We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn & Suites(Robbinsville)(Great Value!)
$76
QualityInn
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fontana Village Resort(Fontana Dam)(Great Value!)
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Quality Inn(Andrews)(Great Value!)
$60
QualityInn
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
$129
Hampton.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Of Murphy(Murphy)(Great Value!)
$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Two Wheel Inn(Robbinsville)
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Phillips Motel(Robbinsville)
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (744)
Filter reviews
744 results
Traveler rating
656
59
12
12
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
656
59
12
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspizzacheoah riverthe dragonnew ownerswhite oakmovie theaterbear creek fallsriver grillrushing rivernuggetscabin roomthe entire staffnorth carolinaget awaytroutfell in lovebeautiful setting
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
510 - 515 of 744 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

This place is absolutely beautiful. The staff are friendly. The cabins are clean and pretty private and dinner includes a five course gourmet meal. The scenery is spectacular. We were lucky enough to have a cabin overlooking the river and US 129 which allowed us to watch kayaks and motorcycles pass by on Tail of the Dragon. A definite must stay.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank April F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie H, Owner at Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you so much for the nice review of the lodge and cabins at Tapoco Lodge. The Hillcrest cabin that you stayed is the most requested cabin we have for the same reasons that you commented. But others have nice views and scenery also. Hope to see you again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I and two friends visited Tapoco Lodge for the third year in a row last week. Once again the owners and staff, whom we consider dear friends exceeded our expectations. We stayed in a cabin and loved the privacy as well as visiting with other guests in the lodge and chatting around the fire pits. Ronnie and Terri are such wonderful hosts and the staff is second to none. Care is taken to ensure every detail of your stay is perfect. Ronnie and Terri and the staff truly love the smokey mountains, the history and the people and are kind enough to tell you the stories so that you can also appreciate the area. There are many activities at the lodge including hiking to beautiful waterfalls, pool tables, watching old movies or playing tennis. The lodge is located in proximity to the Joyce Kilmer memorial forest, the tail of the dragon, the Fontana dam and many other attractions. To say we love our time at Tapoco would be an understatement. We are already looking forward to next year.

Room Tip: The lodge rooms allow you to walk to the dining area and lounge area without going out of doors. There are steps leading to the cabins so that may be a consideration. We stay in the cabins and love them.. Golf carts are available to use to travel the grounds.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pattisue77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie H, Owner at Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you so much for the review of Tapoco Lodge and we are certainly happy that you enjoyed your stay in the White Oak with friends. And what an opportunity to see a bear in the yard! Nice picture! We are looking forward to your return this year and hope that you all have as much and more fun than in the past. You all see it from all vantage points, motorcycles, hiking and just lounging at times. I use the walking stick regularly when I am hiking and I love it. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We needed a get-away and were so fortunate to have found our perfect place close by. The hosts were warm and welcoming...and we felt at home the minute we met them. The Lodge is beautiful as are the surrounding grounds. There are places that invite you to sit and relax while we watched the river moving quickly, and a trail that is available. The quality of care we received by the staff and owners met all of our needs and more. The food was the best we've had from the appetizer to the sinfully delicious, creamiest ever chocolate brulee! I would recommend staying in the Hemlock room...it overlooks the river and with the window open the sound of the river was enough to unwind the tightest clock!! They were showing Casablanca in the theatre but we were too busy relaxing to make it there!! When, not if, you make the trip you will want to go back again and again. I know we do!

Room Tip: The Hemlock is the room to pick!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cydna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie H, Owner at Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Tapoco Lodge and thanks again for visiting us for the weekend. We are happy that you enjoyed the rooms and food. Maybe next time you can watch a movie, and if there is a particular one you would like to see, just let me know and we will be sure it is available for you on your return. Thanks again for the kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We arrived on Thursday after a 350 mile motorcycle ride from Charleston, SC. We were greeted by Becky and Reese in the front lobby. With Becky's warm smile and seeing Reese, the rescue dog, sleeping in the chair in the lobby, we knew we were in a "real people place." The owners, Terri and Ronnie, were out of town on Thursday, but they returned and we met them on Friday. These are the kind of people you don't easily forget. They are genuinely friendly and there is nothing "fake" about them. Their staff, including Becky, Tina, and their chefs are very accomodating and really work together as a team. You can tell they love people, their jobs, and their employers. We stayed in Cabin 1 and could not have found it more clean or comfortable. The food was excellent. We even enjoyed a movie Thursday night and another movie Friday night in the theatre. We will definitely recommend this amazing lodge to our friends, and we will certainly return as often as possible.
Charlie and Susan L

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie H, Owner at Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thanks for your kind reviews and we are sorry that we did not get to spend more time with you both, but I am glad we were able to see you before leaving. We have a wonderful staff that goes above and beyond to ensure that your stay is memorable. We are happy that you enjoyed the food and the lodging and we hope you will return again soon. Thanks again for providing such a wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Tapoco Lodge is paradise!! My husband and I had a delightful and relaxing stay. We are well traveled and I must say I have never seen such attention to detail! The owners and staff are some of the most happy and accommodating folks ever. Ronnie, Terry, Becky and Tina you are the best! Excellent food, beverages, linens, soaps and lotions, outdoor areas by the river and fire pits..even a movie house! The scenery and landscape magnificent and I so loved all the Suprise Lilies. Of course Reece and Kirby help to make the stay even more pleasurable. Looking forward to many more evenings at Tapoco Lodge..many thanks!

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms overlooking the river..loved the spaciousness plus the awesome view!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie H, Owner at Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

But you cannot have a cheeseburger! Unless you request it. Thank you so much for the review of Tapoco Lodge and we are happy to hear that Tapoco is your favorite mountain getaway. Reese and Kirby are still patrolling the grounds and keeping everyone safe and sound! Give us a call when you get ready to spend a weekend in our area again. We would love to have you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews