We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great night's sleep.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Rocky Mount
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Rocky Mount
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I have stayed at several Candlewood Suites in almost every state from FL to NJ. I have always found them to be clean, safe, and an excellent value. The Rocky Mount Candlewood Suites exceeded my expectations. I was given a 1 bedroom King Suite on the ground floor. Even though I was near an exit door and the parking lot, I never heard a sound all night. The A/C unit, which at other CS hotels is sometimes quite loud, was in the living room so the bedroom stayed cool and quiet. The kitchen and bathroom were both large and well-equipped. The pool and surrounding area were spotless. Gregg was on desk duty when I arrived late at night and he was cheerful and helpful, providing me with a list of restaurants and highlighting those that would deliver to my room! I love what Candlewood Suites has to offer and Rocky Mount, NC tops my list.

Room Tip: Spring for a 1 bedroom. It's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadtripper6695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwood688, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Rocky Mount, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Hello roadtripper6695,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We are so thrilled to know that Candlewood Suites Rocky Mount made the top of your list!! Our Staff wants to exceed in every way possible to make you feel at home and keep up to our guests expectations. We can't wait for your next stay with us.

Thank you,
Candlewood Suites Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 307 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I had to stop because were delayed by traffic in D.C. and Virginia for over 4 hours on our way to South Carolina.
The female clerk at check in was wonderful. She was pleasant and answered any questions I had.
The Candlewood accepts pets as we had our dog with us too.
The room was clean and comfortable. There was a small kitchen in unit. After an annoying 9 hour drive due to snarled traffic and needing to stop, the Candlewood was an excellent respite.
Kudos to the staff and housekeeping service who were also very nice and pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwood688, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Rocky Mount, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Hello Jennifer C,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. The Rocky Mount Candlewood Suites Staff are thrilled to know that we were your choice for your current stay. We are pleased to know that you found you stay with us more than suitable. We take pride in making sure that all our guest are fully informed about our hotel and surroundings.

Thank you,
Candlewood Suites Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Based on other reviews, I probably just got unlucky, but I was thoroughly disappointed in my stay in this hotel. I pulled off the highway during a heavy rainstorm and asked for a rate I had found online. The front desk person asked me to book it myself from a computer in the hotel lobby. That was bizarre, but okay. The front desk person then looked at me and my traveling companion oddly and asked if we were related, as we had requested just the one bed. We clearly knew the type of room we had requested; our sleeping arrangements were not really any of his business. I was not offered a room upgrade per my platinum status.

When we finally got to the room, it was hot, humid, and smelled strongly of men's cologne. I was disgusted to sleep in the room, as the smell was both gross and so strong that it felt like the person had just vacated the room moments before and the housekeeping had just tossed the sheets back on the bed. (I am sure that wasn't the case, but it was almost like there was another person in the room the smell was so strong.) The posted instructions to turn on the AC were not correct, and I had to spend 5-10 minutes on the phone with the front desk to figure it out.

They don't staff the front desk for check ins past 11pm. You get your room key from a weird box by the door if you've reserved and arrive after that time. If you don't have a reservation and show up after 11, I guess you're out of luck. This was very strange to me.

I regret not staying at the Holiday Inn across the road (which was closer to the Waffle House, the only restaurant nearby that was open past 10pm on a weekend). The price was about twenty dollars more, but I would have received many more points (which I didn't realize at the time of booking), and I would have paid at least a hundred not to have stayed here. The one good thing was the well stocked snack/beverage area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PalmettoDaytrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwood688, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Rocky Mount, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Illipse,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize for this issue that you had during your stay. We strive to make every guest stay as pleasant as possible. We are deeply sorry we fell below you expectations. Your comment is very troubling and we would love the opportunity to speak with you directly. Your feedback is very important to us as this assist us in continually improving the services and facilities we have to offer to our guests.

Please contact me directly at 252-467-2550 Ext. 7802 or mnicholas@generationcompanies.com

We hope that we have the opportunity to rectify and meet your standards in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the better hotels I've ever stayed in while traveling down the east coast. After driving in monsoon like conditions the staff were very quick to take us in for the night. The man at the front desk was extremely friendly and efficient and helped us with our dogs and rooms immediately. I had a slight problem with my room key due to the door's lock dying. An employee helped me and was a little anti social but that was the only down about the hotel. Overall great stop and recommended! Will come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kpdrummer82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwood688, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Rocky Mount, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Kpdrummer82,

Thank you for choosing Candlewood Suites for your recent stay. We are thrilled to here that you found your stay very satisfying. We take pride in being rapid and precise at Check-In. We also love making our guests feel welcome and at home. We are glad that we could assist you with your door problem as well. We can't wait for you future stay with us!!

Sincerely,
Candlewood Suites Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had to stop for the night and were pleasantly surprise. The clerk at check in was friendly and efficient. He gave us a list of all the restaurants within a few miles and even marked who delivered. Loved that touch. They have dvd players in each room and movies to borrow. As mentioned by others there is a complete mini kitchen - and a bag of pop corn in the microwave. Another nice touch.

Te beds were comfortable and really liked the towels - fluffy and seemed much nicer than the average hotel towel.

A nice surprise on our trip - and will make me look for Candlewood in future travels.

Stayed: July 2013
Thank MyraMorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwood688, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Rocky Mount, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Myra Morton,

Thank you for taking the time to send us some feedback about our hotel. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay. We are also happy to hear you liked all the amenities that our hotel has to offer. Here at he Candlewood Suites Rocky Mount, NC we take pride in making our guests feel at home. We can't wait for your with us!! We are also pleased to know that you will be on the scout for other Candlewood Suites.

Thank you,
Candlewood Suites Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

You would expect them to have high security since this is a suite, correct? Well.. we had an issue where our money was stolen.. wallet was infront of our door because it fell out of our bag. Within 5-10 minutes we went back out and all of the money was gone. Asked if we could see cameras so we could see who might have grabbed it.. well, there's only 3 cameras, 1 in the cupboard, 1 in the lobby and 1 behind the counter. We called corporate.. said they couldn't help. Sooo if anything like this were to ever happen again, here's a heads up of how they'll handle things.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank Rainey521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Rocky Mount, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Rainey521,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We enjoyed out stay here very much. The room was attractive and clean, the beds very comfortable. Our suite was a large room with two queen beds. It also had a small but well equipped kitchen with a full size refridgerator, dishwasher, microwave, 2 burner stove and sink. There were also dishes, cookware and cutlery and several small appliances. The room also have a desk/dining table with two chairs, a flat screen TV and a comfortable leather reading chair. This is a perfect travelers who plan to stay for several days. Staff was pleasant and the check in process was quick. There was a lot of work being done on the road where this hotel is located, so rather then navigate the mess again, we chose to eat at the diner on the edge of the property. It was a busy place and the staff was nice but I would suggest you stick to diner food such as burgers and fires - avoid their version of a Philly Cheese Steak - it was awful and nothing like a real cheesesteak.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwood688, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Rocky Mount, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you for choosing Candlewood Suites Rocky Mount, NC for your stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. All our rooms come equipped with the kitchen area. We strive to be the best for our guests. I'm sorry to hear that your dining over at the Highway Diner was to par. We hope that you choose us for your next stay.

Thank You,
Candlewood Suites Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rocky Mount hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Rocky Mount, NC
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Rocky Mount
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Rocky Mount I-95 at US 64
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn - Rocky Mount
Hampton Inn - Rocky Mount
#1 of 29 in Rocky Mount
892 reviews
5.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rocky Mount North Battleboro
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Rocky Mount
Comfort Inn Rocky Mount
#11 of 29 in Rocky Mount
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Rocky Mount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Rocky Mount

Address: 688 English Rd, Rocky Mount, NC 27804-9518
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Rocky Mount
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Rocky Mount
#3 Family Hotel in Rocky Mount
#6 Business Hotel in Rocky Mount
Price Range: $89 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Rocky Mount 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Rocky Mount Extended Stay Hotel Offers Choice Amenities Welcome to the Candlewood Suites in Rocky Mount, North Carolina. Our hotel is conveniently located just off Highway 64 and is just 2 miles from I-95. The Rocky Mount - Wilson Airport (RWI) is only nine miles away. Business travelers can make it to and from their meetings easily with the Gateway Convention Center located less than a mile from our Rocky Mount hotel. Businesses within 10 miles of the hotel include Nash General Hospital, Hospira, RBC Centura, Honeywell, Boddie-Noel and the Rose Hill Conference Center. Vacationers can enjoy indoor and outdoor attractions while staying at our hotel in Rocky Mount. Outdoor attractions include the 57-acre Battle Park and Rose Hill Plantation, featuring a sporting clays course where visitors can shoot skeet. Local indoor activities include the Golden East Crossing Mall and the Imperial Centre, featuring an Arts Center and the Children's Museum and Science Center. Historic downtown Rocky Mount is just six miles from the hotel. Visitors can feel comfortable with premium amenities throughout our all suite hotel in Rocky Mount, North Carolina. You can stay connected with our Business Center and free high-speed Internet access in each room. Other amenities include the Candlewood Cupboard, our convenience store, a Fitness Center, a free guest laundry room and a free movie library. Book today for our great Rocky Mount, NC hotel deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Rocky Mount reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Rocky Mount Hotel Rocky Mount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing