We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Retreat”
Review of Blue Boar Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robbinsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Boar Inn
Ranked #7 of 12 Robbinsville B&B and Inns
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Family Retreat”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Our extended family spent Thanksgiving (2013) at the Blue Boar Retreat. It accommodated 22 people comfortably (only one Aerobed was needed in one of the rooms). The rooms are very roomy each w/ it's own sitting area, bathroom, and outdoor access. The "common" area has lots of room and sitting areas. The dining area is very large and could easily accommodate a larger number of people than our party. The kitchen has all the amenities needed to cook a large Thanksgiving meal and suited us perfectly for all of our other family style meals. The layout of the kitchen is a little "tight", but nothing that was in any way unworkable. A large pantry area for dry goods and a large commercial refrigerator. The stove, oven, & grill are all commercial kitchen grade gas appliances. All the necessary pots, pans, etc. Plenty of dishware & utensils. Curiously, no serving spoons - at least not that we could find. The laundry area has two washers & three dryers. The only reason we needed these though was because our college age students brought their dirty laundry with them! Since the linens & towels were all available, we would not otherwise have needed the laundry facilities. There is a large TV in the Inn's entrance sitting area with DirecTV service and a DVD player. A good selection of DVDs was available as well. Lots of books too. There is Internet service available. We did have to do a little "engineering" of the router location to improve the Wi-Fi signal to the far end of the Inn (e.g., the common area & the far rooms). After we did this, there was no major issues with Wi-Fi although the connection from the Inn to the Internet did have some issues throughout the weekend. But, when it was working, it was a good enough connection to stream music & movies (we brought a couple of TVs & gaming consoles). Speaking of music, the common area has an amplifier, multi-CD player, & iPod player and is wired with speakers in the ceiling. Also a good selection of CDs. Outside there is a covered sitting area with a propane grill and also a nice fire pit. We were hoping to enjoy the canoes & kayaks down by the lake, but the weather proved a bit too chilly.

This location is definitely a place to "get away" and just relax. It snowed while we were there which made the for some awesome views on the Skyview Drive. I'm sure the fall foliage in the area would be pretty impressive too. Take the opportunity to go up to the Skyview at night (only a couple of miles from the Inn) to star gaze... deep into the Milky Way. We also took the opportunity to drive the Dragon while we were there. It being the "off season" probably made it easier to drive without being stuck behind a lot of traffic. Lots of great scenery to enjoy all over the area.

Plan on bringing everything you need with you, or at least trying to. The nearest grocery store is in Robbinsville which is about a 20 minute drive. Not a huge deal, just make a list and minimize the number of trips you have to make. And BYOB. Graham County is a dry county!

Definitely two thumbs up!

Thanks for everything Pam!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelI632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    4
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Many B&Bs do not allow children, but with the private entrances, accomodating staff, and different sitting areas our 2 year old did not disrupt other guests when he wanted to watch Elmo early in the morning. The fridge was essential for baby formula, a tub to bathe the kids, and the in-room alcove was perfect for the portacrib and good night stories. We sat on our private porch enjoying a glass of wine with the windows open till the little ones fell asleep. Then off to the nightly fire to commune with other guests or read a book in the living room in peace! Breakfast was above and beyond what I've had at other B&Bs and the dinners are a must. Compare Filet Mignon, Duck, Mountain trout, and the best stuffed chicken I've ever had with the local bready pizza or ketchupy BBQ joint in Robbinsville and you'll wish you'd never left the Blue Boar Inn! Wi-fi is included, but the front sitting area computer and Chris' knowledge of all the area hiking and history was priceless! Fish the pond, canoe the lake, hike the trails, or just relax knowing you've found a place better than home at the Blue Boar Inn.

Room Tip: All rooms are identical except king or 2 double beds and chaise versus 2 comfy reading chairs, but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nomadicnurse74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We just had a wonderful stay at the Blue Boar Inn. Our room was clean and comfortable. We were there for a 2 day weekend. The power went out about 5:00pm , after a long day at the lake on our boat. The inn had a generator and gas kitchen so we feasted on a gourmet meal despite the lack of electricity. Delicious food. Very nice campfire after dinner to enjoy nature and meet other guests.
Suggestions: Toasted marshmallows availability at the nightly campfire.
An evening snack option for guests such as cookies or ice cream choices.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Xplorer00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

My girlfriend and I needed a " Girls Getaway Weekend" and we picked the Blue Boar Inn in NC. It's a lovely B & B on Lake Santeetlah. The lake is beautiful and the water is so clean and clear. The B & B has kayaks for the guests to use and it was fabulous. The food at the Inn is delicious and the inn keepers, Pamela and Lisa, are delightful. (And Daisy Mae, the Bloodhound too) We loved our visit and will return. G.Miller Nashville, TN

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovelycotinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

My husband and I have just come home after a very enjoyable and relaxing three days at the Blue Boar Inn. This Inn is so beautifully decorated and our room was very comfortable and large. Our room was very private with our own door to go outside so that we didn't disturb any of the guests. Lisa is a wonderful chef. The food was unbelievable. The breakfasts were included but there is a charge for the dinners. The dinners were a little pricey but definitely well worth the money. The portions were very large and the quality of the food amazing. It is a family business with Pam, her daughter Lisa, and Lisa's husband Chris. They all could not do enough for us. We also loved Daisy May. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nurse2033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

My wife of 44 years and I slipped away from the hustle and bustle of Atlanta to enjoy two nights at the Blue Boar Inn in belated celebration of our June anniversary. We came back refreshed and with fond memories of this delightful retreat. The inn was originally a hunting lodge nestled in the Great Smokey Mountains but it has been expanded and brought up to modern day standards but still retains a warm, cozy, and inviting atmosphere. The outside of the inn and grounds are charming and inviting with sitting areas near a small pond and is overlooked by a covered deck which cries out for you to enjoy while reading your latest book. The decor in the open areas, hall, and rooms is bright and charming. The breakfast and dinner menues are delightful, varied, quite interesting. Picnic lunches are available for your daily treks. We enjoyed two breakfasts while there and the food and presentation were delightful...something for everybody. My wife experienced sweet potatoe pancakes for the first time and was not disappointed. The inn is located a few hundred yards from beautiful, pristene Lake Santeetlah. We made use of the canoes and kayaks furnished for the guests. I have traveled to many places in my 70 years and this is definitely one that I hope to return to. I have absolutely no reservation in recommending the Blue Boar Inn. May I add that the staff there is icing on the cake!

Room Tip: I suggest rooms on the left side of the lodge as you enter for the best view. Otherwise, they are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PopPop6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Our room was lovely, the food was excellent, and the innkeepers were so friendly. Well worth the trip. Very good value for the cost!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelCat008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robbinsville
4.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Robbinsville
7.1 mi away
Fontana Village Resort
Fontana Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Fontana Dam
501 reviews
9.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Andrews
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Best Western Of Murphy
4.2 mi away
The Owl's Perch
The Owl's Perch
#6 of 12 in Robbinsville
4 reviews
23.8 mi away
Dancing Bear Lodge
Dancing Bear Lodge
#1 of 10 in Townsend
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Boar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Boar Inn

Property: Blue Boar Inn
Address: 1283 Blue Boar Rd, Robbinsville, NC 28771-8166
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Robbinsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Robbinsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upscale mountain inn with 8 spacious rooms. Access to Lake Santeetlah and close to Cherohala Skyway. Perfect for couples, group retreats, reunions, small weddings. Fine cuisine, luxury accommodations in a secluded woodland setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Boar Hotel Robbinsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing