We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A First-Rate Lodge with First-Class Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Robbinsville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2014

What a pleasant and unexpected surprise! We came to Robbinsville to drive the Dragon with our Mini with a group. Most folks stayed at Fontana, but we were extremely happy to be here. Still within 10/15 minutes to Deal Gap. This was a gorgeous location on the Cheoah River. We stayed in the Rhododendron Suite on the third floor with a huge sitting, couch, chairs and desk, 3 windows on 3 walls and plenty of view. One view of the River. The bedroom was large and separate, and the bathroom was huge with a jacuzzi tub, separate shower, and sink. Nice amenities. You will feel pampered and relaxed. There is plenty to do on grounds, with hikes, sitting on a swing and viewing the river, old-style movies, washing and detailing your ride, corn hole game. There is a beautiful lounge with Vince taking care of you. On top of all that your breakfast and dinner is included with 4 course gourmet meal. Following an amuse, you will receive soup, salad and main course. I had trout one evening, and filet mignon the second -- the chef is top-knotch and creative with arrangements and sides. If you have room for desert it is decadent as well. Everyone who works here is friendly and will bend over backwards to make you feel pampered. Coffee and tea is available in the lobby with homemade cookies in the afternoon. During the day, plenty of treats and fruit is available as well. The dinners are served in Jasper's restaurant upstairs and the breakfast is served downstairs with the view out back of the River. On nice days you can eat breakfast outside and enjoy the surroundings. The breakfast is generous with a serving line of food, or made to order eggs. The owner/host Ronnie makes a point to meet his guests and treat them like family. Enjoy!!

Room Tip: There are many choices of room types. Some are private villas up the hill which I did not see insid...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryla_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie H, Owner at Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you so much for taking time to write an awesome, and detailed review. We are so happy that you all had a great time while spending your time at MOTD and hope you will continue returning year after year. Your review as a Top Contributor is extra special. We look forward to your return again next year, and thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (687)
There are newer reviews for Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 687 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2014

We and 23 other Corvettes chose to stop here for lunch today before continuing on our way home via the Dragon. Lunch was incredible and we all left fully satiated! The pizzas were great and the welcome we received and attention that was paid during lunch was outstanding! I will definitely plan on coming back and spending more than just a few hours at the Tapoco Lodge.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mikebP7728OO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie H, Owner at Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

We certainly enjoyed the luncheon with your group and wish we had more time to get to know each and everyone of the group. We are glad you were happy with everything and hope you will return again. Nice cars, by the way!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

What an amazing place, everything was first class from the check in to the amazing staff. The restaurant, food and staff where fantastic. Thanks for taking a bunch of bikers and making us feel right at home. I can not wait to go back one of the early highlights of my summer.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie H, Owner at Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience at Tapoco Lodge. Your group was awesome to say the least. We are glad you enjoyed the stay with the group and hope each and everyone in the group enjoyed it. Hopefully we will see you all for an extended stay next time. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Attending a MINI Cooper annual rally on US-129 The Dragon, I luckily chose to stay here rather than at the meeting HQ. I knew the moment I arrived at the driveway gate this would be a special place and it was. The lodge building and cabins are rustic, the grounds are a sculptured pleasure with acres to roam and streams to relax by. Absolutely everyone on staff wants to visit with you and make sure your stay is excellent. Every evening the owner, Ronnie, is in the bar to greet guests and keep the conversations lively - this is not to miss whether you enjoy alcoholic spirits or not. The dinners and breakfasts, performed daily by Chef Alex and team, are exquisite and I recommend you eat there rather than at local eateries. I was sad to leave.

Room Tip: Choose a cabin for that in-the-woods effect, choose the lodge for proximity to restaurants, bar, gif...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie H, Owner at Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thanks for the great review! We are certainly glad you could enjoy our little mountain getaway, and that you could experience one of our little surprise visitors! We also hope that you will make this an annual trip during MOTD. Hope all is well and visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

My wife and I tour the country on our BMW GS and always look for unique inns and B&Bs. We have a handful of favorites that we always return to, but Historic Tapoco Lodge is our favorite, favorite. Every visit is better than the last. Ronnie and Terry Hedrick and the entire staff create a warm and welcoming atmosphere where all their quests become friends; some for a lifetime. What drew us to here in the beginning was the mountains, what brings us back is the Historic Tapoco Inn. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie H, Owner at Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

It goes without saying how much we all enjoy you and your family here at Tapoco. It means a lot when you keep returning and sending other guests our way, as that is how it works for us. I enjoyed "hiring" a member from your team this past weekend. What a great couple they are too. Thanks for the review and we look forward to your speedy return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Ron, what an incredible place!!! You set yourself and the lodge apart from anyplace within 500 miles. The lodge was dressed to a T, the food was outstanding and the service was impeccable. If we all would of known more about the accommodations we would of planned to stay a few more days. Thanks for putting up with 14 bikes and a few loud voices! See you soon!

Room Tip: Privacy and a porch - go with the cabins. If you want beauty and convenience - stay on the river si...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie H, Owner at Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Your group was awesome and we would love to have all of you back again. Now that you know, you can use the lodge as a hub on your next trip exploring the mountains of western NC. We hope all the group enjoyed the stay and tell each and all hello from everyone here at Tapoco and consider the lodge next time you need a getaway!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is my third time at Tapoco Lodge and without question it is my favorite Mountain Retreat. Ronnie has an excellent team of people who seem to know you the minute you arrive and make you feel welcome every minute you are there. The Lodge and it's furnishings are done in great taste and the upkeep is first rate. I will be back and hope my return happens sooner than later.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie H, Owner at Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

You have a great group! Thank you so much for allowing us to host the group for the third time, and thanks for the over-the-top review. We would love to have you return at any time, with the group, or if you just want to come for the weekend and unplug. And the as you know, the roads are awesome for spirited driving! Thanks again for taking time to review the lodge and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robbinsville
6.6 mi away
Fontana Village Resort
Fontana Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Fontana Dam
515 reviews
11.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Robbinsville
22.9 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Valley River Casino & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
17.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Andrews
92 reviews
20.0 mi away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#2 of 10 in Townsend
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort

Address: 14981 Tapoco Rd, Robbinsville, NC 28771-6885
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Robbinsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Robbinsville
Price Range: $129 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the banks of the world famous Cheoah River, the Historic Tapoco Lodge is home to 7 lodge rooms, 2 lodge suites, and 18 guest cabin rooms. With miles of private hiking trails, nightly campfires, and an onsite movie theater, you won't soon wish to leave. Our in-house Tapoco Tavern combines the very best of classic pizzeria and all American flavors with a riverside view and environment unmatched in all of Western Carolina. Order up a brick oven pizza for the family or indulge in the house favorite, "The Dam Drink" from our full-service bar. From steaks, burgers, salads, hummus, and local Carolina Mountain trout, there's something for everyone. Come explore Western Carolina and relax with us at the Historic Tapoco Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Tapoco Hotel Robbinsville
Tapoco Hotel Robbinsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing