We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Tapoco Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Robbinsville
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing Tapoco Lodge”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Tapoco Lodge excels in customer service. It is one of the only places that I can recall that they knew you name the day your arrived and remembered it for your whole stay...and acknowledged you when they saw you by name. Breakfast and lunch in the Grill creek side was relaxing. You have to try the Green Eggs and Ham and the Banana Pancakes. Rooms are comfortable and spending the evening fireside cooking smores is enjoyable.

There is no WiFi except in the lobby and the only TV is in the lounge area...makes for a very quiet and relaxing setting...away from technology, which leads to true communication with others.

Make this a stop on your next trip to the mountains. You will not regret it.

Room Tip: Try the Laurel in the lodge. It is on the second floor (no elevator only stairs but the employees w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmm205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    45
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
75
371
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Tennessee, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Just visited the Tapoco Lodge for a second time. We were there a couple of years ago and loved it.We liked it even better this time. It is the most relaxing place.No phones or TVs in the room.For those who can't live without their phone, they do have cell service and WI-Fi.There is also a TV in casual grill downstairs.The staff are incredible. They are so friendly and helpful that you feel like they are part of your family.The place is very well kept. It is beautiful to walk around or do my favorite thing and just sit in the chairs by the river and listen to the water as it cascades over the rocks.They also have an old movie theater which plays the old classics continually. African Queen was playing when we checked out the theater.An old fashion corn popper had fresh popcorn available. Water, Coffee,tea and snacks are available all day.Jaspers restaurant is great but I will review tht separately.We stayed in the lodge but cabins are also available.

Room Tip: If you stay in the lodge and don't want to climb stairs, ask for the one room located on main le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Another great year at the best lodge experience in NC. The staff and service are top notch and the food is always fantastic. This is a crew that really does this because they love and enjoy it. Ronnie, the owner adds a personal touch that most other places can't come close to duplicating.

This is a premier location for anyone interested in relaxing but an unbelievable location for those interested in road cycling. Rides from the lodge are spectacular with cold beer and fantastic food awaiting your return everyday.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GEW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie H, Owner at Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thanks again for choosing Tapoco for your annual riding in the beautiful WNC and East TN roads. You all are an awesome group that we always look forward to having spend the weekend with us. Thanks for taking the time to review your stay this year, and we will see you again next summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Since the 1st year, our bicycle riding group of 8-10 guys from Nashville has appreciated the place, the hospitality ....& the food....& the drinks at Tapoco Lodge for 4 days each year. We are looking forward to year 4!. For you bike riders out there, this is the epicenter of great rides.

Room Tip: Cabins are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie H, Owner at Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the lodge. We are very happy that you have chosen Tapoco for three straight years for your group to enjoy riding our great roads. It is always a pleasure to have your group and we hope to see all of you next year, if not before. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, GA
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We just returned from a couple of nights at Tapoco Lodge. The setting is absolutely beautiful. The lodge is right next to the river and is beautifully maintained. It truly is taking a step back in time, away the hustle. There are no words for the genuine hospitality and service we were shown. Everyone knew our names, treated us like family and made us feel at home. The food was out of this world! Grilled cheese tomato soup, locally sourced meats and veggies, homemade ice cream sandwiches, banana pancakes, s'mores around the fire pit...everything was so good!
Activities at and around the lodge include hiking and walking trails (much needed to walk off the food!), horseback riding, lake activities, a drive on the "tail of the dragon", relaxing by the river or the fire pit. I can't imagine that anyone would regret spending time here. It's as close to a perfect getaway as we have experienced. We can't wait to return and visit Ronnie and everyone else at the lodge.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bulldog91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie H, Owner at Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you so much taking time to review your experience at the lodge. We hope the getaway was just what you were looking for. Being "unplugged" is not always a bad thing. We certainly enjoyed having you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We've never had a better meal than at Jasper's. Each course was delicious and each staff member was extremely friendly. The character and beauty of this property is unparalleled. There's a river with waterfalls right beside the Inn. We can't wait to come back! If you have a special occasion, an anniversary, or just want a fabulous five course meal with unbeatable atmosphere, you need to go to Tapoco Lodge. They've also got a phenomenal old timey movie theatre made from an old bomb shelter that is a must-see... wooden floor, where they show old movies. Great experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vandyfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie H, Owner at Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you and your family for taking the time to drive that far for dinner! We hope all of you enjoyed it and we look forward to having you back to spend more time at the property. And be sure to pass our anniversary wishes along. See you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2014

You have got to visit this lodge! The place is beautiful! The staff does nothing but cater to your needs and the grounds are spotless. You will feel at home and may not want to leave. If you want to visit a plac where you can relax and be pampered...this is the place to visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie H, Owner at Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your time here. You are now an official "mountain hiker"! We look forward to your return in the future with family or another group outing. Thank you so much for the good review. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robbinsville
6.6 mi away
Fontana Village Resort
Fontana Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Fontana Dam
491 reviews
11.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Robbinsville
19.2 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#2 of 10 in Townsend
499 reviews
17.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Andrews
90 reviews
22.5 mi away
Nantahala Village
Nantahala Village
#4 of 22 in Bryson City
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort

Property: Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Address: 14981 Tapoco Rd, Robbinsville, NC 28771-6885
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Robbinsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Robbinsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Tapoco Lodge is proud to offer a non-smoking atmosphere to guests seeking a lodge that’s anything but ordinary! We offer cabins or Lodge rooms with beautiful views of the rushing Cheoah River as well as suites with Jacuzzi garden tubs and full living rooms for your relaxation. The grounds have been meticulously restored to reflect the grandeur of the 1930's and our staff has been hand picked to give you the best of everything! From our gourmet five course dinners, our famous made to order breakfast to outstanding guest services Tapoco has become the highlight of the mountains. Each bundled package includes a five course dinner created by Executive Chef Alex Henry, a Culinary Institute of American graduate, as well as a full breakfast from our breakfast Chef Will Collins. We don't have a menu for breakfast; he will create whatever you like! After you've been delighted by your dinner we welcome you to relax by one of our stone fire pits or take a walk up to the beautiful Bear Creek Falls. Tapoco is also offering Adventure Day trips which can be booked up to 24 hours prior. These half and full day trips include Guided Lake Kayaking on one of three different lakes, Guided Hiking, Fly Fishing Expeditions and an afternoon Pontoon Boat and History Tour of Lake Santeetlah. The season begins with the addition of the Tapoco Tin Theater which was renovated over the winter and is now available for guest booking for weddings, seminars, team building sessions, and most anything you can imagine. The building is nothing short of incredible. Come join us for an experience you'll never forget at Historic Tapoco Lodge! For the safety, privacy and security of our guests, Tapoco Lodge has instituted a no walk-in policy and the property is dedicated for the exclusive use of our "Registered Guests." Advanced arrangements can be made for limited tours of the property on non-operating days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Tapoco Hotel Robbinsville
Tapoco Hotel Robbinsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing