We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the trip”

The Prime Smokehouse Barbecue & Beyond
Ranked #1 of 138 Restaurants in Rocky Mount
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $23
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: While we have the only "slow-smoked barbecue" in the Rocky Mount area (featuring spareribs, pulled pork, chopped beef and sliced brisket), we also feature thick hand-cut steaks, juicy burgers, and a wide variety of "fresh" seafood. Our lasagna is homemade with fresh herbs. All of our gourmet sides (orange ginger yams, collard greens, coleslaw, potato salad are made from fresh vegetables, etc.) are made in-house from fresh vegetables -- no cans or frozen! Our macaroni & cheese has been ranked in the top 10 nationally by Travel & Leisure magazine. Our desserts are also homemade, unique and delicious. The jazz-themed restaurant, situated in the neighborhood where legendary jazz pianist Thelonious Monk was born, is the brainchild of Ed Wiley III, Yalem Kiros and Harold Worrell. Ed Wiley is the son of jazz saxophone great Ed Wiley Jr.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well worth the trip”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Was in Rocky Mount on business, and the Prime Smokehouse was recommended to us. Had an excellent dinner, good BBQ & beer in a welcoming atmosphere. Thank you, Bruce, both for the patient directions and the fine service. If I am back in town, I will visit again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    477
    97
    36
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Food is excellent and offers a good variety. The atmosphere is good and the decor very tasteful. The owner/chef checks on every table. We have been several times and have had a good experience each visit. The jazz nights are great fun - hard to believe you are in a small town and not a big city!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nc4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, nice service, a little disorganized”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Looks like we came on an extra busy night but still recommend the place as the best food we've found in the area. We are from a area with great food so that's saying something. Worth a visit and the best around, but given that there isn't much fine dining around, it's a low bar...

Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeast ct
Level Contributor
133 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great food and personality too.”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

I was in Rocky Mount briefly and stopped for lunch. It was late in the afternoon post lunch crowd and pre dinner. Walking in It feels like you're in Raleigh or Charlotte, tastefully decorated with an upscale feel. I had he BBQ plate with shredded beef, potato salad, baked beans and corn bread.
The beef was extremely tender and smoked perfectly. The flavor was a true enhancement, it did not overwhelm the beef's flavor. The cornbread was sweet and moist, perfect. The baked beans included kidney beans, onion and bacon. The best I ve had in a restaurant. The potato salad was delicious as well, made with egg and relish. Total bill tax and a diet coke $16

The bar menu offers a variety of Martinis and wines.

As good as the meal was I enjoyed speaking with the owners and staff more. The Prime Smokehouse may very well be the cornerstone in Rocky Mount's revitalization.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slugstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prime S, Owner at The Prime Smokehouse Barbecue & Beyond, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you so much. We came to Rocky Mount hoping that our new neighbors would welcome us and appreciate what we have to offer. We have been received with such hospitality and appreciation that we often get emotional talking about it. Our goal is to please everybody, and even on the occasions that we fall short, we're thankful that we were given a shot in the first place. Of course, we love cooking good, down-home food. But even more important, we love connecting with you on a personal level ... whether you're just passing through or a longtime fixture in Eastern North Carolina! Thank you, Slugstew, et. al., for your prayers, your support and your kindness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELIZABETHTOWN
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food and hospitality!”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My wife and I stopped here for a late lunch in late-January 2014 as we made our way down I-95 to Florida. It's a little over 5 miles from the interstate but well worth the slight detour.

They say North carolina is the friendliest state in the US, and this is certainly the case with the staff and management at the Prime Smokehouse. The waiter was friendly and attentive. The owner came to chat with us as well, and it was pleasant to engage with management beyond the standard "how was everything?"

I opted for the Carolina Chopped Pork BBQ sandwich that comes with slaw and fries. In a word - Excellent! To wash it down I ad a Yuengling draft. I was surprised to hear a place down south had it on draft but in talking with the owner found he was originally from the Philly area, so that explains it. Portions were robust - we had no room for dessert.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank schrivey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Prime Smokehouse Barbecue & Beyond also viewed

 

Been to The Prime Smokehouse Barbecue & Beyond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing