We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Waters Mountain Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn & Suites(Robbinsville)(Great Value!)
$85
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Fontana Village Resort(Fontana Dam)(Great Value!)
$133
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Quality Inn(Andrews)
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
$129
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveler rating
53
9
0
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
9
0
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsview of the lakequichelake santeetlahthe dragonnorth carolinafontana villagegreat hoststhe smoky mountainsbeautiful placemikedockamauryguestslodgetailfoggetaway
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 68 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2007

What a perfect Christmas. Just finished going over our photos from our holiday in the mountains, I felt that I should mention how much we enjoyed the trip as a whole, but especially how impressed we were with this lodge. Everything was perfect; from the owners, Mike and Maury to the staff, including Ella Mae and Cayce, who ensured our room was spotless and breakfast was to die for! They were just putting the finishing touches on what looks to be one of the most impressive small lodges we've seen in a long time, and I have to say we're looking forward to another visit. Highly reccomended to those looking for a quite place to unwind and enjoy the mountains and Santeetlah Lake without all the crowds.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank MSloan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWatersMtnL, Owner at Blue Waters Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2009

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete your comments on TripAdvisor. What a treat to hear that your special occasion went perfectly and that you enjoyed every part of your stay with us. Hope to see you back with us very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2006

We found the Lodge advertised in Southern Living three years ago, so we tried it. We just returned from our third visit. We go the middle of October, so the leaves are colorful. The view, with all the color on the mountains and reflected in the lake, is breathtaking!

The lodge is wonderful. Very clean, lots of extras, rustic but classy appointments. Maury is a great chef, the staff is attentive and cheerful, and Mike is a fountain of knowledge of the area, telling us things to do, places to go. The Cherohala Skyway beats the Blue Ridge Parkway in the fall, as there is less traffic and better views.

We will return every year. Sitting on that front porch looking at the sunset on the lake is indescribable!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mountainlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWatersMtnL, Owner at Blue Waters Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2009

Great review, thank you very much ! We are so delighted to read your comments on our quality of service and to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also pleased that you recommended our hotel's location and the surroundings. Can’t wait to see you this October!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2006

We stayed at the Blue Waters Lodge over Memorial Day weekend. Some of the Trip Advisor descriptions of the place are over the top and somewhat misleading. We stayed in Room 2, which was on the first floor right next to the kitchen preparation area. The layout of the lodge is quite poor, with the dining area much too close to the two first floor rooms. The room itself was disappointing: no dresser or bureau; the bathroom was very small with little space for placing toiletries. The ground floor rooms are noisy. I would not recommend them for these problems. The food overall was satisfactory, but definitely not special. The lodge was quiet at night, as it is situated outside Robbinsville. We looked at other places in the area for our return visit next year and there are several possibilities worth exploring. The Blue Waters Lodge is not on our list of return places.

Stayed: May 2006
10  Thank CaryDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2006

This has to be one of the best kept secrets in North Carolina. The mountain Lodge is beautiful with fabulous views of Lake Santeelah. The food alone is worth the drive to Robbinsville. Friendly hosts, not intrusive. Highly recommend for a romantic getaway. You can rent boats at the marina about a mile away, and dock at the Lodge. My husband was ready to move in permanently. A great retreat for total relaxation.

Stayed: June 2006
6  Thank GRITS-TO-GO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2006

We come annually to Robbinsville in May. We simply would not think of staying anywhere else. This year was our third time eating and second time staying overnight.

The breakfast is bountiful, fresh, hot and always good. The Lodge serves dinner Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights. We make a point to eat dinner at least once. The quality of food is excellent.

The Lodge is very comfortable with a pool table, library, TV in every room (Direct TV equipped), wireless high speed internet etc. But what you really come for is the fabulous view of the Lake from either your room or the front porch. And the peace and quiet. Last year, a dock was added where light lunch is also served Thurdsay - Saturday in season. They have a canoe guests can borrow. You can fish from the dock.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AzureMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews