We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boston Whaler Man” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Waters Mountain Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robbinsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Waters Mountain Lodge
Ranked #4 of 12 Robbinsville B&B and Inns
CHARLOTTE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Boston Whaler Man”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Mike and Maury are the Lodge's cordial and talented inn keepers. MIke is a gourmet chef, who delights in preparing superb breakfasts and dinners for guests. Maury is the Lodge's decorator par excellence. Each of the 9 guest rooms is distinctively decorated, and the Lodge's two story great room is every suburbanite's image of a proper mountain lodge- sweeping grand staircase, comfortable leather sofas, pool table, extensive library for casual reading and jumbo stone fire place and hearth. Out front is a long covered porch with rocking chairs and ceiling fans. Perhaps the best part of the experience is the striking site with a long view of Lake Santeetlah and its surrounding mountains . Floating docks on the property are suitable for any boat that a guest might trailer into the area. A launch ramp is only a mile or so away. The Lodge provides kayaks for guest use and pontoon boats are available for rental. All the facilities are in top shape. I was so pleased with our late June 2012 stay that I plan to return often.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bostonwhalerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWatersMtnL, Owner at Blue Waters Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation and your kind words. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time here and were able to take advantage of the beauty of Lake Santeetlah. Look forward to seeing both of you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    8
    0
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
41
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
275 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

This is a awesome place to stay for great motorcycle riding or just relaxing. Only 12 rooms or so, but that meas never a hug crowd around. Maura's food is fantastic for breakfast and dinner. Adult beverages available and welcomed for sitting at the lake relaxing after a big day on the road. Nice to stay several days and take advantage of Cherohala Skyway riding and of course Deals Gap

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmwbillk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWatersMtnL, Owner at Blue Waters Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review, we do appreciate it. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed yourselves on your stay and look forward to a return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

Enjoyed a quick overnight stay. The location of the lodge, facing Lake Santeetlah which is framed by gorgeous mounains, is breathtaking. This is one of the most beautiful places ever. The lodge is nice. Our favorite part, though, is the patio and firepit overlooking the lake near the dock. It's easy to imagine having special moments of laughter and fun here. We're looking forward to returning for a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWatersMtnL, Owner at Blue Waters Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experiences about your recent visit to the lodge. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

This lodge is located in a breathtakingly beautiful spot, is extremely well maintained and the owners bend over backwards to accomodate any request or provide information and directions to fulfill your interests. Despite being close to a road, it quiets down nicely at night. We not only enjoyed interacting with the owners but the other lodge visitors who represented an interesting cross section of people---couples visiting to ride the roads on motorcycles, individuals visiting for business purposes, couples on their way to their home in the south and couples like us on vacation, visiting the NC mountains.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on the second floor are larger and have lovely view of the lake and mountains beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gretchen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWatersMtnL, Owner at Blue Waters Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. It was a sincere pleasure to look after you and thank you for your very kind words. Looking forward to welcoming you back one day soon. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

Beautifully constructed & highly maintained Lodge with 9 rooms in 1 main building. Our Atlanta Car Club group reserved the entire lodge for the weekend & were all extremely impressed with the rooms, food, service & location right across the road from Lake Santeetlah. Wonderful, serene view of lake from the porch & front rooms plus nifty, cocktail-barbecue patio & firepit area at woodsy boat dock. Every meal was first-rate, from an astonishing breakfast service that's included to Friday's $15 BBQ on the dock to gourmet level dinner from $20-$30. Coffee, soda, fruit & goodies available free to serve yourself in-between. Large main central room has giant fireplace, books, pool table, games, widescreen digital TV, stereo, etc with ambience galore. Website photos & description are spot-on. This is also a perfect base location for driving-touring the area as it's at the East end of the Cherohala Skyway & the Southern end of the famous Tail Of The Dragon-US129. And the tree-huggers will love the hiking & cycling in the area as well. The proprietors, Mike & Maury, are very accommodating, professional & genuinely committed to making your stay memorable. Extra bonus: NO pets & NO children unless a group arranges for the entire Lodge. This is definitely a benchmark for how small Mountain Inns should look & run.

Room Tip: It's a peaceful mountain lodge...13" TVs (although DirecTV service), no phones, microfridge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfarick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWatersMtnL, Owner at Blue Waters Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to write your great review. We are delighted that you had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay with your group. It was a pleasure to taking care of you and look forward to seeing the group back soon. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

I hate to write a review of a place I have not actually stayed at, so I will limit my comments strictly to our experience in making reservations. My wife has some pretty restrictive dietary requirements, and over the years we have gotten more than used to handling meals on our own when needed. We travel out of the country at least twice a year and have been to Europe, South America and Africa.

We've NEVER had anyone cancel our reservation because the felt unable to meet our dietary needs.- But that's exactly what happened when we inquired if they could meet our list, or if we could bring our own food! Unfortunately, due to an email not going through, this didn't come up until 2 weeks prior to our vacation. Now they are calling around frantically trying to find other places for us to stay?!?

I explained to the that I was not concerned that we would be unable to eat the breakfast, that we liked their hotel and wanted to stay regardless- we didn't mind "being on our own" to take care of the food. I was told that "they did not feel that we would be getting our money's worth" and basically refused to let us stay with them.

I've never felt that I was discriminated before for any reason, but I can't think of any other word to describe this experience. I'm sure our situation is unique and these are good people, but that was NOT THE RIGHT WAY to handle it. They actually cancelled our reservation without even talking to us and trying to work it out. The only nice thing I can say is that they are at least trying to find us other accommodations.

Incredibly upset!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChristopherH14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWatersMtnL, Owner at Blue Waters Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Since inception, Blue Waters Mountain Lodge has gladly catered to guests with specific food restrictions and allergies. Our daily menus are planned around our individual guests’ needs whether it be low carbohydrate, low sodium, gluten free, lactose intolerant as well as our diabetic and vegetarian patrons. We are passionate advocates for freshness, seasonality and regionalism to provide well balanced, healthy and delicious selections for our guests. We would strongly recommend that travelers with very specific dietary requirements such as quinoa and spelt mention these restrictions at the time of reservation, especially when visiting rural areas, to avoid any confusion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

WOW is all I can say...!!!!!! What an AMAZING 4th of July!!!! Blue Waters you have out done yourself!!! Food WONDERFUL Service..OVER THE TOP....again Thanks for giving the folks of this area and you guest a GREAT 4th....What an Amazing Staff that really takes care to make sure that all the guest are having a wonderfuly time and have all they need.....THIS PLACE is over the top...so clean and right on the lake with AMAZIING views...The owners are so nice and caring and the staff...# 1!!! FOOD FOOD FOOD AND MORE FOOD this place has the best food !!! The Chef is A+ ...You will not go wrong with this resort!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RonJon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWatersMtnL, Owner at Blue Waters Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Thank you so much for your positive feedback regarding your recent visit to Blue Waters Mountain Lodge. We value all feedback as it helps us to improve our guest experience. We are so pleased that you enjoyed yourself and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robbinsville
7.6 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
4.9 mi away
Fontana Village Resort
Fontana Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Fontana Dam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
11.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Andrews
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
16.3 mi away
Nantahala Village
Nantahala Village
#4 of 21 in Bryson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Owl's Perch
The Owl's Perch
#6 of 12 in Robbinsville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Waters Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Mountain Lodge

Property: Blue Waters Mountain Lodge
Address: 292 Pine Ridge Rd, Robbinsville, NC 28771-6851
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Robbinsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Robbinsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Blue Ridge Mountains of western North Carolina and nestled along the shoreline of picturesque 2,800 acre Santeetlah Lake in the lush Nantahala National Forest, Blue Waters Mountain Lodge puts you in the heart of one of the nation's most beautiful areas. Known for its natural splendor, activity filled outdoor lifestyle and deep serenity, this majestic setting offers a wealth of activities or the perfect backdrop to do nothing at all. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing