We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smithfield's Chicken 'N Bar-B-Q

Smithfield's Chicken 'N Bar-B-Q
Ranked #10 of 135 Restaurants in Rocky Mount
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Bristol, Tennessee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

I tried Carolina style BBQ for the first time at Smithfield's. I must say, it's not for me - BUT, everything else was wonderful. The customer service is off the charts. Everyone was friendly and made sure we had everything we needed - and this is a fast food joint. Very cool. I loved everything else I had during my visit, especially the slaw. Great place to stop, if you like that style of BBQ.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    26
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastern Tennessee
Level Contributor
147 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Best Fast Food in the World”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

WOW. Smithfield's Bar-B-Q is a fast food chicken and barbecue restaurant who's food is more like a family run sit down barbecue. Be sure and try their red sauce, it ain't barbecue sauce, it's more like hot sauce. The Brunswick Stew is very good... very tasty.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gawain33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
281 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Pathetic”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

It's sad that Rocky Mount, in the heart of eastern North Carolina barbecue country, can't do better than a soulless chain restaurant serving roast pork untouched by woodsmoke. I'm embarrassed that interstate travelers may eat this product and think that it is actually North Carolina barbecue. The chicken isn't bad.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Porcophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
229 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Great Food..Fast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I had the bbq plate with fries and stew. Hushpuppies come with the plate too. All was very good. The bbq was a little spicy which I loved. Order your food at the counter, they bring your food to your table. My husband had the fried chicken, he said it was very tasty. They have a drive-thru also. Service is friendly and fast.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunny0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wewahitchka, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“good bar-b-q”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

good grocery's for the money,, need potatoes on the menu,, banana pudding has no bananas & no vanilla wafers !! Wish Bob Melton's was still in business !!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank sawmillbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithfield's Chicken 'N Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Smithfield's Chicken 'N Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing