We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality in the middle of Nowhere, North Carolina...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Robbinsville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013

If you want to get away from everything, this is your place. Much like at the Yellowstone Inn, you'll find no TV, no wi-fi in the rooms, no phone...no option but to chill out! Lots of quiet here, except for the sound of falling water in the nearby creek/river. Bring your camera...you'll need it for the scenery nearby in Joyce Kilmer Memorial Forest, the gorgeous Cherohala Parkway, and Lake Santeetlah. Bring a board game or two to play in the central lobby next to the antique auto. Bring your appetite, too...the five-course dinner each night comes with a huge entree, so be sure to ask for a smaller portion if you're watching your waistline (I did and still managed to gain two pounds in two days). Consider yourself blessed if they offer the chocolate creme brulee while you're there. Breakfast is also belt-breaking, so you don't really need lunch...but the kitchen staff can make a boxed lunch for you a la carte. Spend a few minutes in the cute gift shop, too. Owner Ronnie and all staff--who multi-task as desk clerks, meal servers, hosts--are exceedingly nice. Would love to come back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MountainSongBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie H, Owner at Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

You obviously like the outdoors and the unplugged getaway that we provide here at the lodge. We really appreciate you reviewing the lodge and its surroundings and hope that you will return in the near future to experience the things still left to offer, or not offer, such as being totally connected! There is too much here for people to miss if they stay connected. We are happy you understand this. Thanks again for your awesome review for TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (732)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

494 - 500 of 731 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

Tapoco Lodge is mesmerizingly PERFECT in every single way imaginable!! Your hosts are attentive and sweet as can be. The food? OMG!!! You will not believe how each and every course of your meal could be so marvelous. (Save LOTS of room for your entrée....it comes on a turkey platter sized plate!!!) Best steak my husband has ever eaten (and he has eaten at THE best steak houses in the world!) We stayed in the Evergreen Suite (it was the size of most people's apartments...no joke!) The grounds are wonderful and you are encouraged to stroll and enjoy every nook and cranny. They have fire pits stoked and ready to roast marshmallows...they have a theatre that shows neat old movies...the river is beautiful...I could go on and on and on....we WILL be going back when they reopen in the Spring....Randy and Lisa Heafner

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElisainTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie H, Owner at Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you so much for the kind review and yes we do encourage our guests to explore the property, which is very unique in itself. We are happy that you enjoyed the time here and we hope you will return to explore the remainder sometime in the near future. Thanks again for letting Tapoco be your destination weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

What an amazing treat! My wife and son (over 12 requirement) went up to the mountains to raft the Nantahala River and hike around Joyce Kilmer National Forest last weekend. Not much around Wesser NC and tired hotels in Bryson City. This was our first visit. The staff were very warm and friendly. The proprietor has put a lot of time and money bringing this property up to its former glory days. Dinner was a five course meal prepared by a chef out of NYC and trained at California Culinary Institute.

You can hike to a small waterfall on the property, have breakfast overlooking a beautiful river, after dinner drinks in the bar or by the fire pit. It was all good!! Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie H, Owner at Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thanks so much for your review of the lodge and its surroundings. We were happy that you could enjoy the time spent here with your family and we hope that you will return to continue to explore all that this area has to offer. While there is lots to explore here at the lodge, the area is rich with outdoor wonders. We hope that you enjoyed your stay and will return soon. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

On a motorcycle trip over the weekend, we had the opportunity to stay at Tapoco lodge. I cannot say enough about the lodge accomodations, dining and hospitality! From the delightful dinners, great cocktails, and relaxing breakfasts next to the creek everything was top notch. For dinner on the second night, I had possibly the best filet mignon I've ever had! The beds were perfect, we opted to stay in a cabin and had no trouble relaxing with the cool mountain air and sounds. I definitely recommend this hotel as part of your experience for whatever brings you to this part of North Carolina!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie H, Owner at Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

We are happy that you chose Tapoco Lodge for your visit to our area with family and friends. Thank you so much for your review, and we apologize for the inconvenience that your table experienced while dining at Jasper's. I will have to say that with our staff, that was a rarity. We hope you will consider returning to the lodge anytime your travels bring you to this area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

This place is absolutely beautiful. The staff are friendly. The cabins are clean and pretty private and dinner includes a five course gourmet meal. The scenery is spectacular. We were lucky enough to have a cabin overlooking the river and US 129 which allowed us to watch kayaks and motorcycles pass by on Tail of the Dragon. A definite must stay.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank April F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie H, Owner at Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you so much for the nice review of the lodge and cabins at Tapoco Lodge. The Hillcrest cabin that you stayed is the most requested cabin we have for the same reasons that you commented. But others have nice views and scenery also. Hope to see you again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I and two friends visited Tapoco Lodge for the third year in a row last week. Once again the owners and staff, whom we consider dear friends exceeded our expectations. We stayed in a cabin and loved the privacy as well as visiting with other guests in the lodge and chatting around the fire pits. Ronnie and Terri are such wonderful hosts and the staff is second to none. Care is taken to ensure every detail of your stay is perfect. Ronnie and Terri and the staff truly love the smokey mountains, the history and the people and are kind enough to tell you the stories so that you can also appreciate the area. There are many activities at the lodge including hiking to beautiful waterfalls, pool tables, watching old movies or playing tennis. The lodge is located in proximity to the Joyce Kilmer memorial forest, the tail of the dragon, the Fontana dam and many other attractions. To say we love our time at Tapoco would be an understatement. We are already looking forward to next year.

Room Tip: The lodge rooms allow you to walk to the dining area and lounge area without going out of doors. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pattisue77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie H, Owner at Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you so much for the review of Tapoco Lodge and we are certainly happy that you enjoyed your stay in the White Oak with friends. And what an opportunity to see a bear in the yard! Nice picture! We are looking forward to your return this year and hope that you all have as much and more fun than in the past. You all see it from all vantage points, motorcycles, hiking and just lounging at times. I use the walking stick regularly when I am hiking and I love it. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We needed a get-away and were so fortunate to have found our perfect place close by. The hosts were warm and welcoming...and we felt at home the minute we met them. The Lodge is beautiful as are the surrounding grounds. There are places that invite you to sit and relax while we watched the river moving quickly, and a trail that is available. The quality of care we received by the staff and owners met all of our needs and more. The food was the best we've had from the appetizer to the sinfully delicious, creamiest ever chocolate brulee! I would recommend staying in the Hemlock room...it overlooks the river and with the window open the sound of the river was enough to unwind the tightest clock!! They were showing Casablanca in the theatre but we were too busy relaxing to make it there!! When, not if, you make the trip you will want to go back again and again. I know we do!

Room Tip: The Hemlock is the room to pick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cydna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie H, Owner at Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Tapoco Lodge and thanks again for visiting us for the weekend. We are happy that you enjoyed the rooms and food. Maybe next time you can watch a movie, and if there is a particular one you would like to see, just let me know and we will be sure it is available for you on your return. Thanks again for the kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robbinsville
6.6 mi away
Fontana Village Resort
Fontana Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Fontana Dam
531 reviews
11.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in Robbinsville
665 reviews
19.2 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20 mi away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#2 of 10 in Townsend
537 reviews
17.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Andrews
97 reviews
22.9 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Valley River Casino & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort

Address: 14981 Tapoco Rd, Robbinsville, NC 28771-6885
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Robbinsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Robbinsville
Price Range: $129 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the banks of the world famous Cheoah River, the newly renovated Historic Tapoco Lodge is home to 7 lodge rooms, 2 lodge suites, and 18 guest cabin rooms. With miles of private hiking trails, nightly campfires, and an onsite movie theater, you won't soon wish to leave. Our in-house Tapoco Tavern combines the very best of a classic brick oven pizzeria and all American tavern dining with full-service bar, riverside dining and environment unmatched in all of Western Carolina. Order up a brick oven pizza for the family or indulge in the house favorite, "The Dam Drink" from our full-service bar. From steaks, burgers, salads, hummus, and local Carolina Mountain trout, there's something for everyone. Come explore Western Carolina and relax with us riverside at the Historic Tapoco Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Tapoco Hotel Robbinsville
Tapoco Hotel Robbinsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing