We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”
Review of Highway Diner

Highway Diner
Ranked #3 of 140 Restaurants in Rocky Mount
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Tamarac, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

It's a diner and not a 5-star restaurant, so don't confuse it with tablecloths and candlelight, but for a local homespun "diner-style" restaurant, it is excellent. I call it diner-style, because there are ways it is like a diner and ways it isn't. From the outside, it has that stainless steel look of a diner. On the inside, it looks more like a 1950's period malt shop, with a lot of red and white in the tables, chairs, and decor. The menu is unlike a diner because the choices are somewhat limited, compared to most diners that have 8-page menus with 100 choices. On the other hand, it is like a diner because you can get breakfast anytime. The bottom line is the food is good, reasonably priced and the place looks clean. To add icing to the cake, the wait staff has a great, friendly attitude that really made us feel right at home. Go there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    154
    72
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
WHV
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“breakfast on weekends”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Good food, friendly staff special Erica and Chris! Sometimes a little noisy! service is always good and rather quick!
Opening hours could be to 10:00 PM! For late arriving tourists!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank DieterWhv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Genuine diner experience with hard-working staff and very good food and service. Crowded but efficient.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank wdemelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nothing special for a diner”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Passing through Rocky Mount 1/2 way to our destination, we had researched the restaurants in the area. Highway Diner had decent reviews so we gave it a try. The milkshakes were very good made with actual scooped ice cream. The chicken fingers were excellent as well. The burgers were recommended by our friendly server but, were disappointing. They were obviously frozen and were suspect for fillers. The texture was odd. The salad was not anything special either. Our server was not attentive although all the servers were quite friendly when asked for assistance. The cost was quite reasonable, as was the wait for our food. As far as diners go, this place is nothing special.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn Have, FL
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Banana Split Paradise (and they have good food too)”
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Our family with three elementary school aged kids visited the diner for dinner while on the road. It was an easy drop off I95.

The kids ordered breakfast, which was very reasonably priced and arrived quickly. We ordered the meatloaf and the country fried steak. The meatloaf was moist and tasty. The country fried steak was tender, perfectly seasoned, and obviously made from quality meat. Our sides-- green beans, fried okra, and fried green tomatoes, were also tasty.

Two things stand out from the visit-- the service was terrific-- she anticipated needs, was friendly to a travel weary family, and makes a beautiful and tasty banana split.

And that's the other thing that stood out. The banana split was a thing if beauty, and very good. The strawberry ice cream in particular was much better than the typical box ice cream. Our family descended on the dish like ravenous wolves.

Definitely recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PCFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Highway Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing