We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT CAR CLUB VENUE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Robbinsville
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT CAR CLUB VENUE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

I had a great experience. I rented a cabin, which was very clean and the view was fantastic from the front porch rocking chair. Our car club used this hotel as the host venue and I could not be more pleased. The staff and owners were more than friendly and no need went unfulfilled. The food was wonderful. The location is at the start of one of the best publicdriving roads in the US. I will be visiting the Tapoco Lodge again.

Room Tip: Cabin, Hillcrest cabin was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HAL5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    40
    5
    6
    2
See reviews for
71
346
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

I had the opportunity to spend a night at the beautiful Tapoco Lodge and had a wonderful experience. Ronnie and Terry have done an amazing job turning the lodge into a lovely retreat. They have thought of everything. Each room, whether its in the lodge or a cabin, has been carefully thought out and is comforting in its own way. My perfectly clean room was in the lodge and I loved being able to listen to the river as I went to sleep. Tapoco staff is attentive and caters to your every need. They know each guest by name and treat you like an old friend.

Dinner at Jasper’s is an experience in itself that is not to be missed. Chef Alex prepares an unforgettable 5-course meal that is second only to what he creates the next night. It is very clear that Alex takes pride in every meal he makes and doesn't serve anything short of perfection.

My only disappointment during this trip was when it was time to leave. I am looking forward to my next visit, which will most definitely be for more than one night!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ami3318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerfield, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Enchanting lodge,beautifully restored,in a gorgeous setting of rivers and mountains. The eclectic inside decor is a true museum. Our room was huge ,beautiful and quiet.but above all the graciousness ,warm welcoming" you are part of family" kind of atmosphere delivered on every occasion by the innkeepers and each and every member of the staff left us with one of the most enjoyable experiences we have had away from home.
To Ronnie and all the employees of the Lodge: rest assured ,we will be back!

Room Tip: Really enjoyed the cabin in the woods,White Oak 1. Big and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigitte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

What a wonderful find. From the moment we drove into Tapoco Lodge, our experience was excellent in every way. First of all, it's located in an idyllic setting right on the Cheoah River. The setting is breathtaking. When we checked in, we met Becky, who gave us a warm welcome. We felt like she had been waiting just for us. Then we met the owner, Ronnie, who gave us another warm welcome and we felt that same way...like we were special guests. The lodge has been renovated and no detail was spared. It is beautiful, but the extra attention from the staff was what really made the stay so wonderful. Ronnie was around the lodge and greeted us by name several times. Every single staff member acted like we were special guests, asking us what they could do to make our stay any better. There wasn't anything more they could do, they were already doing it! Karen was another staff member who consistently greeted us by name and made the stay extra special. And the food was absolutely incredible. Hard to believe there could be such excellent quality food in such an isolated area, but there is. Alex, the chef is not only extremely skilled, but he is also friendly and as gracious and warm as every other staff member there. When we left, we felt like we were saying goodbye to friends that we had made, and we observed the same experience from other guests who were checking out at the same time. Thank you for a wonderful weekend. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Cabins can be a little noisy. We could hear the people in the rooms attached to ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcrec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Our thanks to the Chef Alex.an amazing creative chef who serves meals that were the best we ever experienced at a B and B..he came out and shared his time with us on a busy Friday night. Becky was a gracious host as well as Ronnie...they were always available to assist us even on a rainy day...Karen was amazing in serving us meals at breakfast and dinner....I cannot wait to come back in the fall...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stanwinokur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Tapoco Lodge exceeded our expectations and we enjoyed hearing about the history of the lodge and surrounding area from Ronnie. We found it really amazing how all of the dams are interconnected to produce power - what a feat. We started our hiking adventure by enjoying the quick two mile course which is on the lodge property. We then took the opportunity to sneak a peak at the renovated Theater which Ronnie worked on over the winter and it is so cool. The meals were top notch and you will not walk away hungry. We really enjoyed the breakfasts because the chef anticipated what would appeal to us and he hit the mark each time. This is a great place to getaway from it all and yet stay within reach of excellent outdoor activities. We are already planning our return visit later this year.

Room Tip: The Sunflower room has a great view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Though I did not actually stay at the Lodge during my stay in North Carolina, I was able to take a tour of the beautiful facility and grounds which are nothing short of picturesque. The area is so peaceful and beyond beautiful that you feel you are indeed inside a picture. The colors of the landscaping are so vibrant you feel almost a part of the landscape yourself. The sound of the water running thru the property is something I could listen to forever.

I was able to dine at Jasper’s while there and let me tell you Chef Alex makes the most wonderfully mouthwatering meal that is just to die for. I did ask if I could take him home with me but he wouldn’t budge. The Hedrick’s’ have quite a gem there.

The hospitality and friendliness of the staff is nothing short of spectacular. They make you feel quite at home and make it very hard to leave. The next time I get the opportunity to visit North Carolina visiting the Tapoco Lodge will definitely be on my list of places to see.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaB1299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robbinsville
6.6 mi away
Fontana Village Resort
Fontana Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Fontana Dam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
19.1 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
20.0 mi away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#2 of 10 in Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Valley River Casino & Hotel
17.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Andrews
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
22.5 mi away
Nantahala Village
Nantahala Village
#4 of 21 in Bryson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort

Property: Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Address: 14981 Tapoco Rd, Robbinsville, NC 28771-6885
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Robbinsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Robbinsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Tapoco Lodge is proud to offer a non-smoking atmosphere to guests seeking a lodge that’s anything but ordinary! We offer cabins or Lodge rooms with beautiful views of the rushing Cheoah River as well as suites with Jacuzzi garden tubs and full living rooms for your relaxation. The grounds have been meticulously restored to reflect the grandeur of the 1930's and our staff has been hand picked to give you the best of everything! From our gourmet five course dinners, our famous made to order breakfast to outstanding guest services Tapoco has become the highlight of the mountains. Each bundled package includes a five course dinner created by Executive Chef Alex Henry, a Culinary Institute of American graduate, as well as a full breakfast from our breakfast Chef Will Collins. We don't have a menu for breakfast; he will create whatever you like! After you've been delighted by your dinner we welcome you to relax by one of our stone fire pits or take a walk up to the beautiful Bear Creek Falls. Tapoco is also offering Adventure Day trips which can be booked up to 24 hours prior. These half and full day trips include Guided Lake Kayaking on one of three different lakes, Guided Hiking, Fly Fishing Expeditions and an afternoon Pontoon Boat and History Tour of Lake Santeetlah. The season begins with the addition of the Tapoco Tin Theater which was renovated over the winter and is now available for guest booking for weddings, seminars, team building sessions, and most anything you can imagine. The building is nothing short of incredible. Come join us for an experience you'll never forget at Historic Tapoco Lodge! For the safety, privacy and security of our guests, Tapoco Lodge has instituted a no walk-in policy and the property is dedicated for the exclusive use of our "Registered Guests." Advanced arrangements can be made for limited tours of the property on non-operating days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotel.de, HRS, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Tapoco Hotel Robbinsville
Tapoco Hotel Robbinsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing