We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food Reasonably Priced”
Review of Highway Diner

Highway Diner
Ranked #3 of 140 Restaurants in Rocky Mount
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Takeout
Carolina Beach, NC
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Food Reasonably Priced”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We spent several days in Rocky Mount for a class and we wanted to try a local non-chain restaurant. We were not disappointed. The diner had a large varied menu of reasonably priced entrée plates, burgers and sandwiches. I had a fried chicken sandwich, and my friend had a large salad. Both were delicious. We had good service and our drinks were refilled without asking. I wish I had known about this place when I used to travel down I 95!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank onegadfly101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    159
    73
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not as advertised”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We chose to eat breakfast at the Highway Diner based on glowing Trip Advisor reviews. The diner is attractive, and very 50s retro. Positives end there. Service was polite and gracious, but the food was consistently prepared with the cheapest possible ingredients. Grits were watery and tasteless, biscuits and pancakes were doughy and served with a mysterious "spread" rather than butter. Sausage tasted like pepper, not sausage.
Overall very disappointing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 88lobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
740 reviews
312 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 657 helpful votes
“Stressed spelled backward is Desserts”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

The Highway Diner in Rocky Mount is located right off Highway 95. The diner is open for breakfast thru dinner, closing at 9:00pm. They provide the normal diner fare you would expect at these types of establishments. Depending on how busy it is, you either sit yourself or someone will show you to a table. There are also bar seats available.

Depending on which waitress you get will depend on how good your experience is. I sat at the bar and fortunately had a waitress who obviously took pride in her job, which was not the case with most of the others. She was quick, friendly and helpful. It was crowded so it understandably took awhile. Once the food came, the portion was just right.

The restaurant's decor was old-fashioned with several funny and interesting signs, license plates, and other items on the walls including a sign "Stressed spelled backward is Desserts." The main restaurant was nice and clean, unfortunately that couldn't be said for the men's bathroom. It was dirtier than it should have been.

Overall the Highway Diner is a good choice for a meal and would recommend it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wbullseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“slow service”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

service is slow and when you get your order, they seem to always forget something. food good, but service isn't so great!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank scowencrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
407 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“The pig cake is worth the wait on a sunday !”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We are talking whipped cream frosting , light moist cake and all flavored with coconut, pineapple and mandarin oranges. My husband doesn't like oranges but after a taste grabbed one of the three layers for himself. We also enjoyed the chicken fried steak and meatloaf with a flavorful broccoli casserole. They even make fresh lemonade or orangeade, sweetened with splenda or sugar , and free refills. We will be stopping here again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Highway Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing