We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast”
Review of The Hungry Bear Cafe' - CLOSED

The Hungry Bear Cafe'
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: 828-479-1200
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have eaten Breakfast at the Hungry Bear Café in Robbinsville on several occasions and always had good food and friendly service. The breakfasts there have a Spanish flair, including yummy Cuban bread. The good people at the Hungry Bear also serve traditional fare and their sausage and gravy is very good. Prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank richpeabody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    4
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The HUngry Bear”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

well prepared and reasonably priced fare, pleasant room and porch, nice staff.
Across a side street from the Microtel

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful breakfast and lunches”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

A very cozy setting inside or on the porch with a very friendly staff. The breakfasts are the usual fare but well prepared. The Latin dishes for lunch are expertly done and the special of the day is always a hit whenever I visit. Hope this place stays in business as there are not a lot of places to choose from in Robbinsville and The Hungry Bear Café is consistently good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BKK336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A gem off the beaten path”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had breakfast here after riding into Robbinsville from Tellico Plains. We stopped for breakfast at the Phillips Restaurant but they weren't open yet and recommended the Hungry Bear. It was not a disappointment with a friendly staff in a cozy old home atmosphere. Eat in or out on the porch. They have breakfast and lunch with a latin flare.

It's set a block off the main highway right behind the Microtel.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike_31216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good way to start the day....”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

First of all, this awesome, cozy little place is closed on Mondays :(. With that said, this is a great start to every other day of the week. The atmosphere is quite nice, you may eat inside or out on the front porch. The menu is varied with Latin themed "titles" to old American favorites. Each day we tried something different and were not disappointed with any of our choices. I was quite impressed with the 99.5 sanitation rating.....means it's clean and that they are doing things the right way! Just what you want to hear, right!! We feel very fortunate to have found this little gem, there are other breakfast choices in Robbinsville, and we've tried a few of them, but The Hungry Bear Cafe beats all others hands down.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OnTheRoadAgain1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hungry Bear Cafe' also viewed

Robbinsville, North Carolina Mountains
Robbinsville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Robbinsville, North Carolina Mountains
Robbinsville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Robbinsville, North Carolina Mountains
Robbinsville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing