We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT PLACE TO STAY IN ROCKINGHAM”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Rockingham
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This motel is the BEST I've stayed in while in Richmond County, NC. The management is very friendly, helpful, and genuinely satisfies all one's needs. The rooms are very clean and comfortable with ammenties of being in one's own home. I have concluded that this is the ONLY place I want to stay while in Rockingham. I continue to recommend this motel to anyone traveling and looking for an excellent place to stay. In addition, the price is always very adequate. The entire management and owners (Jay & Jodi) are like family to me. The surroundings are very quiet and safe, equipped with camaras. The maid service is EXCELLENT!
Recently, I stayed there 4 days and 3 nights..GREAT EXPERIENCE.
Dr. Estella Ingram, Baltimore, MD

Room Tip: There are nice eating places in the vicinity. The motel provides a continental breakfast.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eingram517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvirock, Director of Sales at Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Thank you for all the compliments, Dr. Ingram. It is always a pleasure to have you and your family here at our hotel. Our guests have always been our strength. Their likes and dislikes have encouraged us to improve our services. Your suggestions and comments have been a value to us. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 79 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2012

Pleased be cautious when booking this motel. We booked a room for last Friday to spend the night prior to our beach vacation. We pulled in to find an empty pool, construction work going on, and generally run-down conditions. The office person made an attempt to be pleasant when we said we would not be staying but she became rude when we wanted our money refunded. Yes, they do charge you for the room the day before you arrive. Be warned! It does state on their website that you have to cancel by 1 pm the day before. Later, the manager (who was very nice and made sure we were refunded) told us the pool was "seasonal". Really? So when is their pool season. She also said the pool had been in renovation for two years. My husband took photos of the property. Yikes...rotten plywood around outside air conditioners. We never even wanted to look inside at the rooms. Beware, please. We ended up at a newer Holiday Inn Express down the road on 74 towards the outside of Rockingham. More pricey but well worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank ruralchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

On behalf of the staff and management we apologize for the inconvenience you had due to pool not being open. In hospitality, keeping in mind the guests satisfaction there is always an ongoing renovations. We, at Americas Best Value Inn, value our guests comments and learn from the likes and dislikes of our guests in every situation. Some people like the change, some don't. We learned this time that renovating the property, apologizing to the guest and giving 100% refund to the guest also is sometimes not enough for a guest's satisfaction. We wish you could have at least looked at the renovated room that was reserved for you and MAY BE your opinion about our hotel and our services would change. We would still like to welcome you next time and hopefully we will be able to accommodate you. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We especially liked the nicely carved, solid wooden doors, under brick archways. The rooms were very clean & odor free. The thick walls kept out any noise from outside traffic, so we had a good night's sleep. Very comfortable stay for 3 family members in 2 rooms. Front desk folks were polite & very friendly. Just what we needed. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: The rooms closer to the Lobby are further from the street & very quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

We are glad you enjoyed your stay here. We hope to see you soon. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

Stopped here late at night and was pleasantly surprised at the price, friendly night and morning person, and clean rooms. It was a good stay at a great price.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luffy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

We appreciate your stay. We are glad your stay was comfortable. We look forward to your visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I enjoyed my visit here. The rooms were nice and clean, even though the hotel is an older one. One side of the hotel has been renovated and the other side is almost ready.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Desiree Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvirock, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2012

Thank you for your kind words. On behalf of our staff, we appreciate your comments. We hope to be able to accommodate you again in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

I spent a night here on a recent road trip, after deciding that the older roadside motel down the street looked a little too sad. This is also an older place (maybe the '60s or '70s), but well maintained. The lady at the front desk was friendly, and the rate was good, around $56.

The motel was built in a kitschy hacienda style, which I found kind of fun. The hardwood doors are really retro, but very nice looking. I do agree with a previous reviewer that the room numbers (oddly located at the very top of the door), are kind of hard to see. Inside, everything is new, with the possible exception of the bathroom tile and fixtures. The bed was comfortable and clean, and the room was furnished with a fridge and microwave. There was a little desk where you could set up a computer to take advantage of the free wi-fi, which had a strong signal. My night was very quiet, and the room was nice and dark. The pool was of course closed for the season, but seemed to be a decent size.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank roadtripperMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvirock, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Thank you for taking time in reviewing us. We appreciate our guests' input. We hope to accommodate you in future. On behalf of the staff of Americas Best Value Inn, we wish you HAPPY HOLIDAYS.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

I visited this property on a brief stay in Rockingham. The exterior cleanliness is what initially attracted me to the Best Value. Stepping into the lobby, I was greeted by a very friendly desk clerk that pointed out some dining options along with the Free Breakfast in the mornings. The rooms were clean and comfy, and considering the price, I was quite happy I chose this bargain lodging option. Simply put, you can't beat this place for such an affordable price. I'll be back again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shannon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvirock, Director of Sales at Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2011

Thank you for reviewing us. On behalf of the management team we appreciate your comments and looking forward to accommodate you in future. Wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockingham
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Rockingham
0.4 mi away
Budgetel Inn and Suites
Budgetel Inn and Suites
#5 of 9 in Rockingham
11 reviews
20.6 mi away
Quality Inn Laurinburg
Quality Inn Laurinburg
#4 of 5 in Laurinburg
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 3 in Bennettsville
41 reviews
18.3 mi away
Quality Inn Cheraw
Quality Inn Cheraw
#1 of 4 in Cheraw
42 reviews
19.5 mi away
The Pine Inn
The Pine Inn
#1 of 1 in Pinebluff
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham

Address: 516 S Hancock St, South on US 1, Rockingham, NC 28379-4212 (Formerly Murray Hill Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Rockingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Rockingham
Price Range: $66 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn in beautiful Rockingham, North Carolina. We are only a couple hours away from Myrtle Beach, South Carolina. We are located about 7 miles away from the Rockingham Dragway. Enjoy hiking, fishing, and boating at nearby Hinson Lake. Golf at Loch Haven. Spend an afternoon at the National Railroad Museum and the Rankin Museum of American and Natural History. Our hotel is perfect for families traveling to beaches in South Carolina, construction crews, race fans, corporate guests, and family reunions. We welcome Revival groups and guests attending church events. Enjoy our free continental breakfast served daily from 6.30am - 9.30am. Tasty delights include muffins, honey buns, juice, milk, tea, and coffee. Local restaurants include Fatz Café and Bella Italy. 24-hour Wal-Mart is few miles away. Americas Best Value Inn Rockingham features 48 well appointed guest rooms on the ground floor with free wireless high speed Internet access, microwave, mini-fridge, coffeemaker, and hairdryer. We offer 32 inch flat screen cable TV with HBO, ESPN, Disney, C-SPAN, local channels, and free local calls. We offer a complimentary fax and copy services for our business travelers. Corporate lodging guests are accepted. At Americas Best Value Inn Rockingham, We*ve Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing