spot on the way to SC.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emiesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Rocky Mount, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017

Thank you so much for your positive feedback about your entire experience at our hotel. The details of your stay is very helpful and I will be sharing it with the entire staff. Please stop in and stay with us if you are ever back in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rocky Mount hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Rocky Mount I-95 @ US 64
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn - Rocky Mount
Hampton Inn - Rocky Mount
#1 of 29 in Rocky Mount
867 reviews
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Rocky Mount
Candlewood Suites Rocky Mount
#4 of 29 in Rocky Mount
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rocky Mount
0 mi away
Courtyard Rocky Mount
Courtyard Rocky Mount
#7 of 29 in Rocky Mount
273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Rocky Mount
Comfort Inn Rocky Mount
#9 of 29 in Rocky Mount
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Rocky Mount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Rocky Mount

Address: 651 N. Winstead Ave, Us 64 & I95, Rocky Mount, NC 27804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Rocky Mount
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Rocky Mount
Price Range: $101 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Rocky Mount 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city ranked as the most charitable city in North Carolina, The DoubleTree By Hilton is the number 1 choice for a Full-Service Excellent Experience! The City of Rocky Mount is the halfway point from New York to Miami, and our beautiful modern hotel is conveniently just minutes from I-95. Our dedicated team of Excellent Service providers will greet you with a smile and our famous warm chocolate chip cookies! Complimentary fast internet access, spacious guestrooms, outdoor heated pool, and many other little things that matter, will create an Excellent Experience that is truly rewarding! Mon-Wed you can relax and indulge in our complimentary evening Manager's Reception, and for Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner, dine-in or order room service from the wonderful Texas Steakhouse attached to our hotel. You can easily Experience the CHARM of our community, with shops, local flavors and beautiful parks just minutes away! We have a Convention Center and Ballroom in our hotel, so make sure you ask about having us cater your next business meeting, social or wedding reception! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Rocky Mount reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing