We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FUN PLACE TO EAT”
Review of Highway Diner

Highway Diner
Ranked #3 of 140 Restaurants in Rocky Mount
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“FUN PLACE TO EAT”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

The Highway Diner was a fun place to eat and very close to our hotel. Food was tasty, good home cooking, and portions were more than adequate. Loved the décor. Waitresses were a little slow and spent a lot of time talking with the locals. When they did get around to us they were very courteous and our food was brought to us in a timely manner. Most likely we'll eat here again on our return trip home.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mainlady69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    154
    72
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love this shinny diner”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Great location. I love the club sandwich and their cakes are awesome. Like you can sit outside and eat.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeeH49487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disapointing at best”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Was very disappointed at the quality of food. I was looking forward to something much better. I went for pork chop and vegetables. Frozen and from a can best describe it. Service was slow even for a Friday night.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marlene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Didn't like it :(”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Stopped for breakfast - service was very slow & everything was extremely greasy, even the egg was swimming in grease.

Helpful?
Thank judy1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Need attentive staff”
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

It always takes some time for someone to wait on you. I usually sit on the left. Waitresses are not the best. When it was time to pay the lady acted like it was all she could do to get up from table and get to register. I heard one of them ask, "why do we have to clean so good tonite?". One gentleman was sitting at bar and asked how long does it take to get waited on. Food is good but they need to replace wait staff. One suggestion, ask anyone who walks by to help you.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank v3093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Highway Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing